Steem Total Value Powered Up - $102 million

in #steem3 years ago

In the spirit of, You Get What You Measure, I thought I'd take an example from @justinsunsteemit's Twitter page and start recording the "total value locked" on the Steem blockchain.

So, on April 10, I scheduled a script to run daily and save the total amount of SP that's powered-up (straight from the blockchain) and - just for fun - the market prices of a handful of cryptocurrencies.

Since it's now the first of the month (UTC), I thought I'd post what I've seen so far. Here are the values at this moment:

Total value locked in powered-up STEEM (USD): $102,232,400.51

Locked value in terms of other tokens:

tokenpricelocked_value equivalent
tron0.13771,216,056
steem-dollars8.3212,287,548
bitcoin57,994.001,762
ethereum2,773.8836,855
litecoin272.78374,779
steem0.88115,693,710

And here are some charts from the daily downloads:

VESTED STEEM

I suppose people were powering down to take advantage of the peak prices when I started collecting these numbers, but that reversed almost two weeks ago.

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM in terms of USD

Also on a near-two-week uptick.

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM in terms of tron

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM in terms of Steem Dollars

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM as a percentage of Steem's market cap

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM in terms of bitcoin (BTC)

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM in terms of ethereum

(
Ethereum has been on a tear
)

image.png

Value of powered-up STEEM in terms of litecoin

image.png

Note
  • Reference prices for STEEM and other tokens are downloaded from coingecko.com
  • Steem's market cap was downloaded from coinmarketcap.com (@officialcmc)
  • Mixing and matching between those two sites is not the best way to do it, but it was the easiest for me to implement lazily. Maybe I'll fix that some time.
Sort:  

I wonder what these graphs would have looked like this time last year?

You should do this report weekly it was really interesting to read.

have a good day

Thanks for the reply!

I wonder what these graphs would have looked like this time last year?

I agree. I was wishing that someone had started publishing this sooner. It's pretty remarkable when you think that the entire market cap was around $60 million half-a-year ago.

You should do this report weekly it was really interesting to read.

I might, if I can make time for it. I've been debating myself over whether weekly or monthly would be better.

I have seen in these last 2 days that the market is on the rise after falling a lot due to the big drop in bitcoin, but what I have noticed is that the steem is not affected much by the big drop and rise in bitcoin because it always looks stable at 0.80 or 0.89 cent per coin.

Yeah, surprisingly, I don't think there's much correlation between STEEM and BTC. According to the history from coinmarketcap, they only move in the same direction (both up or both down) on about 65% of days.

Edit.. Sorry this comment put it in Spanish

I hope that the steem is again above the dollar, I recommend that you read this publication I think it would be a great idea if a payment processor was created.

STEEM PAYMENT SOLUTIONS

Interesting metrics! I found it particularly interesting that folks keep about 1/3 of their tokens as SP. I wonder what that would look like by segment (i.e. whales v. minnows, etc).

I wonder what that would look like by segment (i.e. whales v. minnows, etc).

Interesting question. Not easy to answer, though, since a lot of the ownership of liquid STEEM is hidden inside the exchanges.

I'd imagine it varies within settlements based on how aggressive one is with a growth strategy, too.

Perhaps a better question would be what percentage steemians with significant growth keep in different tokens, and how that syncs with their Steem activity.

Yeah, questions like that are hard to answer straight from the blockchain. There used to be a website that loaded the blockchain data into SQL tables so you could do any sorts of analytics. It went away last year, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89