You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alts left right out and KYC

in #steem5 years ago

You're all class, mate :)
I'd like to see a condenser give us the option to unfollow topics. You start posting actifit content, and I don't want to see it, I just unfollow #actifit, and my feed goes from being a chronological list of posts by people I follow; to being a chronological list of non-actifit posts by people I follow.
If I click on your name, and go to your blog/profile page, I'll still see the actifit posts, so I can always go back and see how much of your content my filters have kept out of my feed.
@jarvie; @asgarth is this something to consider for steempeak?

Sort:  

Filter out posts with that topic keyword?
From the whole feed? Can't just start with something easy like from a profile? Hahaha

How much will this feature actually be used by the community at large? What are some other examples and how much would they be used. I'm trying to think of if I would actually bother setting these up and for which topics and how often they'd trigger?

I've heard a few rumblings from people sick of hearing about steemmonsters for example.
I'm sure if steempeak offered them a way to only see non-steemmonsters posts in their feed, non-magicdice and perhaps non-actifit; they'd be more inclined to use steempeak over another front end.
Authors would then be less hesitant to diversify; knowing that anyone who only follows them for crochet posts won't be tempted to unfollow when they dip their toe into politics.
If you wanted to really give Asgarth a workout; the topic line on the author page could feed back information about what percentage of their viewership the post will lose for each topic, as they type them in.

Also the other commenter above may be right that communities may end up fixing a lot of this anyway.

What you are suggesting is similar to 'Mute' but for topics right?

Correct. I'd love to write more about the Adelaide meetups, for example, but those following me for political observations aren't interested in meetings they'll probably never attend; and I don't want to lose them by posting stuff they don't want to read.
Unfollow is too black and white. The real issue is that authors are presented as all or nothing propositions and they don't have to be.

When communities comes out would you just post those into the community? Would it be mostly a non-issue at that time?

I'm not sufficiently well-versed in how communities is going to look, except it'll be like subreddits? If communities are going to replace topics, with users joining and leaving communities, then that would take the place of muting topics, I imagine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84