You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Code Is Law (Only When I Want, Otherwise It's Abuse)" - The Shaming Syndicate Of Steemit - Our Own Brand of SJWs & Social Repression

in #steem6 years ago

I'm not going into great detail about why I basically stopped putting great effort into the content I share here.

I'll only say that you have listed many of the reasons in your amazing article.

Great job here. You have basically covered most of the main reasons why a lot of valuable members have given up.

I hope that tons of people see this article for the wake up call that it is.

Sort:  

I would be eager to hear more if you would consider elaborating. (I'll also "pay for it" with votes ;))

Loading...

upvote me dear.. becasue my reputation is very low

You need to stop begging. Start putting out quality posts and people will upvote you. It won't be much at first, but maybe you can inch your way there. The way you are going about begging right now is just going to get you downvoted even more.

you also begging by doing spam comment. don't put comment blindly first read article.. is you read full article and what are you commenting here.. please comparison the text your comment and original article

i not begging even i give promotions to the people for transferring them SBD and Steem.. can you help me for building in my reputation. you can check my blog.. i giving promotions.

Further requests will be flagged, see my other reply to you above.

I respect you and very much like this article. But your flagging comment strikes me as counter to the point of this article... even if this guy's begging is annoying.

I think telling a user on your post to stop begging is different that his point. If he went to the comments section of other peoples posts and did it then I think that would be different.

You obviously haven't looked at his profile. He has picked fights with loads of members and he does go to lots of posts and post the same exact comment, begging for votes and follows to "repair" his reputation.

Then, if somebody flags him (like I did), he goes BALLISTIC and will follow you around and flag every single post or comment you make. His tactics also include making rude and insulting comments, name calling, and referring to anyone that has flagged him as "scammers."

Yes! I fully agree with this! We represent a media agency with hundreds of thousands of followers and we want to bring them into steem.... However we have been met with a lot of negative energy by using the mercenary steem bid bots that are part of steem culture.

Fortunately.... there seems to be more positive enegy here then negative. I think we have the power to shift the steem culture to one that is more supportive and loving.

can you upvote me.. becasue my reputation is very low due to my own mistake.. now i learnt

If you construct a quality post and link it to me via DM in Discord PAL/MSP, I'll give it a full upvote and fix your reputation problem.

Note that I may prove to be a harsh critic of what quality is.

I will give you 1% as an assumption of good faith here.

I would be so glad if that full up-vote of yours reaches to my house. I tried to create a unique article each time I publish a content since day one and all I've got is peanuts.

I hate seeing people copy-paste documents and what is even more heartbreaking is when you see that the copy-pasted materials perform better than your self-proclaimed masterpieces.

Wondering how the legitimate contributors be able to survive in this current scheme of things.

One of the reasons I stopped posting right there. I spend 2-3 hours on some of my articles and they don't even make $2, and then somebody with a reputation over 70 comes along and posts one image (probably not even theirs) and a few sentences of text and makes $200. Bullshit!

There is a reason for this, and you might not necessarily like it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lexiconical/steemit-like-life-is-a-popularity-contest-embrace-it-or-devote-your-efforts-to-other-pursuits-your-problem-is-not-the-reward

The solution is more persistence, more networking, and the willingness to, like all other artists, work for shit for awhile (at least.)

I think @contentking has a valid point. Of course to a certain degree it is normal and OK that popularity plays an important role in a social media platform, but in my opinion since HF 19 self-voting (or using multiply accounts which upvote each other) or kind of 'circle-voting' (A upvotes B and C, B upvotes A and C, C upvotes A and B) between big account holders has become much more beneficial. The reasons for that I described here (your opinion would be very appreciated).

In the same article made a plea for implementing 'diminishing returns' which I described like this:
"How about if after each vote on a specific account (including ones own account) each further vote on the same account would lead to significantly less curation reward for the voter and less profit for the upvoted account? Thus, when upvoting an account which I had already upvoted before, my voting power would be smaller than in case I upvote an account which I didn't upvote before."

it is completely normal that a system will be exploited if possible, so I don't mean to blame anybody for doing anything. However, I think a system which makes self-voting less attractive would be better than the current one because it animates every user to upvote many other users and not always the the same ones (respectively oneself) again and again.

I understand, but I already have a successful online business, and like any other business venture, when one starts a business one has to look at whether or not the risk/reward is worth it.

I'm also not exactly convinced that persistence is the answer here.

I worked for 3 years on my online business, 12 hours a day, 7 days a week before I saw any return. I am certainly no stranger to persistence and hard work.

Right now, the question is whether or not I'm willing to put in valuable time here when I know that I can put it in elsewhere and see a reward for my efforts.

I guess it's just a personal choice.

You asked me what I thought the issues were here on SteemIt, and I told you.

Now, there will always be people who expect an easy payday from the Internet and will give up immediately and blame the platform instead of their own lack of effort.

I've been a member here for over a year, and for the first 6 months things were great. Then I began to see a pattern of low quality posts being rewarded better than those that were of much better quality.

Im not giving up on SteemIt, but I am going to back away and observe for a while.

I don't mean to sound arrogant, but my time is valuable, and at the current time I simply cannot put effort into something and simply hope that it's going to be fulfilling, both intellectually and financially.

I guess I'll see what happens.

At any rate, I do appreciate your insight.

Yep. I also have an ongoing business, and I'm having a HARD time ramping up the motivation to try to write content on steemit. Only get paid for 7 days, have to fear getting downvoted/having account destroyed by someone with more clout if they don't like you (with no protections against that), etc.

you did not read the full article. don't put false comment here. you should do comment according to post.. best way is downvoted to you.. and be care ful again

Yes... Some people are popular or something and everybody and their pets upvote them.

I rarely see true abusive/copypasta being voted. Are you also referring to what contentking is saying below? If so...

Apologies for basically pasting this comment unironically, but...

There is a reason for this, and you might not necessarily like it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lexiconical/steemit-like-life-is-a-popularity-contest-embrace-it-or-devote-your-efforts-to-other-pursuits-your-problem-is-not-the-reward

The solution is more persistence, more networking, and the willingness to, like all other artists, work for shit for awhile (at least.)

Take that upvote and go write yourself a quality article.

Thank you so much for that! It really made a difference. It's been a tough blogging journey since I first joined last month.

But there is no better alternative for the moment so I guess the show much go on. I have already started this, let me complete.

I only wish steemit.com won't evaporate into oblivion any time soon, else our handwork and time wasted would be utterly meaningless.

Good job! Thanks to @lexiconical you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14273.94. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

You and me :)

Any photograghy post i can't make due to my low reputation. on which topic i will make q quality post

Here is the discord information:

http://minnowsupportproject.org/discord/

I'm willing to reveal your images (images are hidden, but not deleted, at low rep.)

thank you sir.. i checking this site

i am registered on above link.what i do now sir

Yeah..I like ur everypost

DM in Discord PAL/MSP.. what is this and how i link it .. please guide

You clearly haven't learnt, as vote begging is a good way to get your reputation heading southwards..

Good job! Thanks to @lexiconical you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14273.83. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

You said about simply superb contenking , nice one.

Thanks. I'm glad you got some value from the comment. I was only expressing my true feelings. I'm sure others feel the same, and maybe some disagree. It's all good, though. I respect everybody's opinion.

Ok cool , take it easy and make it easy.

Sir this I also I feel the same as you.

Yeah, I know what you mean. I pretty much agree with this article. I hate it when I run into these self appointed "paladins of justice" that will lecture me endlessly if I ever did something they consider a mistake.

you only want money.. you should do comment according to comments.. just don't reply blindly. best way to downvoted to you and be careful in future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81