You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Quick Rant to Start the Day Off

in #steem6 years ago

I think that this is an issue that should have been recognized, given how simple the exploit is. However, everyone misses things. That we were back up and running within less than 10 hours speaks pretty highly of both the core dev team and our top witnesses. I finally had to tap out around 7am while I was waiting on my replaying, but I'm back up and running now as well.

Another thing that irked me were the comments floating around about how "this wouldn't have been an issue if the chain relied on more than just 20 witnesses." This comes from a place of ignorance both on the volume of transactions that can be handled by 20 witnesses and the nature of the flaw that was fixed. Even if 100 witnesses were necessary for consensus, this would have done nothing in this case. The blockchain stopped to protect chain integrity.

Sort:  

Yes, I was hearing that it may have been a "fail-safe" that was triggered. However, you'd know more about that than me. :)

But yeah, man. I got a porblem with "reactive" behaviour instead of "pro-active. Pitchforks and burning effigies just aren't my style and when I see people quick to jump on the very same platform that has consistently served them well in the past, it riles me up no end. So fast to pass judgement or hurl insults at the devs, witnesses or whomever else qualifies as a valid target of abuse. No reasoning or logical thought behind it. Comments like "Typical of Steemit" or "I won't stand for this" or "Where's the dev team when you need them" are of no rational consequence.

Btw, hope all is good your side, man. All the best and appreciate you stopping by. :)

We're rocking and rolling. Thanks to the shake up, we're in the top 60 for active witnesses until more people wake up. XD

As a witness, I recognize that nonsense (like that other dude on about FUD = freedom or some BS elsewhere in the comments). "Why don't the witnesses do..." what, exactly? Speaking passionately from a position of ignorance or malice just makes you look like an ass.

Awesome to hear you're doing so well in the witness list! Would you please remind me of your witness name as I'm wanna double check I've got you covered. Thanks...

And yes, luckily idiots like that guy in the comments can simply become a nasty memory thanks to the good ol' "mute" button. Trolls are rife, even on Steemit, lol. It just goes to show the sub-human levels of intellect a few individuals have on the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84