You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What needs to happen to reach $10 STEEM in 2018? (Discussion)

in #steem6 years ago

Community building initiatives are huge. Steemmonsters is a wonderful example of adding value to the blockchain. Not only is there a group of people with a common interest (community) that is exclusive to steem, but there is an incentive for others to join that community from outside of the walls of this platform.

These need not be games, but ways for communities to engage. There are many other examples that I can think of. P.A.L, Utopian (off the top pf my head)... All groups that encourage community involvement are the key to adding value to the blockchain. There are also special interest groups emerging. I am involved in some Hip Hop groups and I am sure there are all kinds of other interest and cultural groups on this platform.

Some ways of providing initiative for being a part of the community are always great. Steemmonsters has some big whales supporting its movement and that has made a huge difference. We can be playing games for large prizes because of the big money injected into the movement, but also the publicity it has gotten because of the high profile users who are involved with the project. I am not sure if there is a person or a place that I can approach to apply for funding for community initiatives? If there is such a place, it needs to be far more publicized (cause I can't turn around without seeing steemmonsters), and if there isn't... that could be a huge plus for creating these community groups. Once people have found their place and their people, the need to milk the rewards pool is not so pressing. Friends tend to do that to us, they put things in perspective and life is about many things, many more important that making money.

If we are to use this blockchain to mine currency for personal gain... this blockchain will not last long. Gaming the system is the largest problem that I see and it is not only found in vote bots. Whale voting patterns can be just as bad, or worse, as vote bots. WE, as people who believe in Steem and Steemit are caught up in a prisoners dilemma with this issue. Everyone is raping and pillaging trying to get all that they can before the walls come down, why shouldn't I? If everyone stopped raping and pillaging we could have a sustainable community that could be rewarding (in more ways than one) for years to come. If this place is getting bled dry, I want my piece of the pie too. That is a dangerous mindset for our platform. People that care for steemit end up gaming the system because the ponzi is going to fail at any time. People already assume this place is not sustainable so they milk it for all its worth. We need to stop this mentality and I think that can be done by strengthening communities (likely with delegated steem).

Seeing the length of this comment, I am going to write a post about this topic and link it to your article. I appreciate the effort that you put into this platform and have never questioned my vote for you as witness. Keep up the good work.

Sort:  

. Everyone is raping and pillaging trying to get all that they can before the walls come down, why shouldn't I? If everyone stopped raping and pillaging we could have a sustainable community that could be rewarding (in more ways than one) for years to come. If this place is getting bled dry, I want my piece of the pie too. That is a dangerous mindset for our platform.

Well said, what ever change there will be, it should discourage this behavior.

It is a tough one to break. I was shaken awake to see the error of my ways and I think others shown the clear choice that we are given would likely do the same. Make some money on the short term and kill a good thing... make some money sustainably for the rest of your life and pass on your steem account to your grandchildren.

If its up to human nature then the abuse will outweigh the good intention.

Unless there is a strong community to support a sustainable vision for steem. That is the most important thing to the success of steem in my opinion.

Here is a bit more thought out comment but pretty much says the same thing as I said above.

https://steemit.com/steem/@allcapsonezero/usd10-steem-in-2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82