You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walking Advertisement | Accounts We Should Be Supporting On STEEM

in #steem6 years ago

This is what I find bizarre about steemit and the general debates/discussions on this platform...There is a huge argument about what quality is and all the rest that goes with that argument (blah blah), but then there is also the fact of why it fails in keeping users on board...right? Has it ever occurred to anyone that constantly promoting the same accounts on a platform wide basis, kills off any hope of keeping the smaller bloggers on board? It also creates a real world elitist attitude to the block chain, where the overwhelming majority of the rewards are flowing into the wallets of a select number of large accounts? It's like a centralised system within a decentralised platform lol.

Isn't the small blogger just as important, as the "well known" social media celebrity types with a large following on other platforms? This is why the smaller users don't stay/hang around! Just because they don't get paid to blog on other platforms, it doesn't mean they will do it for nothing on here. It's all about their perceptions (not ours), and some of the perceptions about how this platform operates are well...

There also seems to be a large disconnect between users that are doing extremely well out of steem, and the users who basically don't exist. Yes, I know no one is entitled to anything and has to produce reasonable content to get noticed or supported, but that disconnect is very real.

Yes I also understand that getting people on board with a large following from outside of steemit helps promote and grow steem. I get that, and it's true. BUT, you will then only have the same popular celebrity types take over steem, by recreating the real world and leaving everyone else behind.

Sorry, but I just find a lot of the conversations quite hypocritical, which is why I generally don't say too much on these topics.

That's enough of my uninformed rambling...Now i'll just go back to my little corner and be nice:)

Sort:  

Nope, your opinion is valid and one that is understandable. Luckily there are curation groups that focus on the users you described exactly.. but those groups need support to continue this work as well. The issue currently is trying to get the larger stake holders to see the value in curation and supporting these initiatives, but it’s something I focus on in my work with @c-squared/@c-cubed, @helpie and @curie... they are all focused on helping the little guys. One thing that I think is huge for those accounts (and myself because while I have grown a ton since joining in January.. I’m still a Minnow), is communities. Communities and networking is pretty vital here.. which was my point in new users already having a place to feel at home once they arrived.

This post is mostly touching on supporting these walking advertisements rather than actually paying for outside advertising. These accounts are small on Steem, have little to no following and are not making much without the help of curation initiatives or larger votes... which is why I mentioned these rather than those already doing well. The idea is they could be a way to reach many while still supporting great content.

There will always be celebrity accounts here, it’s just the world we live in.. BUT that doesn’t mean that we all don’t have a fair chance of finding our own level of success here. Our goals need to be realistic though and we have to put in the time.. and yeah, we all can’t be amazing bloggers I agree.. in fact I don’t think I’m one myself.. most of the work I do here is community building and curating.

But I do see the value that accounts like these add here.. and when we add value to the platform, we all benefit because we are all investors here.

If you are looking for a community or inclusive curation group that focuses on all accounts, not just the famous ones, check out a curation project I started with some fellow curators;

https://discord.gg/5D3ThM

We are trying to make sure everyone gets the support they need.

Thanks for your comment!

Agreed to all you said. Now I'm back to my little corner and be nice too LOLOLOLOL

Lol... The good corner? I was sent to the ed naughty corner 😈

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69516.43
ETH 3791.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84