[Vlog] Uncensorable! We are all Mark Zuckerburgs on the Steem blockchain

in #steem6 years ago


Before heading to the gym this morning, I checked in on the trending page for the first time in a while and was greeted with a pleasant surprised. Two prominent Youtube channels, @furiouspete123 and @hodgetwins were the top trending post.

Trendsetters trending

It is great to see the organic growth of the platform with more and more influencers becoming aware of the Steem interfaces, Steemit and dTube and giving the platforms a chance. It's a great opportunity to expand reach even before new features like Communities and SMTs arrive.

I'm really bullish on Steem currently. In a time in cryptocurrency where people are questioning the utility of these tokens, Steem shines bright as a practical example of what is possible and how the blockchain can disrupt existing industries.

Censorship resistant

Steem has two qualities that make it standout from traditional social media platforms. The first being the Steem blockchain is cannot be censored.

What is posted on the blockchain remains on the blockchain

The data posted to Steem does not sit on a central server. It cannot be removed on the whim of a company executive. This is appealing to many who find themselves censored on the basis that their views do not fit with the mainstream narrative.

'We' all own the Steem blockchain

The second attractive quality of Steem is that it is not own by a company. We, the users and token holders 'own' Steem. We have the ultimate say in it's direction. With our voice being as loud as our stake in the platform.

We decide how daily rewards are allocated. However we also elect who secures the blockchain and implements changes.

We are all Mark Zuckerburgs on the Steem blockchain.

Smaller fishes in a bigger pond

I think it's great that Steem is expanding it's reach. With all the 'fish' analogies that fly around on this platform - my ultimate aim is to be a smaller fish in a much much bigger pond. That way I know Steem has succeeded and we all reap the benefits together.

NB: I'm also going to make a more conscience effort to post on dTube as well as Youtube. Whilst it is still nascent (and has all the teething problems associated with that), it is becoming an important part of the Steem blockchain and as such is worthy of support.

Shout out to @ivargereiko and @colossus39 who I mentioned in the video... looking forward to the 'torture sessions' in the coming moths.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Yea you are right. Youtube gained this fame mainly due to the content creators. If we managed to get them over here somehow will be great.
I am waiting for Gary Vee to join Steemit

If gary vee comes to steemit, it will be a magnificent year for us, simply a domino effect right after

@surf1an you are definitely right. I'm sure the moment we get any content creator on other platforms here, getting bullish is a bye product. They wouldn't need a coercion. Seeing Grant Cardone here some days ago really melt my heart. More people are coming that i can assure you.

This will grow so big. Why?

Youtube thrived on contents created by individuals all over the world. Same with Facebook. Same with just anything big out there.

And i am damm sure we are on the right path.

Thanks @nanzo-scoop for sharing this

There is no platform whose popularity thrives on independent content creators that won't stand the test of time.

Steemit has come to stay.

And i am very sure @surf1an that many more social media influencers will fall in. many are already here.

Steem is not just going to be bigger and better than youtube but take over because of the priviledge the steemian has over those on other social platform. Social network, social empowerment and social business awareness of steem make it worthwhile.... Steem gat me!!! Am going to shine on.

Yes exactly. Many love the trust and reputation system even more than money. Because in terms of our survival brain having a strong tribe is more important than monetary rewards. Since then if we ever need help we can get it easily since we have been kind to the community and been sharing value! How people feel good no matter the upvote size. Because it's an act of caring about another human and giving out real value.

I have been buying more Steem this week (as much as I can afford comfortably) I think its only a matter of time before Steemit overtakes Facebook. I think that the facebook ban on crypto ads is trying to slow down the number of people learning about crypto, and then learning about Steemit. I havent checked my facebook account since I started! I have also signed up several friends, some of which have gotten very big upvotes, they called me and were so excited! I cant wait to see whats in store for 2018 with Steemit. I am just happy I discovered it before 99.9% of the world :)

Yep - we are all early adopters. Hope the Steem purchase works out for you!

So happy to hear you're going to be training with @ivargereiko! YES Ivar!!! Looking forward to hearing more about how your training is going. I'm going to hire him to get me in shape too in a few months. Dreading it obviously ;-) but it's needed!

Sounds like you'll be feeling my pain soon, too! I'll keep you posted on how it goes!!

This is all good news.

The long-term success of Steem will depend on large corporations buying or renting Steem Power to get their message out to the masses. The great thing about this is that Steem will still always remain censorship resistant.

Agree. If Steem gains a critical mass of users, then the business case for buying Steem Power to better reach that userbase becomes more and more compelling.

This is very true sir....I am in control here!

We all have a voice and a say to some extent in whatever happens here...that is an amazing feeling. I think that is the reason most people here are good.

Nobody can close my account for airing my opinions or beliefs. I bet those other platforms are noticing already.

It is always refreshing having those that have made a name come here...that means it can only get bigger and better.

Like you said work needs to be done on dTube especially. But overall we are becoming a force.

I like the fact you keep fit and look good...way to go man.

interesting friend
@herlys

Perhaps I should get into shape to. Thank you for your vid Mr @nanzo-scoop. I love that we all have the same opportunity that Mark Zuckerburg has in building a network. Looking forward to making some gain on Steem and via body weight. Shoutout for the encouragement my sir..

I trust it.... but where are my billions????

You are sharing them with the rest of us! :)

Super excited about our upcoming work and transformation! Time to hit gym hard!!

Me too man, can't wait to put in that WORK!

My goal is to be a bigger fish in an ocean. I see a bright future for the growth of this platform as crypto and blockchain mainstream. I am also bullish on any project that actually builds somethings. There are so many coins that are empty ideas.

Working on my own monetized platform coming in the months ahead with a group of friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11