You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walking Advertisement | Accounts We Should Be Supporting On STEEM

in #steem6 years ago

Influencer marketing is huge nowadays and only getting stronger and bigger. Soon blockchains will be looking for their own influencers to spread their message (it's actually already happening). It's a tremendous opportunity for early adopters. I'd like to name-drop @thelifeofjord into this post too. He has a pretty big Youtube following and promotes Steem too. DTube already likes him and his girlfriend, @oliviadejeu, but the more support they have here and outside Steem, the better.

The comment that said people expect an upvote for sneezing made me laugh. Some of the curated stuff out there kinda seems that way to me many times. While some people are very consistent in posting, much of it is crap content but it still gets big upvotes anyway. That's one of my biggest frustrations right now. I wish I knew the solution to these problems but I'm not that smart. Hopefully, the developers and witnesses can help resolve these issues in the future.

Sort:  

Wow, so glad I came across your post @llfarms as I'm really don't know what should I think about it. I mostly just see and read then think along. I also just had this conversation with Steem friend just a few days ago at the in person meetup here in BKK. He said, he lost faith in Steem a little bit and told me a story how he bought a youtube dude that has 2xxxxx subscribers on there here but he didn't get any attention so he left.

There's what I kinda told him..

(Don't hate me for saying this.. LOLOL I really don't know what's right what's wrong !
you tell me..)

The way I think about this stuff is not just they're huge from outside. If people come and really just wanna drop their stuff, fish for upvote, make some extra bucks and not communicate or not even feel the love of the platform.. I'm not really sure what's the point no more as I feel like the charm here's where we do connect with people.

I'm not talking about those you brought up.. I knew @Yidneth before and her work is just awesome. Others, I will have to check them out still.

Why I am commenting on Dave's comment?.. I do know @thelifeofjord from here on Steem / dtube. First time I saw his post I was like, damn, then hit follow just right away. Also went to check out his youtube site and also his website. Yeah, he's like a professional nomad. I left the comments for a few times and never gotten reply. After a few months or something, tbh, I did unfollow. He's not communicating. Some of the video still have the subscribe template where it's suppose to be on youtube vid.. didn't be bothered to at least trim a bit off. (I just gave you some example why do I think this way).

Not that I don't cross post. I do! I try to expand my personal brand but Steem is home. I do communicate and at least, I'm sincere with the blockchain.

If you don't know so, @markwiens a youtubers with 2.7m subscribers was also here but left after a few posts.

Again, I don't know what's right and what's wrong and what's better for the Steem Blockchain. As you seem like you know much more and yes, you also seem so smart, I would love to learn more about this topic FOR SURE.

Thanks in adv! :) <3

ADD : Ooopsy! forgot this! I just watched the vid from my fellow dtuber, @kevinli .. one sentence was 'what would you do if you have to start it all over again' >> https://busy.org/@kevinli/9wqhwkib

I totally agree!! I find those users who just dump their content here without engaging or contributing are not really worth my time. In fact their is an account who has a following of 500k at youtube that I left off the list because he has never responded to a single comment. To me these above are engaged and truly trying to be apart of the Steem ecosystem.. and that’s why I felt they were worth mentioning.

Thank you for the kind words 🤗 .. I just really feel that Steems turning point will be when content creators and investors join forces.. now I just have to figure how to get that to happen 😉

what is rewarded is value and value can happen even behind-the-scene and be rewarded on-the-scene. Plus, dirt is good. As for rewards, there is a variety of rewards, one being opportunity. That as well can come from outside steemit, perhaps straight from the search engines. As for content, there is a variety of content, when it comes to steem. As for steem overall, we take it to the moon.

I do think that those realistic expectations are so important, because new accounts show up and without understanding how anything works see a post that has huge rewards that may be low quality. That author then expects to get the same rewards etc.. which leads to frustration and possibly leaving. Now with that being said, there is this insane attitude of entitlement here and I for the life of me can’t wrap my head around it. Never in the time I have been here did I walk around pissed off because I wasn’t getting upvoted.. and yes, that sounds funny now because my payouts are insane.. but just two months ago I averaged $3 a post and was happy to get it.

So to me it’s a terrible combination of unrealistic expectations mixed with lack of guidance and communities. We need to ensure that new users are landing somewhere that will be beneficial for them.. get them involved with communities where they can easily be mentored and helped to see what is truly possible here while having that connection which is so special. I’m hoping SMTs/Hivemind communities help with this.. but we will see.

I think the whole quality is subjective is always a bit hard to take.. in fact I don’t take it well at all 😂, but it is true to a point. Some things that I see as a total waste of space others love.. so, I guess value is decided by those voting.. which I struggle with. But I am a big believer in to each their own so I try not to stress about it too much. On the other hand.. If I can guide and direct people to exceptional content, that’s what I’m gonna do. It’s just what I’m passionate about.

Ok, I’m done rambling 😜 Thanks for the comment Dave and I look forward to seeing you at SF.

Also thanks for the account suggestions! I’m adding them to my list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69121.30
ETH 3739.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75