A Quick Rant to Start the Day Off

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

1.png

So, this morning I discovered the Steem blockchain has been having some issues whilst I slept. However, after a good catch-up, I quickly came to the realisation that the team were well aware of the situation and in the midst of addressing the issue. Seems like a logical sequence of events, right? However, the same FUDsters came crawling out their prams and spouting nonsense. The amount of negativity doing the rounds (as usual) really got to me. I usually try to keep my personal opinions to myself and all, but this just needs to be said.

Where in the manual of humankind does it say Steemit Inc. owes us "anything"? We've seen fraudulent ICO's come and go, ripping off thousands of people all at once. We've seen exchanges suddenly shut down all of a sudden and mysteriously go bust. And here, we've got a dedicated team who are, in essence, looking out for everybody's best interests by developing, improving and maintaining this blockchain, only to be ridiculed and put-down in their concerted efforts at the slightly whim. I mean, come on now. That is just blatant bullshit and incompetent, ungrateful filth. As we all know, blockchain is made up of digital code, as well as being a brand new technology being introduced on a global scale. It is really that difficult to believe that problems may arise now and again?

Steem (and Steemit) are WIP. I'm sure the "Steem" blockchain we are so accustomed to in it's present form, will evolve into something very different in the future. A huge improvement, I have no doubt of. But for certain individuals who persistently have nothing better to do than spread "FUD" and "insults", are near enough criminals to this blockchain. Stinking up the overall positive vibe with lip-flapping smack. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for sensible, consecutive dialogue with a means to move forward with robust solutions. But no. For some, it has to be reduced to verbal abuse and contagion.

Is "Steemit" our right? Did we all designate the entire team as our "mommy" from which we all continuously suckle from? No, obviously. Even if those of us who put money into the system (of which I was one of them), it came from our "unforced" hand. See where I'm going with this? The Steem blockchain is a goddamn gift and a precious one that I'm most grateful for each and every day. Though, at the same time, I understand it's not my God given "right" and "privilege". Even in the white paper, it labels Steemit as experimental. Now, I can certainly classify it as a successful one so far, but "not" a finished one. How flipping hard is that for the average brain to digest.

I apologise if this comes across as a little harsh, but I'm just telling it like it is. And again, only directed to certain individuals, not everyone. Problems, political and technical, will always rear up from the horizon and surface without warning. Let's all deal with it like adults, shall we? Or look for the door with the "Exit" sign above. Shouldn't be too hard to find...


Sort:  

steemit has come to stay.
Individuals are entitled to their opinion and their opinion cant change steemit. steem will be worth more than $100 in the next 2 years

I'm with you, man. Great things are on it's way regarding Steem. All the signs are there.

Don't sell your steem power for anything less than $100

I think that this is an issue that should have been recognized, given how simple the exploit is. However, everyone misses things. That we were back up and running within less than 10 hours speaks pretty highly of both the core dev team and our top witnesses. I finally had to tap out around 7am while I was waiting on my replaying, but I'm back up and running now as well.

Another thing that irked me were the comments floating around about how "this wouldn't have been an issue if the chain relied on more than just 20 witnesses." This comes from a place of ignorance both on the volume of transactions that can be handled by 20 witnesses and the nature of the flaw that was fixed. Even if 100 witnesses were necessary for consensus, this would have done nothing in this case. The blockchain stopped to protect chain integrity.

Yes, I was hearing that it may have been a "fail-safe" that was triggered. However, you'd know more about that than me. :)

But yeah, man. I got a porblem with "reactive" behaviour instead of "pro-active. Pitchforks and burning effigies just aren't my style and when I see people quick to jump on the very same platform that has consistently served them well in the past, it riles me up no end. So fast to pass judgement or hurl insults at the devs, witnesses or whomever else qualifies as a valid target of abuse. No reasoning or logical thought behind it. Comments like "Typical of Steemit" or "I won't stand for this" or "Where's the dev team when you need them" are of no rational consequence.

Btw, hope all is good your side, man. All the best and appreciate you stopping by. :)

We're rocking and rolling. Thanks to the shake up, we're in the top 60 for active witnesses until more people wake up. XD

As a witness, I recognize that nonsense (like that other dude on about FUD = freedom or some BS elsewhere in the comments). "Why don't the witnesses do..." what, exactly? Speaking passionately from a position of ignorance or malice just makes you look like an ass.

Awesome to hear you're doing so well in the witness list! Would you please remind me of your witness name as I'm wanna double check I've got you covered. Thanks...

And yes, luckily idiots like that guy in the comments can simply become a nasty memory thanks to the good ol' "mute" button. Trolls are rife, even on Steemit, lol. It just goes to show the sub-human levels of intellect a few individuals have on the platform.

Yeah to me is a good post of signal to those that have a bad thoughts about the blockchain....... I said something like this before that steemit has come to stay with a collective efforts from all.......... Isn't harsh at all is just a straight explanatory post to those who need it and I guess is also an encouraging one to those who still needs it.

I know, man. I've witnessed some of this stupid talk before but just glossed over it in the past. However, this time round, it really pissed me off. The same useless banter about how bad Steemit is or how the team are not responsive enough, is childish crap. Either grow up or get out, is how I see it.

Bless you for seeing things clearly too... :)

Is of truth it has been like that from a while ago but we must show to them that steemit as a community is more than their thoughts...... 😂

I don't know what will happen Next. Butt according to me at the time in crypto Steem & SBD is most valuable coin.

It'll show it's true value in the upcoming months, I'm sure. :)

I am 💯% sure it will

@ezzy you were sleeping at that time but i was waking up .. and at time i was also so much worried. But when i show their official twitt. That make me feel normal.. hehehe

Being worried is fine. I understand that. But finding a small issue like that to go on a tirade about Steemit. Well, that's something else altogether...

@ezzy yes finding a issue is not a big thing. But i think they should have informed us early prior to time of fixing a issue

I've been here several times before. Take my advice. Sit it out and go do something else for a little while. Let them deal with it and when you get back, chances are it would have been resolved or an update given. They don't have to do "anything", really speaking. But we can trust they will do as they have done in the past. Simple as...

@ezzy yes we know they will make it resolve. But at time when we see it for a once our mind get distracted. But as you said nothing to be worry .. it's a good advice from your side also. I loves your advice

Hahahaha, I don't know why most people are always impatient like this, like you advice, if you think the service is too poor for your liking, it's better to look elsewhere where you will have to complain less... Lol

True, man. I just don't understand some people, man. Always moaning and complaining. It's like they live their lives "miserable"!

It's not like, that's how they live their lives, they have no self believe and that's why they find every other things so difficult to believe...

FUD is freedom and blogging is a business. If your business goes down you lose money.

FUD must exist to find problems to fix.

If you only want positivity, go back to facebook. They are on track to creating the fake utopia you seem to want...

Jog on, mate. You seem to have missed the point completely.

Missing your point doesnt at all indicate I am wrong. I'll move on or not as I please...and your reply shows you are not for freedom.😜

Although freedom does allow me to bust a digital cap in your ass. Muted as of now, mate. Can't say it was nice meeting you but oh well, such is life on Steemit... :)

Wow, what a thin skin you have...I bet your rep was earned with bots! Fake...bye bye...

When negative criticisms arise from ignorance and stupidity, that's not freedom. That's just ignorance and stupidity.

Yeah. I am. Ignorance and stupidity don't breed understanding. They breed ignorance and stupidity. Pretty straightforward, boss. The only valid criticism thus far has been "they should have caught this validation error much earlier."

Then you are just another fake anarchist.

I'm sorry, are you judging me, fake anarchist?

Road goes two ways, chief.

Who made you the sole arbiter of what constitutes a true anarchist? Road goes both ways, chief.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10