Dusting Off Old Social Media Accounts... Taking Steem to the World of Twitter!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago

It's amazing what a few days away from your normal routine will do get all sorts of projects jump started.

Being snowed in is good, too... as I have pretty much been, for the past three days.

0882Rooflines.jpg
Winter wonderland...

Catching up, Catching up...

Aside from getting caught up on a lot of my eBay stuff, I have also been contemplating the fact that we often get stuck in ruts. With which I realized that I have a lot of fairly large and well-developed social media accounts that "I used to use" a lot more before I started blogging on Steemit.

I would blast all manners of blog posts and online business updates all over creation... twitter, Instagram, Facebook and more, and I somehow got out of that habit.

Heck, there was even a somewhat neglected Facebook page with 18K+ followers.

I am not going to "blame," Steemit, mind you... even though this community did happen to fit a very specific niche of personal blogging I was looking to fill. More likely, I should be "blaming" the fact that Mrs. Denmarkguy and I decided to get back into the brick-and-mortar retail business in 2016... that's a time sink, if ever there was one. And not a very beneficial one, I might add.

0882BayView2.jpg
View across the bay...

Dusting off Twitter and Facebook

Inspired by @jaynie — who, in turn was inspired by @nathanmars — I figured now would be a good time to "dust off" my old social media accounts and put them to use as part of a recent movement to promote #steem on twitter.

Besides, wanted to contribute to @jaynie's #steemtweets contest, because it's just a good idea. You can read more about that here.

Seems like a good time to bring more of Steem/Steemit to the world, following on the rather frenetic activity that was generated by @theycallmedan's recent delegation contest. Promotional efforts tend to have the most impact when you take advantage of existing momentum!

0882BlueSkies.jpg
We finally had a few moments of sun this afternoon

Finally Carrying Out Old Intentions!

I suppose it's better to be "late to market" than not to show up, at all.

When I first found Steemit, my intention was always to market it to a large group of somewhat "lost souls" from my early days of "social blogging." All the bloggers and content creators who were "set adrift" when the format for social media was changed completely with the advent of Facebook and MySpace.

I still know quite a few of these people... and they even hang around in Facebook "legacy groups" honoring long-defunct social blogging sites.

I think it were time I tried to get them to pick up their batons and start running again... except here!

To that end, I spent some of today "cleaning up" my social media profiles to reflect that Steemit/Steem is now the backbone of where I publish my content.

0882Bayview.jpg
Another view across the bay....

Why the Hesitation?

Call me silly, but I wanted to have "a body of work" here to show people before just shouting from the rooftops about "how awesome" Steem is.

And I wanted to have a pretty thorough understanding of how this place works... and I wanted to make sure it wasn't just another "flash in the pan" that would head down the tubes at a moment's notice. Been there, done that... far to many times!

If I'm going to stake my reputation on something, I really like to make sure that "something" is pretty solid.

Meanwhile, have some photos of our snowy surroundings...

How about YOU? Have you promoted Steem through other social media? Have you tried "hand inviting" content creators personally known to you? Are you part of the "hustle" movement to publicize #steem on twitter? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

*(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190210 23:06 PST
0882

Sort:  

I’ve been trying to be active daily sometimes even a couple of times a day now for past month on twitter. I even been getting some link clicks to my content.

I'm just slowly "reactivating" my activities. I realized I'd sort of gotten out of the social media habit as a result of being on Steemit — was more interesting being part of this than Facebook, and a couple of other blogs I kept were already slowing down so I immersed myself here. But of course other social media is a useful way to draw attention to articles and blog content no matter where they are published.

Hi @denmarkguy! As always, I appreciate your thoughts and process and these are some good ones. Really nice snow photos too, you live in a gorgeous area!

Thank you@natureofbeing! And nice to "see" you.

I think we have reached a point here where it becomes more and more up to us to make this platform and the various front ends a greater success... and that's going to come through including Steemit/Steem in what we do just like we have long involved twitter/Facebook/Instagram in what we do. It seems to me like too many people are treating this like some separate "thing" over in the corner somewhere... and that automatically makes the greater world slightly suspicious.

Not sure I am phrasing this entirely well... @steemmonsters is really a good example to me; it's a really cool game that stands alone and just happens to be on the Steem blockchain. It's like telling people come read my blog (which happens to be on Steemit) rather than getting all mired down in explaining blockchains, cryptos and other technical bits to people whose eyes mostly glaze over. Most people just want to know (a) is it fun and (b) what can I DO with it.

I realize that's a simplistic viewpoint, but I think it applies.

I like that point of view and the simple naturalness makes a lot of sense. I've been pondering this as well and looking for ways to share steemit in my life too. Recently I sent out a promo (sort of newsletter) to my email list and I listed steemit as a place to see another facet of what I'm doing.

I think I've avoided this in the past because I've used Steemit as a place to experiment and share different content than I do elsewhere knowing that my customer base wouldn't necessarily see it. But now it's been a few years and I'm comfortable with sharing everything I've posted here on steemit so there's no reason to keep it as a separate thing.

Anyway, I appreciate your post and the nudge it gives me to do the same :-)

It all about hustling Steem everywhere. The more we hustle Steem to external platform the more we promote steem everywhere....it is now a routine to make steem popular

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed. And one of the things I am increasingly moving towards is publishing more "article-like" pieces here that are not specifically designed for "Steemit consumption," so much as for "global consumption."

I just read a tweet today from Josiah [Not interested in Bank-Coins] Spackman, discussing the need for DGB to forma social media platform like Twitter. Only saying this as I believe we will see all social media become crypto incentivized. This awareness will also help older proven platforms like Steemit.

I think more and more people are "burning out" on conventional social media... so the incentivization and gamification of the whole industry will become increasingly important. In many ways, Steemit enjoys a bit of a "first mover" advantage here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97