Let’s Get Talking People!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago

image

Crypto folk and Steemians in general, are a very fickle bunch. When things are clicking and overall sentiment is positive...folks are super enthusiastic!!! Yet when there is some FUD surrounding the market and especially this place as of late, people kinda just...fall off.

I must admit that the holiday season bogged me down. It consumed me and from late November to right after the New Year, I was here and involved a bit less than normal. I try to post every day. Sometime multiple posts in a day if time allows. There is always something to talk about for me...be it nerdy shit like toys or comics. Seeing a new movie. Discussing how my wife farts often. Or even about my dogs for the one gazillionth time.

They don’t all need to be lengthy and chock full of crazy information. There seems to be a misconception here sometimes. At least in my eyes. I’ve seen folks mention that a short post about someone’s day or along those lines are shitposts. I wholeheartedly disagree. I think those are just as important as the technical posts regarding the newest dApp or whatever gets to “trending” on here. That’s a whole other conversation though...

Either way, I think that those personal posts are important as it allows us to learn a bit more about what make you tick. Who you are. I love learning and reading about what you are all up to. Our lives vary so much so it’s fun to experience things through you all. We are all so different here yet we all share a common goal. To grow this place and expand our reach. To make friends and hopefully one day, be a little more free financially from the tools and opportunities that this place provides.

The one thing I’m noticing more than ever as of late is the engagement levels have been much lower. Not just for me but some of my friends here as well. I follow and interact with some users here who have fairly hefty followings. I’ve seen their comments sections dwindle down as of late as well. So at least I know it’s not just me and that you all are sick of my nonsense.

I’m guilty of it too the past month or so. Since I joined the Engagement League run by @abh12345, I was always near the top. I made an effort to answer each and every comment left for me and go and start discussion on others blogs as well. Lately I have slacked a bit on that which I hate. I absolutely hate when I go through the trouble of leaving a nice comment for someone just to have it go unnoticed and I did that a handful of times recently myself. I just was busy and lazy lately but I’m forcing myself out of the Steem funk I’ve been in and am making up for it now. I’m encouraging you guys to do the same.

Go out and find a blog or two a day to leave a thoughtful comment on. Write back when someone responds to you. Make that effort. It isn’t hard and it’s something that we should all be doing. Search the #introduceyourself tag to find a new user and show them a little love and support. Just be involved and engage!!!!!!!

image

I get that it’s not as sexy when Steem is at .25 cents. I understand that there is a ton of uncertainty and negativity surrounding this platform currently. Let’s not think about those things. Let’s just...talk. Joke around. Laugh. Enter some contests. Tell us more about what makes you...YOU!

Sign up for discord as well as join some groups and initiatives. I’ve been more involved in the @helpie community and have made some lovely friends from there. A bunch of us get together a couple of times a week and just talk. About life, specific posts, the State of Steem. Anything and everything. Just become more involved. We can’t expect this place to grow by itself, so let’s lead by example!!!

When the overall market eventually turns around, so will this place. Unfortunately every crypto is ultimately following Bitcoin’s lead and right now...we sit in the basements. One day I do believe that projects will become more independent, but for now we follow in the footsteps of BTC. When that day comes, I will be glad that I made the effort while things were a bit slower here. I think that’ll help me going forward immensely.

It’s only been around 9 1/2 months since I joined Steemit and I am for the most part, happy with my growth. Sure, sometimes I get frustrated when I look at what other posts are earning. Or the amount of “followers” someone has compared to me. But those are things that are beyond my control. I’m really trying hard not to compare myself to anyone else’s blog and situation. That’s definitely something that has hurt me here. Looking at what another persons blog brings in. I would put a ton of effort into a post and then look at a friend who has killer support earn more. Early on I would get a tad frustrated. Now, I’ve kinda stopped caring and am just focusing on my own situation.

So I’m going to continue to just blog and engage. I encourage you to do the same. Enjoy the friendships and grow with me here.

Thx for reading. Now go engage bitches!!!!

Blewitt

Sort:  

I've mellowed in recent months to accept that 'here's what I did today' posts are OK, as long as they're mixed in with more 'proper' content posts.... I quite enjoy people's life updates TBH, it keeps us connected after all!

Exactly. I think you can take a quick look at someone's account and see if they are forreal or not.

Hope I don't get Steve on my back for this image and a one-liner :P

But yeah, got to encourage people and go see them. If you've not been around a while (and even if you have), comments/replies are really low right now.

I've noticed lots of people I visit will support decent comments, so it's a good thing all round.......

Yup! Making yourself available and present is super important I feel. @steevc is a tyrant!!! watch out!

great meme!

Wow! Has Steem dropped to 25c? No wonder the payouts look so depressing.

I think not responding to comments is very rude it's basically the same as ignoring someone when they say hello to you. Basic manners, don't know why people don't get it.

Well it’s currently .32 cents!!! Lol

The payouts look rough but at the same time, you are really earning more. Several months back I’d pop up a post that would earn 2 bucks. But Steem was at let’s say 1.50. I’d earn basically 1 Steem on that post. That same scenario happens now and I’m earning 5-6 Steem. I believe in it long term so I’m ok with stockpiling it now. I power up everything as well so it helps me the love a bit as well.

As far as responding. I understand to an extent. Although it does bother me being ignored as well. There are a few folks that I enjoy their content that I’ve really tried with on multiple occasions, and I just get ignored. That’s a big turn off...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Even in the real world when you say hi to people not everyone is greeting back... It's getting more and more common nowadays that people just keep staring at their phone or in the far distance while passing... 😔 But I do agree with you it is a basic manner!

Yes, and that's so sad .....

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I had a dream last night that my husband and I went to your shop. I told him we needed to buy $100’worth of Funko before we left cause I didn’t just want to be a browser.

Lol

This has nothing to do with your post! 😂🤣

All I know is you are killing it with your posts. So much posting! Always interesting.

Oh...you didn't want to be one of "those people" ?!? lol

I am trying!!!! Thanks for noticing!

Amen as always on your post, Chris! I noticed the same thing was happening to me, the January jibbers stole my time and leave me with less lust to engage. What I have also noticed is that the people that I follow (a nice 300something) where not posting as much as before and I say not so much posts where I had the need to reply on for some reason.

Its just winter sucking us dry man i combi with low prizes... But we realize what is going on and we try to change it! (and play fucking steem monsters bammmm)

Thanks my dear! It happened to a bunch of us. I slowly see some getting back into a groove though.

Steemmonsters...one day ill pop on and destroy you. lol

Yeah man, you should get into the steemmmonsters, how didnt you even start with this as yet?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I wonder if people are also busy trying to do whatever their New Year goals inspires them to do.
Me, I see this place as a training ground for all sorts of goals, but for some it may be a distraction.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I think the holiday season....people are naturally distracted. I would just love to see more consistency overall.

Nice post. Thanks for the plug for helpie, I like the concept so I am following them now too! I think of Steemit as a daily news feed of what people are thinking (as opposed to news media) and a place to offer my 2 cents. Coin price is not too important to me. btw I wonder if DTube is going to improve. I had to fall back on Youtube to build a video life, but I always thought DTube was a luxury anyway... hoping it would be as popular as Steemit. Anywhooo, God bless and thanks for your post!

Hell yeah! Love @helpie!!!

I think it can improve but sadly lots wont happen until there is a bit of a pick up in crypto prices and sentiment as a whole. When money comes in I bet we will see more projects flourish.

Nice chattin with ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57