You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The haejin effect

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

If you check my account you'll see haejin was the first person I followed here on steemit. It seems a little weird now, because I don't even open his posts now.
I am not exactly sure how I came about knowing his account on steem and as a newbie he seemed pretty big deal to me here.
The problem now is that I don't find his analysis unique in anyway. Have no idea what to think when posts with similar or even better analysis than his get zero views (not that view button exists anymore).
As you say that one man alone is not a threat but the problem is what he has come to represent. I don't not think flagging is doing anything to stop this. I think the best idea still is to go about up voting content that we prefer.

Sort:  

i have to say ive stayed out of the flag wars, however, i too was new and got support from his group. it was very quiet and then went away.
he never flagged me, but the more i looked at bernie as a hero, with time i saw he flagged more minnows than haijin ever did. the more research i dug up, the more i saw there are many hypocrites and many more vying for attention to get more and more whale votes. this is a game to so many people. also money for those in dire need. some people will do anything for attention. after 160 days on this platform, isnt it reasonable to conclude that finding good people through the drama and ensuring quality of our own blogs the best we can do? whales got there for a reason, they invested early.
neutrality is key in this game. getting flagged has worked out for some and ruination for others. slippery slope indeed.

I commented and voted on haejin's posts in the beginning, but my post today isn't really about how I feel about his content and is more about how others have acted since his boom :)

I wouldn't really have a problem with high earnings post if it was competing on a level playing field with other similar content. For me the problem arises because some other guys I follow do a much better analysis and don't get a tenth of the rewards this other user is raking in.

Would to you share their profiles to see what they are about?

I always thought Haejin's TAs ignored sentiment where too mathematical and took into account those fake wick peaks that are either bots testing for ceiling or confused traders hitting the wrong button.

Anyway i am always looking for good TA to watch and learn.

Hi Hash. Totally agree. I know the one you are talking about and he has helped me a lot already. i was worried he was going to give up at one point as he couldn't understand why he wasn't making 0.20 per post.

You did a perfect job up there Ash, it pretty much sums up what I've noticed on here too. Hell if they they couldn't take him down entirely, at least the second option looked good and would have been the best thing to do if anyone had the long-term concern for the platform. Old writers are improving daily, but it seems the votes are getting lower. New members? Well, not so much. The "we can't stop him, So we're gonna act like him" mindset is what they opted for. And it's really sobering. Getting new extra accounts to do the dirty job seems to be the "in" thing now for these guys. That way, their main account looks good, and no one knows.

Thanks for the eye opener, Ash.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86