You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What needs to happen to reach $10 STEEM in 2018? (Discussion)

in #steem6 years ago

"number of active users determine the value of the currency"

And this is our very sad report on those active users from @arcange:
arcange active users Jun 14 2018.PNG

I'm one of those content creators steemit is supposed to want to attract. Out of the 20 or so people I brought in this year, only my son @bxlphabet is still here. The others left - mostly quickly. The last two left last week. One said:

"There is no way steemit is worth all that effort. I'm going to stick with fb, pinterest and instagram where I get more better results for much less work."

The other one said:

"Not one of my moron fb friends could ever figure out how to post on steemit. They might be morons, but they are my morons."

Back in January, our number of redfish on @arcange's report was pushing 170K. Seeing it drop so far has been discouraging to me. And the dead fish category is now near 900k - so 9 out of 10 people fail. A few of my people who left are sill voting with auto-voters, so the active number is somewhat inflated.

I have no answers about what can be done, but I thought this report was a good addition to your post. Praying we all succeed here.

Sort:  

Yeah, well, I tend to think this whole thing is basically about hourly wage. When the price of steem is high the wage is high. When it's low the wage is low. Couple that with being new to the ecosystem people have to put in time, and as you note not every facebook dad can just hop onto steemit and roll. That said. I was on facebook for 5 years and never made a penny... so, even when I made a penny here it was better than 5 years over there.

Folks have to learn that getting your free lambo takes time.

But sadly, steemit advertises itself as a place content creators can get paid for their work. Then you get here and Oops! Not really! And then we get the lambo references or discussion about "greedy minnows." That phrase drove one of my guys out.

Many of my content creating friends - including me - do make money posting on fb - either with our pages or groups. We are not on social media to be social, but to earn a living. I get affiliate sales, book sales, and coaching work from fb. Some people do well with fb ads. This is a difference between content creators and casual posters. But neither of those categories of people seems to have a place here on steemit that makes sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82