You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Crazy Trying To Fix This Broken Body Of Mine ๐Ÿ› ๐Ÿ’”๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผโ€โ™‚๏ธ

in #steem โ€ข 5 years ago

Hi @cryptopie.
My husband has Hepatitis B as well. I didn't find out until after I had married him and it was diagnosed about two years later. Supposedly he had a blood transfusion when he was in Middle School. He's been "living" with the disease ever since. The medicine he takes...we can barely pay the medical bills. But if we were ever to go to the United States, it would cost thousands of dollars a month, which is impossible to handle. Although you can order the same medicine online from a Canadian medicine site for real cheap, he's still insisting on living in South Korea. I suppose it will turn into cirrhosis. The medicine is only slowing things down but not probable for a cure. It's impossible to get a job from a company if you have any of these conditions in Korea because no one wants to pay the insurance for it and the company will require a bloodtest before hiring.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort: ย 

Yeah @gungho that was my concern before that I could not get hired, go for abroad to work, and of course to suffer from cirrhosis and such. So I never went to College again because I will not get hired anyway plus of course my Kidney condition, just imagine that.
I think a treatment of Interferon was the cure but not sure if it really cures. The treatment here in my country is around 6K a month or half a year I think for an Interferon treatment.
Well that ailment really crushed all my expectations and my world.

My husband has tried Baraclude, Interferon, and Hepsera, over a span of 20 years, and they all cause mutation. He is now taking Tenofovir, which is Viread, for his condition. It only slows down the process. No mutations yet. He's been taking it for about 6~7 years now. I asked him and he said without insurance, it costs 1k a month and WITH insurance it is $50. Thank god we have insurance. Viread is the best one for treatment for Hepatitis B.

Posted using Partiko Android

He also has diabetes. That medicine is expensive too. Up until recently, the government would not let these medications be covered by insurance. So we're pretty lucky these days to finally get a break.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am already using my insurance for my dialysis so only if I would be wealthy enough I would consider treatment for my Liver condition @gungho

So what mutations that you are talking about? How is that?

When the cells replicate themselves, they become mutated. And those mutated cells make more mutation. Then you get sicker and have Jaundice.
If you google: "Hepatitis B mutation" or "HBV mutations" you can get a better understanding than my explanation here. For Asians, typically all the medicines except for Viread will or can cause mutated cells eventually. (This is just my 2 decades of experience living with a hepatitis b patient).

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77