You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Funding freedom of Media on Steem

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I really respect your posts, so hopefully you don't take my honest reply here as a negative nelly.

For the vast majority of my time on Steemit I have powered up. Every time I have had a success powered up. I have mined other crypto, shifted it to Steem..powered up.

I have no intention of powering down now...but a few month back I made my target (a reasonable target I set 12 months ago) and decided to move any SBD or Steem off, for the purpose of storing it and powering up when the price of Steem is less - diversification.

Outside of the crypto world I diversitise, shares, bank savings etc. And so far I'm doing ok as I didn't go crazy and put my house in Crypto.

Why? because it's going to go up and down, it's new tech.

For me never powering down is the only thing I can commit to (well at least until March 19 - pending). I love Steem, but I must say I am a bit disappointed in Steem inc. So many have reached out to help, but only now when they are down and out do they come to community with....apparent community driven ideas.

If @ned doesn't keep his promise and have full prod SMT by march I will powerdown for the first time.

If I was running Steeminc. I wouldn't sleep (the $ amount never mattered to me). I believe in the tech, I enjoy the social media side without Adverts (or at least if there are AD's I personally prosper from them as well in someway if they are appear on my post - and I get some choice on the ad).. and I believe in SMT, I really do love the vision and have from the start....I just hate excuses...but that's just me.

This just my thoughts about my personal Steem adventure - not sure how others feel and I'm very open minded, so may change my mind..

Cheers

Sort:  

As @exyle says it’s time to start judging steeminc by what they actually do! A power down if they don’t act is perfectly reasonable!

It is also worth considering what others may start to do in that time between. For those who like to play in multiple steem worlds, keep eyes open on apps, witnesses, full nodes etc....

Fair point, but exyle was just talking about steeminc at the time! (Well, and the witnesses in the same video.

I'm presently musing over what meaningful decentralisation is.... I mean in terms of data storage. I'm struggling to comprehend how steem could ever be more decentralised in this respect than say WordPress.... where all the blogs are stored on thousands if not millions of servers all over the world (depending on who they pay to host).... bit of a tangent, but the thought literally just came into my head 10 minutes ago.

The decentralized factor as I see it is that all information is stored on th chain and as long as one witness holds it, it is there. If for example, wordpress decided to shut up shop, what happens? It is decentralized sure but then what? Decentralization isn't just about fragmentation, it still has to be organizational.

I imagine it a bit like a dropped drinking glass. Sure, it is all still there but it no longer holds water. Decentralization still holds the water.

March timeline for SMT is going to be very difficult after 70% cut in workforce in Steemit unless they prioritize SMT project.

Depends on who was cut doesn't it? Not all of Stinc was developer orientated I would say.

I have no issues with people powering down, this is an economy after all and requires movement of currency. I also don't mind people diversifying, the end goals require it for various reasons. But, you don't have RC issues either, you still get to interact the way you choose here because you ave consistently invested inward while many others have extracted only without recognising the price of interaction, a price that is paid on all other platforms, albeit not as directly nor as visibly.

I can understand the March 19th concerns too, and as said, this is opt-in and out and if it doesn't satisfy needs, the out is always there. It is all about personal options and behaviours taken and there are consequences and risks inherent in all. Those who are powering up like yourself are risking a great deal, those who aren't might be risking their ability to interact at the level they would like.

As for Steemit Inc, I am glad they have finally recognised their limitation and this will hopefully put the entire project on track in a more healthy environment. Perhaps the past suffered from the 'my baby' issue, I don't know.

This just my thoughts about my personal Steem adventure - not sure how others feel and I'm very open minded, so may change my mind..

I would say minds are going to change often here as with each day, new information and possibility comes to light that should change our minds and behaviours to some degree.

Isn't it all more interesting than being fed a service and paying invisible hands though?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67