You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The haejin effect

in #steem6 years ago

It is all well and good to try to discourage this abusive behavior. However, if the Steem rewards system incentivizes this activity and gives no option for recourse then we have 3 options:

  1. Change the reward system
  2. Flag the content
  3. Ignore it

I have chosen option 3. I cannot change the protocol myself so option 1 won't do. I have tried flagging content but I am only taking pennies off $100. Instead, I make an effort to find and follow better quality accounts so I can spent my upvotes on promoting them. I think if enough of us start supporting each other we can start to eat into the reward take of the reward abusers. We can build a bigger building without tearing theirs down but we can only do it together.

Sort:  

I think that's the right approach for a minnow. 1 is for the Witnesses and Whales, and seeing some of those have opted for option 4 (my post content), I think just carry on as you are, bringing the light to those that deserve it.

Cheers!

I like the idea of my 2 penny upvotes being considered "bringing the light". Very poetic!

The next best thing to do. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86