You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem is on my mind

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Enjoy your travels Rosa 🙂 something you said struck home to me.

I am a content maker first and foremost. I NEED to create content. It’s in my blood.

This resonated with me as I've made some important decisions over the last few days, arrived at from long months of contemplation. I'm not sure I will be taking a full-on break from steem, but I'm only going to be posting shorter content and keeping the networking (steem discord-ing 😉) to a bare minimum. What I've realised is that if I don't just get on with writing the first of a trilogy of fantasy novels I've had planned for years now, I will regret it. Steem takes so much time and focus. Especially being so emotionally invested, as I feel the same way as you describe with steem being the first place that I made money from my writing. But, it's time to get serious! Steem ain't paying the bills and I've only got so much energy and focus due to these health issues. I've decided that I need to give myself a real chance to succeed in my goal to become a novelist.

I've read all about the proposed economic changes (I actually wrote a post about it), and I think it's possible they could be a good thing, maybe if the curation guilds can offer competitive ROI for delegation then it could kill bidbots and return steem to a place that rewards quality, rather than simply rewarding position. I really do think steem needs to be more of a combination of the two to become a global success. The reason being that to create the virtuous cycle we need, all of that SP locked up in delegation to vote buying services needs to be put to work curating honestly. My opinion may seem somewhat extreme to sone on here, but I see the whole vote buying system as crooked... pure and simple.

Anyway, lol no more steem talk from me 😉 How are you? I hope you're well 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87