You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Potential problems with App beneficiaries

in #steem6 years ago

hey @tarazkp I have had the privilege to have @heimindanger to our conference here in Zug to talk about Dtube
As far as I know they did indeed have the 25% in the beginning but they no longer do that now, It was indeed not sustainable but in the beginning it was needed to "kickstart" their system and also become independant of the delegation.
They do realise that they cannot live of this delegation forever and that is not sustainable so this was a way to overcome this.

hope this clarifies some issues you had with their system.

Sort:  

oh, I just used them as an example because they are known (i thought they still had the 25%), this is about the beneficiaries in general though, with or without delegation. I think the apps have to be able to offer more incentive than an upvote from the app anyway.

I haven't had much to do with @heimindanger directly but, from what I have seen of him on the platform, he conducts himself well.

Well according to https://steemd.com/@dtube they are still taking a cut.

am I missing something?

They do redistribute a bunch of that to voters through their own curation system, rather than keeping it. I don't know what the percentages are but it shouldn't be too hard to check.

@krnel @tarazkp it appears that DTube's entire cut goes to their secondary curation system. See this post: https://steemit.com/steem/@tcpolymath/math-of-steem-how-much-curation-does-dtube-pay-out

Yes, @macron mentioned this. As I said, @dtube was an example but even with it going to curators, the same concerns for posters exist. I like the idea of the distribution and I wonder if curation has changed because of it, especially curation through the @dtube interface. I don't know how easy it is to see that but maybe @heimindanger has an idea?

yea, he really is a standup guy. It was really interesting to have a talk with someone who 'gets' the system.
That is also why they went back from this 25%, the realisation that it is in fact not sustainable.
Personally I think a small (really small) beneficiary is acceptable, or at least it would be to me if they provide a service that warrants that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87