This is a perfect example of how those outside of Steem view the platform

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

We all know there is a lot of money coming into crypto right now. We consistently see all kinds of crappy coins that can't hold a candle to what Steem offers go on crazy runs and yet Steem continues it's downward trend. This statement from the Steem forum on Bitcointalk encapsulates what I believe is the general belief of Steem from those that don't actually know or use the platform.

If you can't read the image, here's what it says.

What are your thoughts of steem as a long term investment? I see that the supply will 2x each year, doesnt this mean that 100usd today would be 50usd in on year? I mean, it can not be expected that the growth will be 2x each year, not many companies constantly grow 2x each year. Or have i got it wrong? Would investing in Steem Power be a better investment if one believes in the steemit as a platform?

People have no clue about the current inflation policy, how the platform works, that you can make returns on your Steem Power and this new little thing called Smart Media Tokens.

For those looking to find the next big crypto. They're looking at two things really. What's the coins supply and can I make some kind of dividend on it by staking it or running a masternode.

If people realized that the inflation rate is actually very reasonable and that you can make a return of 20% or more by staking your investment, Steem would shoot through the roof. That's before we even start talking about SMTs or all the other apps being built on the Steem blockchain.

The fact of the matter is that Steem is by far one of the most undervalued coins and eventually people are going to start finding out all of the amazing things that the ecosystem is delivering and how it trumps pretty much every coin out there on what matters.

It has a proven blockchain, a working use case, a growing community, a plethora of apps being built on it and is just getting started.

The only question is, when and how is the word going to get out?



Some of my other recent posts:


Take it Outside - My Solo Packrafting Trip Through the Bob Marshall Wilderness
Share the Love, Grow our Community - Win 50SBD or More - New Monthly Contest
Life with Girlfriend - Quotes from the Trenches - Ep. 2 - Learning Crypto

forestfooter.gif


Images from: Freepik

Sort:  

I myself have invested in steem because it's the first coin I have ever used and see of use for me personally right here and now. I am amazed it's not gone through the roof but I do see some problems that might be the reason to do it just yet. Still I have high hopes for steemit and kee stacking it from time to time.

While I have brought a little of other coins steem is probably 80% of my portfolio

There's definitely still some issues, mainly with account creation and onboarding, but those are being worked on and once in place I don't see much holding this thing back. Time will tell, but I of the mind that we'll be pretty well off folks a few years from now.

I agree completely!!

I think 10 USD is kind of a natural place for it. BTC seems high, but regardless I bought Steem on Poloniex for a few cents and more than doubled my money before I even looked at the platform and started with steemit. I think it will catch on, it has a unique market and real value. I am glad to see it under a dollar because that means it is on sale. Buy what you believe in, the late-comers will add value, the brave will profit.

I find using my credit card to buy someone lunch is the best way to get them into crypto. Maybe I will have a great response and make big bucks on steemit, but that's not how I look at it. I think Facistbook and Zuck are real villains at this point. I do not need an Lambo, but I simply do not want to buy him one! Dorsey is okay, so I still tweet but I am hoping zappl will straighten up and fly right.

I think the second people start realizing that blockchain tech isn't a fad and start understanding why coins have value then Steem will jump. Right now anybody who hear's about Steem immediately thinks it's a scam and the first question out of their mouth is "how do they make money?" Because they have no concept of why blockchains are valuable they can't grasp why Steem has value.

That's a pretty big hurdle as well. Once it's overcome though, there's no way that people are going to continue to just give away their time and content without compensation.

upvoted +0.023 and resteemed to 360 followers

good luck pal

I agree 100% It now has a youtube and twitter killer, a job site.... It's way too good, but people are slow,. Give it time.

Good post!! I like what you are doing, with the challenge and other things.
Following you!!

Much appreciated amigo, thanks again for hosting the pickem!

@raised2b,

Thanks for yet another great post, amigo.

RE: Your Post

"Early adoption? It's not a delicious, little brown Filipina taco, but it's still a VERY beautiful thing, no!?"

Lol!

Namaste, bro.

JaiChai

It definitely is. We'll see how it all plays out, but right now it's looking like we've all been lucky enough to find the front seats to what is going to be a killer ride.

@raised2b,

I agree.

Just sittin' back and waiting for the popcorn...

Namaste,

JaiChai

Exactly! People just aren't too sure about it, but I'm talking about it and spreading the word. My family knows that right now, Steemit is my only source of "income", so they're beginning to have a whole new outlook on it. Maybe not on crypto in general, but they're definitely curious about Steemit.

Yeah, it's just one of those things, change is hard. Especially when it involves new concepts and ideas that most have never encountered before. Your situation definitely helps make it real for those around you though, which is awesome.

hell yeah, steem on! SMTs should really push steem closer to the top 20.
I am your 300th follower btw :) Congrats.

Awesome, thanks for following!

I really am surprised that Steem is so under the radar. There is so much about this platform that people are unaware of and even more game changing features coming soon. It really is one of the more exciting projects out there. It should be in the top 10.

I totally agree! I read the white paper and thats why i decided to join steemit.. it has a bright future! oh, i also sent you a bunch of resteems as a thank you for your generosity!

Thank you! Much appreciated :)

At least it will be us that have somewhat of an advantage over those that do not understand how steemit works.

Yes, but we're of course wanting everyone to discover Steem and all the amazing things it delivers.

I would like to see it move up in price more than it has but I believe in the plateform and what is stands for.

It will move up in price once the crowd discovers everything mentioned above, if they do that is. I more optimistic than pessimistic at this point though because I've already encountered so much value on the platform and as the ecosystem continues to grow, the adoption will come. I'm with you. I believe in the platform as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95