You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Redfish Power UP League and Wall of Fame Week #18 (with @Curie Support)

in #steem5 years ago

LOL... seems I'm always too early or too late. Where was this sort of thing when I was below 500 Steem?

I've been running a weekly contest (every Wednesday) in an attempt to help redfish grow their accounts for quite a long time. It is a simple contest that asks you to guess the 3-digit number that will result from rolling a dice 3 times. The winner gets all the SBD earned from the contest and all earnings not won in previous weeks. In order to enter the contest, participants need to advertise something (either promote a post or something they wish to buy, sell, trade, give away or receive) on the weekly "promote yourself" post published each Tuesday. Contestants get exposure with their ads AND have a chance to win a prize! How can you not love that?

The prizes are currently small due to no sponsorship, but hey, its better than nothing and you can't lose because you get exposure with the ad. Hopefully people with lots of SP will add to the prize pool by up-voting the post or delegating some SP so that I can make a greater impact at helping the redfish.

Sort:  

I just went over and took a look, nice work, will give you a resteem too.

I hope that you will consider voting for us as one of your steem witnesses. Our witness account is @steemcommunity

1.png

Thanks! I didn't realize you were running a witness. I'll have to check that out.

yes we have been running the server for a few months now, but as you probably know, when your focus is on smaller accounts, its rather hard to climb the ladder. All votes are welcome :-)

You created the opportunity for me to update my witness votes. I checked out the links and voted for you as well as changed some of my previous votes.

Would it be OK to use your gif image for voting that is on your introduction page on my weekly submissions? I'm thinking either the contest or the promotions page. I think we need to get you up into the top 20.

I was just about to reply to your other comment looking for more details on our witness when I see this.

OMG thank you so much for your support and yes you can use our gif and images.

There is so much we want to try and do, but our main focus is redfish, minnows, engagement curation and supporting communities. Every vote is important to us as its is so hard to climb.

We dont post much from the witness account, so do keep and eye on my account and @abh12345 to keep up to date on the things we are working on.

Thanks. I've been trying to get something going that helps the small accounts since I joined Steem, however, with little to offer and no sponsorship, nothing has worked yet. My account is slowly growing and my votes are getting slightly bigger, but not yet large enough to attract the crowds that will push me over that hump of achieving critical mass. I have given away over 100 SBD to date, so I have helped a few, but not to the degree that I would like by any means. I'm still working at it. Of course I will support anyone who is also working toward the same goal.

you are working hard and I love this game idea. I have mentioned it in the new league post. I feel your pain on the give aways and now with the price of steem so low. Maybe you would consider SBI units as prizes, at least then you also get a little back

Thanks for the mention. Word of mouth is the best advertising!

Funny you should mention SBI units because I was actually thinking about the idea. What prevents me from actually implementing it is the math. SBI is a genius idea (for the person who started it), but I can't see the units ever amounting to more than dust votes. The more people that sign up, the smaller each unit's value must become in order to stay within 10 full votes per day. I was receiving 1 cent votes on 1 unit, then on 2 units I still got 1 cent. Now on 5 units, I'm still getting just 1 cent per vote, so my speculation seems to be correct. I am currently voting at 3 cents per vote on anyone who plays my zombie game and at 2 cents for anyone who participates in the weekly contest, but they also get another 2 cent vote for advertising their blog post or something for sale, giving 4 cents combined. The votes are for sure, plus they get a chance at winning the prize pot. To me, this is a way better deal than a single SBI unit. Of course if more people participated, I too would need to dilute each vote in order to stay below 10 full votes per day. My goal is to give as much as possible, so as my account grows, so will the vote values. It's all about perception and people see different values in different things. It often takes herd mentality for some to see the value and since there isn't a flock coming to me, the perception is that there is no value there. Those few who recognize the value will keep coming back. Hopefully some day soon things will change for the better.

Speaking of Steem's low price: I see it as a blessing for the little people who are struggling to raise SP. Right now 1 SBD buys a little more than 1 Steem, so if someone earns 1 SBD per day, they can buy roughly 8.75 Steem at the end of the week.

Now let's assume the price of steem is $5 USD:
They would be earning $5 per day instead of $1. Sounds GREAT, right? Now let's convert that to SP and it costs 5 SBD to buy just 1 Steem. So although it seems like a win, at the end of the week you have just 7 SP.

I prefer the 8.75, thank-you very much!

Now, having 7 Steem at $5 each probably isn't going to grow as much as having 8.75 Steem at $0.75 each. I don't have a crystal ball, so cannot predict how high Steem will go, however, I don't think it is unreasonable to expect that it will reach at least $5 to $6 in the near future. If that's where it should cap out, earning that initial $35 will seem small compared to having that 8.75 Steem grow by a factor of 5 or 6!

Agroed did very well focusing on the little accounts, although I'm sure he did a lot of negotiating behind the scenes. Do you have a list of what your witness stands for? I know you did a lot of work exposing the shady side of some of our members. I haven't checked into anything regarding your witness yet, but I'm confident I'll be voting for it based on what I already know about you. It might help to know where /with whom you have the witness server because as it stands, many are hosted by one person and that is not really decentralized. Steem has the appearance of being decentralized, but in reality, it is actually quite centralized with control in the hands of a small clique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63