When to start delegating?

in #steem5 years ago

id3ed4dd05.jpg

I look at Steem as another source of entertainment these days. I have kind of worked out what this place is about and it hasn't been easy. It takes time before you put your slippers under the bed and are comfortable.

I think you need to enjoy it firstly and not put pressure on yourself to grow. I am comfortable where I am and the pace I am growing. Everyone needs to find their comfort zones first before they can relax. Understanding what this place is about and not just jumping into things is important.

I was invited to so many different discords at one point if I had joined them all I wouldn't have had time for my own work. I felt bad, but you can't be everywhere. I thought that I should be selfish and put me first for now as the bigger you are the more you can help others in the future.

I have seen so many accounts delegate a huge chunk of what they have and then struggle to grow. There is nothing wrong with that way of working,but you are handicapping yourself. I can recall someone saying get to 3000 SP first before you decide to help others, but I think that has changed. I think a reasonable target should be 5000 SP first and then you help.

My reasoning is that at least at 5000 SP you are making better curation because your vote is that much bigger and you can then delegate as you grow without compromising your own account. How are you going to grow if you leave yourself with less than 1000 SP. If users were a little more selfish and put themselves first we would have way more Dolphins and there would be more delegation happening.

Image source blog.ezoic.com

Sort:  

I could be remembering wrong, but pretty I get paid more for my delegation to OCDB than I do if I was the perfect curator (on top of that the bought hasn't paid out curation rewards to delegators yet).

So yes, if I self-voted then I may be coming out ahead, but so far I think it's been a net positive for growing my account.

I will agree with you so far on my other delegations that it would have just been better to keep it myself and grow my account.

I like to experiment with delegations to support emerging dapps etc. It's a good opp to get involved in airdrops too. I get it though that it does hinder your own growth and curation.

Posted using Partiko Android

What you are doing makes sense as well though. Get in early and receive the benefits whilst still supporting them.

Is this post about me? :) I am just kidding. I have been delegating away quite a bit of my stake, but I have also been pretty steadily growing too. I think I am finally at the point where I am going to just hold my delegations where they are and focus on growing my account again.

I thing is always depends on what you want to accomplish in the first place. In my case I delegated over 1200 Steem Power!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree with what you are saying and it does depend on what you want to achieve. I will delegate as soon as I feel I have enough to offer help.

Everyone who ia really contributing is growing on this platform for sure and after the substantial growth we can help others to put on the mark.

I think that is the smart way of doing it. My thinking is it is better to help when you are fairly strong otherwise you can't help properly anyway. You just end up compromising your growth.

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7000 replies. Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

If you blog, comment or curate everyday you probably want as much Steem Power as possible, you can always upvote trade or sell excess SP at say +95%. If you don't have time, I think delegating makes sense well under 5000SP. I am trying to maintain around 50-50 to various causes and groups until I find a few I really like.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would never vote trade etc as the returns are not great and I use my vote to support the people I follow. If I don't have time I will use steem auto vote as not only are you supporting those that you follow, but the returns are much higher than you would get by delegating to a bot.

The level of sp is not important.
Even if you have just 50 sp, and you want to delegate 10sp to a friend struggling to have enough steem activity for a day, that is already a good boost.

Delegating sp to somebody is already a norm in the steem community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes but I am talking about delegating properly to someone and not daily delegating. You need to be large enough to help properly. I have seen accounts with 2000 SP delegating more than half and that would have an impact on your growth. If you have 5000 SP as your base then you would grow quickly and be able to delegate more. Just on curation monthly you could get close to 100 SP just by holding at that level and helping others. By being stronger you can achieve much more and that makes more sense to me.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71