You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem & Blockchain: Where Are We Heading?

in #steem5 years ago

Hello metametheus, we're working on a project but we're really struggling to choose between the Steem blockchain and the EOSio blockchain.
Why would you choose Steem if their main Dapp Steemit is having such difficulties?

Sort:  

My understanding is the Steemit is merely a frontend to accessing the info (posts) on the Steem blockchain. And that it was never meant to be the 'one and only app".

We now have Busy, Steempeak, eSteem, and Partiko as frontends, all of which work better and still allow us to post stuff.

There is also Steepshot for those who like to do the photo thing.

Steem Monsters operates on Steem, but you access it via any web browser, and I believe they're working on mobile app versions (that will seriously take up my bandwidth once that happens).

DTube is a video front-end. Vimm is a live-streaming front-end.

If the Steemit Inc (the company) focusses on development, and the other 'front-end' apps work on the apps, what's the big deal? We're all going rah-rah about decentralisation, and yet we're cracking the shits because one man and one company aren't taking the lead? Irony much?

Like I said, I'm not technical... but based on (real, 3D) conversations I've had with my friends who do earn a full-time living from this industry, I know that those kinds of decisions that your referring to are based on whether the infrastructure can handle the demands of the application. And that is fair enough... if another blockchain works better for your purposes, that's fine. And of course business decisions come into that too.

If I was to run something, I'd want to know that Steemit Inc (the company) were focussing on the development of the blockchain and the infrastructure. I wouldn't honestly care if Steemit (the app/front-end) wasn't around knowing there are others picking up the load. And in context of what I would like to do, it wouldn't matter because an online publication would be the front-end that I'm reaching out to public with... so whether they knew about Steemit, Busy, Steem Monsters would be irrelevant, so long as they people I'm trying to reach were coming to my product.

I'm equally drawn to Holo to host something, but mores because I feel its aligned with other visions and values I hold... If I could operate an SMT-based online magazine where creators receive payment from subscribers/readers from 'likes/upvotes' on a system that was completely decentralised (like Holo), that would be even more perfect.

Thanks for asking me the question, it got me thinking a bit more about stuff.... much appreciated. Hope everything goes well with your project... any chance of sharing a bit about what that is....? 😉

😊🙏🏽☯️

That's a very good question. I don't know much about developing and certainly haven't worked with the Steem code, EOS code, or any other code. Therefore, I have nothing to say about that. What I will say is, you can't judge a blockchain on one the success or failure of one Dapp. If that was wise, you should look at Steem Monsters, arguably the most successful Steem-based business to date. They wholly standalone and rely on Steemit for nothing. So the question is, can you build a viable and profitable business on the Steem blockchain apart from Steemit? Yes, you can. The execution of your business model depends only partly on the blockchain on which it is based, but mostly on the skills and the talent you bring to the table.

Why would you choose Steem...

@meyemetheus has covered the Steemit FUD issue pretty well in my opinion, so allow me to offer another thought as to STEEM's preference over EOS for your project''s use.

The larger part of my cryptfolio is in Proof of Work coins, however the Delegated Proof of Stake experimentations fascinate me. STEEM is my one exception of having traded in DPOS coins when buying my Dolphin level.

The magic of DPOS governance allows STEEM to be one of the fastest and most scalable blockchain networks out there, yet it also holds a level of danger of corruption that one will not find on POW Networks.

In my opinion, and understanding, EOS has taken that potential corruption to a new level of fear by giving the governance the ability to change transactions on the blockchain if they meet a majority vote. EOS' Governance gives EOS Witnesses the ability to do, at any time, what Ethereum has done once in an action that brought about a hard fork (the real kind). There are some other checks and balances, yet the short answer is the EOS Blockchain can be changed after the fact.

For that reason if my choice was to use a DPOS Blockchain for my project, then STEEM would be my choice at this time. Although ripe for corruption in its own right, Witnesses cannot change past transactions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62