You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Engage me! Retain me! Who are you?

in #steem6 years ago

One thing I have noticed is some people have only ever posted dtube or dlive videos. In fact I’m not even sure they even use steemit directly themselves other than make an account to use the other platforms. So I can see how SMT can and will create those people that don’t even know a thing about steemit other than it was mentioned on page 50 of some white papper they did not fully read regarding these SMT they are getting involved in. To them Steemit could just be a wallet where they go to for their funds.

While I hope engagement can help people to want stick around by helping them find a place. I’ve also poured a lot of time into people just to see them leave without a word. I don’t mind helping out someone new by pointing out something they might be interested in or a community. I also try and avoided getting into to many private conversion with people on discord as those never end they just keep coming back for more help. Some just seem to see discord is like their own personal help hotline to you at all hours of the day for every little thing.

Sort:  

As said, I don't mind helping people out but, they have to be proactive also and actually find ways that work.

I find that unless I have already engaged with a user on platform, if I get a message on discord or steem.chat it is 98% certain it is someone looking for votes in some way.

That is why in privacy setting I have "allow direct messages" disabled hehe. Sadly some of them I even had to turn off mentions. Both of these measures are a shame to have to do. But if someone is not at first wanting to contact me on steemit I don't want to know what they want with me or the nonsense they will pull.

Even in the smaller community discords someone always wants everything handed to them on a platter. I find it rather strange how fast people want to become heavily reliant on someone. At that point they just start looking lazy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68880.27
ETH 3763.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43