Engage me! Retain me! Who are you?

in #steem6 years ago

Two word often come up in discussion at Steem, the first is Engagement, the second is Retention. The interesting thing is that the conversation seems to have changed since my early days.

You know, back in the old days when I was just a little minnow, engagement was the thing I was suggested to take part in to meet, interact, get to know, support and comment to find people who may also reciprocate the relationship and look at my work. Perhaps, with a lot of work and a little luck, I would get enough eyes on my work and a little traction so that I could build a following that might even support me. I worked pretty hard at it and this is how far I got.

However now, the conversation has been commandeered and people are asking "How do we engage new users." This sounds like an innocent enough question but here is the thing, We don't.

This is a platform that potentially rewards users for their content, their comments, their voting, their holding of Steem Power, use of Steem Power, sale of delegations, bidbots and of course, eventual price of Steem going upward. All of these chances at earning are not free, they take investment. It isn't the job of most people here to engage new users, it is the job of new users to engage us.

Don't misunderstand or misconstrue this though, we can do a lot to help engagement on the platform but, if we do too much too early without people actually feeling what it is like to survive here, they are going to get disillusioned very fast. You might be saying that it is much harder now than in my time and that might be true but, it is also much easier in some ways as there is a growing amount of users and an expanding ecosystem of apps that did not exist until quite recently.

There was also no delegation and bidbots available to immediately come in and utilize. At least for me, it was all hard yards, all manual ground work in comments sections to do my best for values that people scoff at now and say 'it is not worth my time'. There were no guarantees that Steem was going to go up and when I started I had near zero idea what I was doing here at all and knew even less than that about cryptocurrencies.

This concept that the platform and the users on here have to work to engage users is a flawed view and, one that I have held for a long time. The concept of SMTs won't just engage users, it will import users from other domains that are so diverse from Steem, they would be unrecognizable.

SMTs could not just distribute and decentralize Steem, they could virtually break all connection to it except at the blockchain infrastructure level. It is possible that SMT users will never need know what Steem is at all, nor the history of Trending, Flagwars, Haejin and whatever other crap has gone on up until that point.

This is also why I also don't care much about Trending as in time, it will be gone and most of the people who have spent their hard earned SBD to get known might find themselves known for something that is increasingly obsolete. Hope they are powering it up otherwise they will be about as relevant as 1980's yo-yo champions.

People want to earn here, they want a future here but, if they are not willing to do the groundwork necessary, despite if it was easier or harder before, they don't really have a chance to get what they want. It is a brave move for a person to set up a business and expect the customers to come to them, expect the customers to do the work.

It can happen of course but, one better have something so compelling, so attractive, so addictive that the customers will not just want it, they will tell and bring their friends to it. Is that what most users bring onto Steem?

So then, this leads onto the Retention conversation and again here I am saying, it is not our job to retain at this point as the platform is in a foundation and ecosystem building stage, not an onboarding phase. It isn't ready for large numbers of users yet but, it is getting there.

For now, if people are coming in who want to earn Steem, it is up to them to be proactive and push themselves to find out all they can about the platform, apps and users here. It is up to them to find their communities and attract support to their blogs and it is up to them to experiment and discover what works and what doesn't. It is up to them to invest.

Currently, we are like a toddler who refers to themselves in the the third person and writes their name in large letters on everything they can find. Steem-this and Steem-that but, in the Steem future, the Steem name isn't necessary at all. An SMT can essentially help any site to monetize itself in a multitude of ways and those sites need not be new.

Where I see the most potential for SMTs isn't in new websites looking to monetize themselves, it is in very large enterprises looking for a versatile and tailorable solution that allows them to easily incorporate monetary functions for their providers and user base. They aren't going to care too much about several factors that we might, as long as their token performs the way they want it to.

What this means is that a lot of the arguments that are going on now will be largely irrelevant when it comes to Steemit engagement or Steemit Retention as SMT utilizers can already have engaged users with no retention problems. What this does mean though is that the current crop of apps and users are going to have to compete with other platforms for user base.

Hypothetically, The Medium platform could implement an SMT and then what happens to trending and arguments about quality? They already have professional writers, bloggers and a multitude of celebrities on the platform that will benefit from a token and then users here will have to adapt for that level of influx and ability.

What this means that really, the only conversation at this point falls back into the hands of that old chestnut, Steem Power. No matter what SMTs really do and how successful they could become, chances are that holding STEEM will still be valuable and usable for earning in a multitude of ways.

It is for these reasons that I do try to engage people, support people, retain people but at the end of the day, it is up to them as individuals if they want to actually do the growing amount of work it takes to earn on the platform. I say growing because at the moment as people are complaining about not earning enough, fast enough or easily enough, they have not seen anything yet.

This is a reminder to have what you want in this life, investments have to be made. It shouldn't create FOMO in people too much yet as there are still many good opportunities to build up a follower base, support and a significant STEEM wallet. What it should do though is to reiterate that there are large opportunities here if one is proactive and prepared enough to take the risk of losing all the energy they put into it.

Lose the entitlement and find who you are willing to become.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Well, steemit becomes fun when you stop seeing it as a do or die affair. When you start seeing steemit as fun, you would love being around here even without pay or upvotes. Imagin just having a stressful day and telling over a million people your story. Imaging surviving an accident and telling us about it. Imaging teaching people from all over the world that subject you love the most or telli g us what you understand about a particular topic. Imaging showing off your dancing or singing skills. Theae were things you used to do on facebokk, twitter and instagram for free so why make it a do or die affair now because its steemit. Having the right mindset on steemut would make you engage more and enjoy the platfor Better.

Speaking from experience though.

This is the thing that I don't get. People have a chance to earn by doing what they love or being who they are and they need to be engaged and retained? What is the world coming to when people aren't even willing to work for what they enjoy....

Exactly my thoughts. To me, it's something absolutely stunning that I can get paid for just doing exactly what I feel like doing. This is what I've been doing without getting a single cent on Blogspot and Facebook for over 15 years. I get to power up and watch the STEEM price trend creep up while I'm having fun engaging cool people.

Hehe mehn its really crazy. Should i say that people are just becoming lazy. Where is the place of passion here? Passion means doing what you love no matter the condition. Passion requires doing what you love doing stress free. Dont know what the world is turning into anyways.

One thing I have noticed is some people have only ever posted dtube or dlive videos. In fact I’m not even sure they even use steemit directly themselves other than make an account to use the other platforms. So I can see how SMT can and will create those people that don’t even know a thing about steemit other than it was mentioned on page 50 of some white papper they did not fully read regarding these SMT they are getting involved in. To them Steemit could just be a wallet where they go to for their funds.

While I hope engagement can help people to want stick around by helping them find a place. I’ve also poured a lot of time into people just to see them leave without a word. I don’t mind helping out someone new by pointing out something they might be interested in or a community. I also try and avoided getting into to many private conversion with people on discord as those never end they just keep coming back for more help. Some just seem to see discord is like their own personal help hotline to you at all hours of the day for every little thing.

As said, I don't mind helping people out but, they have to be proactive also and actually find ways that work.

I find that unless I have already engaged with a user on platform, if I get a message on discord or steem.chat it is 98% certain it is someone looking for votes in some way.

That is why in privacy setting I have "allow direct messages" disabled hehe. Sadly some of them I even had to turn off mentions. Both of these measures are a shame to have to do. But if someone is not at first wanting to contact me on steemit I don't want to know what they want with me or the nonsense they will pull.

Even in the smaller community discords someone always wants everything handed to them on a platter. I find it rather strange how fast people want to become heavily reliant on someone. At that point they just start looking lazy.

I always seem to do this with your post. Get flooded w excitement and want to say something before the read.

What did i want to say/ask this time? Have you wrote a book ever?

And finishing the read :] :/

Have you wrote a book ever?

If you count Steemit, about 10 in wordcount ;)

Might have to do a char count on your top level posts :D

It isn't the job of most people here to engage new users, it is the job of new users to engage us.

Easy to forget, but this is correct.

6,853,887 top level post characters
1,929,585 comment chars

lol

going on the averag-ish 5 character/word. that is:

1,370,777 words in the top
385, 917 words in comments

100,000 words = a 400 page novel so.... 17 novels.

That must be among the top 10 largest text hauls for an account. If I run that query though, @arcange might not be too happy :)

And gentlebot thinks so too!

Lmao! Hahahaha. Maybe you should write one. Even use past post to edit "1 actual book", your 1st. :p

This post actually corrects the misguidance done by the way Steemit is introduced to the outsiders.

I am still seeing expressions like "why socialize for free, come and join Steemit". Many Steemians keep attacking Facebook and Youtube as they make profits to only their owners and selling users data. I don't to which extent these claims are correct but I know they are the reason behind romanticizing Steemit and making it the Utopia of social media.

Users come to Steemit with high expectations and wild dreams just because someone gave them the wrong promise to feel disappointment. That is why I believe it is important to change how we educate people about Steemit in order to spare them disappointment.

Education is important but those who generally have the 'worst expectations' have come in from youtube shills or onboarded by people who don't yet understand the platform themselves.

It is still hard to get noticed outside my group of regulars, but at least I do have those.

You are right about the invest thing though, after reading your middle class article a week or two ago, I have been thinking 'what would it be like if all the minnows were dolphins' and 'all the planktons were minnows'

Is everyone so eager to earn the Steem, and then cash out? If so those middle-class people wont ever exist.

I know some do make a living here, but keep some Steem in the system and invest in it. I know I am.

yeah, trying to get a little of that upgrade to happen. a long road.

I agree, every new member has the responsability to work and earn the attention of others users. Hard work is necessary in any job, so if people want to make money here, maybe full time, they have to take it seriously, as a real job. It's hard but life isn't easy

Hi Taraz. Just enjoy yourself and be you. I can't be someone I am not. I am here for the long term and people must either love me or hate me. I will evolve and expand doing things that will make me different. I don't know what yet but everyone finds their level. This is an opportunity to do something and have fun whilst you are doing it.

New users should be engaged and interact so as to meet new people and relate with one another

Which community do you foresee yourself being involved the most in when SMT launches?

I m not sure yet but I definitely would like to help out a little around @ocd if they get a community going as they have done a lot for me and the platform.

This post got me thinking after I read it.

I chose to involve myself with the abuse fighting community. I do wonder how that can be monetized when SMTs do come about in the future.

We have the luck and the blessing to work in something that is enjoyed, there is no need to go and call people, good things shine alone. By the way I do not think the past has been better, things are as they should be, period.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64