You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Random Steem Issues and Thoughts

in #steem6 years ago

That's interesting. I've noticed the unfollow issue a few days ago, but I just thought maybe I accidentally unfollowed some people. In my case, its because the blockchain can be a little slow sometimes, and I end up double-clicking the follow button. So thanks for pointing this out.

Anyways, this made me double-check the list of people I'm following. It's a good thing too because I discovered new blogs add to my feed.

As for the SBD printing rate, I'm leaning towards just keeping things simple with only liquid steem. Personally, I think the SBD is redundant. Someone correct me, but I remember reading during my first week (I don't remember where) that the SBD was created to help those new to crypto not feel too much like a fish out of water by giving them a currency pegged to the dollar. The rationale is that it gives them something familiar to trade with, I think. This is all well and good, but now I feel that this just gives Steem an extra layer of complexity, that it could've done without.

I mean, the way I see it, we can use liquid steem to power up/down, trade for other cryptocurrency, trade with other users, buy goods and services like steemmonster cards. So where does SBD come in? It just serves the same purpose. The only difference is it can't be used to power up.

Sort:  

I think it was a cool idea that Dan had. It doesn't really work as planned, maybe they should just covert it to some sort of SMT that can be traded, but doesn't involve payouts.

That could work. After all, they can't just get rid of the SBDs cause people still have them, so finding a new use for them like that might be better and less confusing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71