The Old Dog Explains: Using Statistics to Keep You Motivated!

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Numbers can be fun and exciting. Sometimes they just look cool and other times they can mark milestones and keep us motivated to reach our goals! 

Do You Get Excited When You Look at Your Steem Stats?


Looking at the stats on your home page will really help you to keep pushing forward toward your aspirations.

Once in a while when I see my Steem stats click over to a new number I take a screen shot and let it all sink in.


Here's a screen shot of my home page. There are a couple of motivating milestones here


How Can The Stats Above Help Me?

  • Look at the number of followers. 8888 is such a cool number don't you think? You can also understand though that I'm really motivated to see it click over to 9,000. Just 112 to go!
  • Next look at the number of posts (19498) which include my comments. I'm really motivated to get to 20,000 now. My goal is to answer every comment that I receive and if I keep doing that I'll get there soon enough! I've been on this platform for 33 months now and so that means that I comment almost 20 times a day! Are you commenting and engaging with others?


Check Out This Milestone:



How Can This Motivate Me?


  • Here you can see that I've reached 60,000 Steem. It has taken me almost 3 years but I made it here bit by bit!
  • If you check out the stats at Steemworld.org you can see how I got there. In my case 43,874 were earned as an author and 5,456 were earned through upvoting or curating others. The other 10,670 Steem were purchased by me as an investment in the platform. If you haven't done so visit Steemworld.org and see how you are doing.


Remember Every Journey Starts With The First Step!


  • Do you only have 20 Steem Power? Set a goal to get to 100. Once there go for 200 etc...
  • Do you have 200 followers? Keep working toward 1000 and once you're there it will go much faster. It took me more than a year of working at it just about every day to get to 1,000


As in many things in life consistency is the key. Have fun, set goals and keep on Steeming!


What Are You Goals?


  • Are you trying to reach a certain Steem Power?
  • Do you have a target when it comes to your reputation score?
  • Is your number of followers of prime importance?


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you.  

 

Until next time,  

         
@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Lets' Succeed Together! 

Sort:  

Hello sir @kus-knee. This is a very interesting description, clear and I have been learning to pay attention to my graphics through steemworld. Thank you to sir @steemchiller. And what you show tonight really motivates me. Its true I only have a small SP, but I did not give up and I am now in an effort to build a delegation to support the steemian from Indonesia. Now I delegate to @steem-indo, we do this for the community. Why ? because from the community we get everything here, rewards and curations. Actually there are so many ways to be successful, just need patience and not give up. That's the formula that I always say

4C (Community, Creativity, Content and Consistency).

Thank you so much, please allow me to resteem this post sir. God bless you.

Keep on going. You're doing great!

Thank you soo much sir.

I think it is the steem power that motivates me. I will soon have 2000 followers but many are dead. In reality it is much less. Honestly I hope to become a dolphin in a year. I would invest a SMALL amount of my money into steem (Damn I said that) but do not know how to. In the mean time I have an endless imagination to write for SP. Thanks @kus-knee

Your doing great!

Ya I know some are dead but the numbers still look good! :) I remember that you had some Steem stolen as well right? How much was it?

Keep going step by step!

@kus-knee,
Honestly I don't care about # of Followers, but I do care about my posting #. After all I also keep my own Milestone on SP. I didn't purchase a lot of STEEM, I think all my SP are my posting and commenting rewards and I already converted 1500 STEEM/SBD before the last ATH!

Cheers~

When i came here, my goal was to earn a lot of Steem by writing posts and then to buy a new car for my dad:) He has a very old one ( you won't believe it's 48 y.o. yet ) so i guess he deserves to get something better. I hope one day i will reach this goal 😊😊😊. But anyway i like to spend time here, find new interesting people, communicate and so on. I can't write on Instagram all i do here, here i can say all i want and to be who i am so i like it a lot and this is my motivation to come here every day.

Nice to know about your goal!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Wow, thanks!

Wow, 60 000 steem. Congrats. That is awesome. I am still working on breaking my first thousand. Very close for me. I took a screenshot​ once of my numbers on Instagram​. It was a palindrome​:)

You are close! That's exciting!

I like these numbers very much, you are doing fantastic @old-dog! @kus-knee! :0)

Hehe, it's especially cool that at this moment your post rewards are 777. The numbers are with you!!

SmartSelect_20190308-152041_Chrome.jpg

Yes triple 7's. I like it!

Shoot that dot down xD

What you have done with your original investment is inspirational, I have personally invested 6500 steem over several accounts in the last couple of weeks- and am using steem to blog - I hope one day i will have similar success:)

I like what you're doing but here is something to consider. I also have other accounts that I've invested in (in one case over 20,000 SP) but right now I'm not so sure of that strategy.

For better or for worse the more SP that other members know that you have the more support they'll give you.

I think that your blog is a nice niche and as communities grow and come on board I'm sure that you'll have more and more success!

Thats very interesting! my main thought with splitting power across accounts was for security really in case an account became compromised - but thats certainly something to think about.

Thank you:) I am not using bots to promote and hope instead that consistent posting will in time get the blog more exposure and awareness - maybe that's a bit naive of me, but it does mean all rewards get powered up instead of paying for promotion:).

I also don't use bidbots. I recently listened to an interesting video by @broncnutz it helped me to see things a little differently.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@broncnutz/s173velp

That was an interesting watch thank you:) it has got me thinking more - steem definitely is what you make of it.

Yes. I had never watched him before but what he said about "circle-jerking" hit home.

I also watch the videos by @exyle to know what's happening on the blockchain. Lot's of fun!

Thank you sir.... :0

You won me over with your honest analogy and you have my vote!

Yeah i have found people support me more by knowing what my steem power is. I tried it with having a few accounts and then just ended up delegating it all to my main. thanks for the info on this post including broncnutz video. I'm really a noob on steem where most of my SP has come with purchase over a short period of time. goal is 100k but i really need to start making my investment working for me. i haven't used bidbots , not even sure how lol, i do auto curate as much as possible after i figure out how much to support. Milestones for me- This would be the longest comment i have ever written lol. Look forward to your next post. thanks @kus-knee

I may delegate to myself from my other account as well. Still thinking it over as the idea was "a new relevation" to me.

I'll support you with my full vote because as you stated your investment needs to work for you.

I do a lot of real time voting, curating and commenting but I also use an automatic voter Steemvoter.com and set it to vote for members I'd like to support. It's easy and you can set and forget.

one reason to keep separate accounts is look at the accounts eforucom and supu. they vote small and early. best roi i have seen for curators.

Hmmm, this is new to me. So much to learn!

Very interesting review @kus-knee and you have achieved amazing results on our platform, well done! For me, the priority is to achieve more subscribers and the power of voice!

You'll make it if you have fun!

Oh yes @kus-knee, you have excellent statistics for three years and you can motivate many of us, including me, with your message today, so we all have something to strive for!

Keep on going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97