Some Newbie Tips for well… Newbies!

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, I had a look at the #introduceyourself tag in the hope of finding someone of great quality.

On this occasion, it did not happen, but I resteemed a couple of posts that were decent enough and then found @natedebate who just happened to comment on my last post about this topic.

title.jpg
Source

While the verdict is still out on @natedebate and if he can write, I looked at what he had done already and found a comprehensive review of a game that is in the Japenese RPG genre, something I have had an interest in the past.

image.png

It had gained 3 votes totalling $0.00, and I had a flashback to my third ever post which attained exactly the same amount of votes and reward.

image.png

While it’s over a year since I had this incredibly pissed off feeling, it made me think about the lesson I learned from it attending the STEEM equivalent of the Army’s boot camp, and why I should warn other new people of over creating before you have an audience.


-SML-divider.png

If you’re new, then nobody is looking...

You need to gain an audience before aspiring to be Shakespeare and putting out your 800-word masterpieces. Save them for later and work on building that audience.

At first, you will gain more rewards by following the right people and commenting on their posts.


-SML-divider.png

Don’t be tempted to vote others on their wallet size alone

The big lads will likely ignore you if you try and attract their attention by voting and commenting on their posts. When I say likely this is not always the case and there are exceptions to the rules.

While you may have a pitiful vote of $0.00, if you want to comment on another’s post, be considerate and give it a vote. They will notice despite its low value.


-SML-divider.png

Create original content, don’t plagiarise, and cite your images

Make sure what you write comes out of your head and not copied from the internet. You may get away with it once or twice, but there are bots such as @cheetah who will find your copied work and publicly embarrass you on your own post!

SFR.JPG

Some make rewards by flagging using incentives such as @steemflagrewards. I am one of these people and use flagging as a method to deter plagiarism and abuse. Don't give me the opportunity to make STEEM from your abuse!

If you want to use images that are not your own, ensure they are cited and that you can use them freely. Just grabbing something from google search doesn’t mean you can use it. This filter will help you find things you can use.

publicimage.JPG

In the above example I needed a title page for this article. Look at the filter I used to see how I found one. You can right click the image, save it and then get the URL for the citation.

titlecite.JPG

I'm using the dApp 'busy' to create this post so I can now use the select image option and add it to my post and the add the citation manually.

image.png

The top line (below) of code will be added automatically and the bottom line needs to be added by you.

image.png

All you need to do is type Source and add square brackets around the word. The the URL goes around the round brackets. Do it a few times and it will come naturally.


-SML-divider.png

What is flagging?

Flagging removes your potential rewards before they are delivered to you 7 days later. Your post may have a reward of $2 but this can all be removed by other Steemians if they disagree with what you are likely to gain.

It is in effect, a negative vote. The general rule is be original, cite your images and you won’t suffer from flags.

image.png

These are some flags I get on a regular basis by our old friends 'the sockpuppets', But that story is for another day.


-SML-divider.png

If you are a newbie, ensure your content is around 200-300 words in length or….

This is a loose guide and is what I did when I first started up. It seemed to work for me, so why can’t it work for you?

Mix your content with images or photographs (preferably your own). You can write those longer pieces later, save them and stash them.

So, what’s the ‘…or’ mean?


image.png

If you do write that masterpiece, there’s a chance that @curie may spot it and give you a huge vote.

@curie looks after the authors that gain little in terms of rewards and if they spot you, determine you have written something great and it is substantial you may be in for a treat. Don’t expect it to happen though.


-SML-divider.png

Engage, engage, engage..

I really can’t stress this enough, the more you do it, the more you will be seen.

Follow people and they may follow you back. Comment, comment, comment, don’t just vote.. the votes will wash over people, the comments will be seen.

If they follow you, then you will be on their feed when the look, which is frequently in most cases. If your latest content is on their feed, they may read it and give you a vote and comment back.


-SML-divider.png

Join @paulag’s Redish League’s

Paula is from the old club and passionate about growing Redfish. Her latest post can be found by clicking this link.


image.png
Source

It costs nothing to join the league and it will give you goals to attain. There are prizes to be won too but I don't know what the rules are. Follow her and go have a look!


-SML-divider.png

Buy some STEEM if you can afford too

This will greatly accelerate your STEEM career. Everything you do, every post, every comment is completely transparent to anyone who cares to look at what you are doing.

image.png
Source

This includes powering up STEEM, you will get more attention if others think you are serious about this and believe me plenty will look at your wallet to see what you are up to.


-SML-divider.png

Use the Incentives

One of the the best incentive's in terms of rewards currently is @tasteem. They reward you writing reviews on restaurants and sometimes takeaway food. You need to use post using their dApp which can be found here.


image.png
Source

When posting your review ensure you follow all the rules and create something readable and useful. If you don't follow the rules then you wont get a vote, and they will figure out very quickly if the content you post is not your own work.

image.png

You can expect a vote of possibly $2-$3 if your post simply adheres to the guidelines. Winning contests will gain you prizes in STEEM, but for now, the reward should be incentive enough.


-SML-divider.png

Write about your Passions

I write about STEEM based topics, Music, Urbex, Restaurant Reviews, Cryptocurrency, Magic the Gathering, Abuse, Travel, and aspects of my life in the format of memoirs.


image.png

Keep to what you know best, find a niche which will find an audience. Place these details on your profile so that others can see what your interests are.


-SML-divider.png

1200 - 1300 words and there's so much more that I could say. I may write a follow up to this article if anyone cares to listen or wants me to. Hopefully, some new people will read this and gain some information.

The platform is daunting to start with. The curve is steep and you can make mistakes and fuck up your account if you do the wrong things. I was fortunate and didn’t. Let me know if you want to learn more.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Great tips!! I remember starting out writing how to articles and putting a lot of time into them, only to get 5 votes and maybe 2 cents... It was frustrating. I wish someone had told me this back then, haha!

There are some things like this around if you look, or used to be at least. I remember reading some when I started.

Love the tips & thanks for the shoutout. Some valuable advice right here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was your post that looked remarkably similar to mine that struck a chord. You can see that I have been where you are now and in my case, @steevc was my rescuer.

There's shitloads to learn and I what I write only covers some of it. I may do a follow up if people want it.

It is rather important, one of the points above that if they comment on a post to vote on it. I have had so many people comment and not vote and I am not alone in just seeing it as spammy however it is intended. Good guide!

Ah yes, the comment with no vote. Its long been a big bugbear of mine. Some think that it's not relevant but it shows some decency I think.

I still get repeat commenters and they generally get ignored, some having a decent amount of SP.

I have mellowed a little on the small accounts, as they have little SP and RC's but I always notice this.

It is a huge bugbear of mine. The excuses are always terrible and usually expose the spammieness. Lol, the big SP holders are the worst when they do it right enough

The big SP holders... I get a few but not as many as I would like. I do know what you mean though and I have seen this on other's posts.

The big SP holders that visit me (and are bigger than me) are generally regulars and always vote.

The wayy it should be!!

Dyou know I've never checked to see if commenters have voted. I just generally assume they have!

Although most of my commenters are regulars. Sure it'll be more of an issue WHEN we hit mass adoption!

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to never check until back in the day when steem was mooning up to 8 dollars and I noticed it almost by accident that people were just commenting like mad to make dollars worth from comment upvotes. It was bizarre and a little insulting. Ever since I kinda check if they are unfamiliar to me and it's astonishing to find so many sometimes!

People were commenting like mad....back in the day when steem was mooning

That paints such a bleak picture of the steem network, but I guess RCs to the rescue to an extent!

I guess with your SP and rep you are still gonna pick them up now.

Funnily enough I'm getting more into commenting more than ever now, and even commenting on comments.

Cheers for the follow, they're hard to come by these days!

You are very welcome!!

It is a bit grim. Sometimes It can make you feel negative because a lot of the people who are really active here now haven't seen what happens when the price goes nuts. Essentially people go nuts too.

I love commenting, it's flipping magic. I do think the key to success is commenting so hats off to ya. Look forward to reading your shit as it were!

Great to see you following up on these posts as they are great to get to know some new users with potential. It is often hit or miss and if not careful, you can actually run into plagiarism quite often! I think the most valuable tip is definitely to acquire Steem and if that fails or not possible, engagementis key to get noticed and drive view and attention to not only posts but comments as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think the most valuable tip is definitely to acquire Steem

It is, I'll try and explain some reasons why in the follow up to this I will be doing. The comments on this post have gone a bit nuts so I know it did the job.

Thank you for this post. I have been struggling with just getting off of the ground and post anything. But that's the thing ... I don't want to post just anything.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's hard work when you start but you can see by my $0.00 post in the content example that I have been there and witnessed it all. Just don't give up and it will happen for you.

Great advice for newcomers I must resteem this for more t0 see

I must resteem this for more t0 see

Thanks @tattoodjay :)

MOst welcome ;)

I loved this post! I am all about helping the new people and I love this. @brittandjosie, @thekittygirl and I run the Steem Terminal in discord. We are there to give real-time answers to real-time questions, help teach everyone the art of Discord, and help the newbies find mentors and a community to hook onto. Do you mind if we put this in one of the rooms in the Terminal for the people to reference?

Ren

Please feel free to use it, and let me know the discord link. I plan on doing another of these which will feature discord and your room will be a great starting point.

That would be amazing! If you decide you want to talk to someone about it @thekittygirl is the main reason the Steem Terminal works so well. Her official title "Admin Goddess" and it is so true! She makes it all go so smoothly!

Excellent advice for newbies! I am going to share this post in the SteemTerminal discord, where we try to help newbies that are just starting on the Steem–Discord continuum, and help them connect with communities where they will feel at home.

You might be interested to know that there is a project called @heyhaveyamet (HHYM) which scans the #intrroduceyourself tag on a daily basis and looks for newbies with promise. By tagging the HHYM staff here, they will hopefully see your post, the newbie you mentioned, and the tips you've shared! Bravo! 🙌

You might be interested to know that there is a project called @heyhaveyamet (HHYM) which scans the #intrroduceyourself tag on a daily basis and looks for newbies with promise.

That's a great incentive, and feel free to share the post if you think others' can get something from it.

Thank you so very much. If you would ever like to come help answer questions in the Steem Terminal, you are more than welcome. Here is the link to the Discord server: https://discord.gg/XZGPGpz
Ren

Unless you have friends when you start off, most people get pittance for their first few posts and sadly many drop off afterwards, so engaging and getting involved with communities is crucial.

But even then, sometimes that's not foolproof. Having been around for year and a half, I still end up with a lot of one way communication ie engagement on other people's post, but not many incoming ones on mine. So that's another thing newbies have to bear in mind and not be put off by.

Unless you have friends when you start off, most people get pittance for their first few posts

Tell me about it, I knew NOBODY when I started and did get very little. I was fortunate to have been picked up by a dolphin very early or I would not be here now... there's no doubt about that.

Very good post @slobberchops!! You covered everything. Most posts like this barely touch on half of what you have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25