Expectations On Steemit- Why Did You Join?

in #steem6 years ago

GirlCellphoneSteemit.jpg

Let's face it, Steemit isn't for everyone. Something about decentralized ledger technologies running on nascent infrastructures seems to keep people away. I will admit there is quite a learning curve for Steemit, as well as all cryptocurrencies. Having a general knowledge of Bitcoin before joining definitely gave me an advantage over other newcomers into this space.

LaptopHeadphones.jpg

Since signing up over a year ago I have told many people about Steemit and STEEM - including both the pros and the cons of the whole ecosystem here. The biggest response I get back from people is that they aren't creative or they don't have anything to post about. While this certainly may be true, that won't stop you from making money here because you can also earn through curation and commenting on content that interests you.

OldGuyCellphoneSTEEM.jpg

However, there are several barriers that both prevent people from joining and keep them from coming back. First and foremost the signup process is not immediate and in this day and age people forget will simply forget or lose interest at this point. Then after they sign up they are expected not to lose their password, which inevitably a significant amount of people I know have done. After that you have to convince them that it's actually worth pouring their blood, sweat and tears into their creative works only to get a penny or two. "Yeah no thanks."

pennies.jpg

If you just came to Steemit for the rewards then you will be greatly disappointed. If you came for the community then you can be greatly rewarded- but nothing happens overnight. New Steemians are often discouraged by their lack of presence in the social sphere when they have done little to network and expand their influence on the platform. You have to not only post great content but do so consistently while also engaging other people in your niche. The important thing to remember is that Steemit is what you make of it. If you put no effort you will get no reward.

BlueWorldSTEEM.jpg

This brings me to my original idea which is "Why did you join?" Of course everyone is going to have different reasons here. Some people saw it as an opportunity to try something new and different while earning a few bucks on the side. Others take advantage of Steemit for the potential exposure to new contacts and clients in their particular field, such as art, photography or even journalism. I actually joined Steemit mainly out of curiosity but also for my love of crypto and Bitcoin. I found that Steemit was an entirely different kind of social media where new fresh ideas could flourish without getting drowned out by all the useless noise on traditional social site. Free thinkers are gathering here without fear of censorship and that is what really got me hooked.

SILENCE.jpg

As time has passed we have seen the effects of the censorship and data scandals rock the foundations over at YouTube and Facebook. I always had a funny feeling about them and for good reason! Steemit presents a new avenue for authors, journalists, artists and more to express their work without any fear of being stopped. I enjoy using this site as a creative outlet and for an alternative source of information in this rapidly changing technological age. I did not have many expectations when I joined but they have certainly been blown away since then. There is a lot of potential developing in this community as more networks expand and projects are created.

Technology.jpg

What are your hopes dreams and expectations for Steemit? Why did you join and why did you stick around?

Sort:  

Nice post! Following.....

For me, I joined Steemit because it was a new thing to check out. I was sick of a lot of the BS social media and wanted to be in on something new which could lead the way and maybe be at the forefront of the blockchain space. I love this idea and it's better than most cryptos. Cheers!

I love your reply @exxodus

And I've noticed already that you're into crypto. Great :)

Going to check your profile in a min.

Yours, Piotr

I love the platform and for me is like a video game. I love to grow my account and the effort you need to make.

It is a lot like an RPG at times :-D!

I call it the RPG game of life...

video game @chesatochi ? :)

I love your comment :)

Happy you appreciate it. :)

It's been quiet when the price is so low, i stick around because my feet are already wet. lol

It seems the cannabis community is turning it up! Do you have Ginabot on discord?

Man go look at my very first post here! So crazy. Why did I join steem? Cause you told me to, lol. Why did I start steemin, cause I saw your profit in January. Why do I not stop? Cause the community is fucking great! Hard work pays off, but can’t come here and be a selfish asshole and expect to gain. But there is always the option of just signing up for the wallet

"If you just came to Steemit for the rewards then you will be greatly disappointed. If you came for the community then you can be greatly rewarded."
IF that were true, perhaps Steemit should say up front "if you join here thinking you'll make money, you'll be disappointed" instead of telling people that Steemit is about earning cryptocurrency (money) while having fun.
I keep hearing people say "it's not about money" but the entire website shows that's not true. If we wanted community over anything else, we would have joined some other website. This website doesn't have chat, or even private messages, or even a friends list. It's not set up to foster community, it's set up to locate and promote exceptional content.

Then after they sign up they are expected not to lose their password, which inevitably a significant amount of people I know have done.

About 25% of those that I have invented loose their account after confirming it meaning they probably didnot know or save their passwords.

What are your hopes dreams and expectations for Steemit? Why did you join and why did you stick around?

I joint Steemit to make money but my changed after I started enjoying the beauty of the platform. Currently, It is all about networking, studying and above all have fun!

It is definitely more about networking than most other things :-)

Ha! @justinashby got me on. And I've fooled around making pennies with the grow pictures but was too busy for more.

Until one day. I got more into it..

Now I'm at 8 accounts? And @kind.network is amazing and the Cannabis community as well as @canna-curate is rocking and we are really bringing the community together. So...

I was here for fun. And went full time and building and networking hard! Not sure my total sp count... But I'm excited for sure!

Steemit does kinda grow on you like a fungus. Slowly at first then next thing ya know you look like old Gregg
tumblr_o64n62t0WM1v3ok2ko1_500.gif

I'm so fast a hummingbird can't catch me.

Basically I joined first because I was attracted by the idea of monetizing your blog without need of advertisements.
Then, a few weeks later I realized about its potential as a blockchain itself and future development.
For me it is clearly a win-win project. There is not any other project with the same potential...well,?EOS can be but still has to show a real usability case.
Steem on

I joined Steemit out of curiosity, now its a habit. I try to get on daily and vote or comment. Trying to do a interesting daily post is my goal, but as you said, voting and commenting is a great way to establish some traction. I hit 500 followers this week, it took over a year, but I am proud of myself for sticking at it.

Thanks to @ojamajo, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73