STEEM "Shilling" Contest - 150 STEEM in prizes (results)

in #steem6 years ago

Last week I announced the Steem Shilling Contest to encourage people to "shill" (promote) Steem. The main intention was to market Steem to the target audience of the cryptocurrency world/community and potential investors. The results are in :)

The prizes for the contest were:

  • First place will get 75 STEEM.
  • Second place will get 40 STEEM.
  • Third place will get 20 STEEM.
  • 15 honorable mentions will get 1 STEEM (each).

In addition to the STEEM prizes, @aggroed agreed to give resteems from @aggroed, @lovejuice, and @minnowsupport for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners. The winners can message @aggroed through PALnet Discord to claim this part of the prize.

Here are the winners:

First Place (75 STEEM)

@zoeyartanddesign created informative GIF images describing the benefits of the Steem blockchain, and posted them in several Facebook groups where cryptocurrency investors hang out:

You can read more about it here.

The reason I chose this as first place was because it was the textbook example of what I was looking for - promoting Steem to potential investors.


Second Place (40 STEEM)

@indigoocean thought of a very creative way to shill Steem - by creating a video analyzing STEEM and Ripple (XRP) in the context of the criteria that GDAX/Coinbase uses to determine whether they list a new coin.

The reason I chose this one is because I really liked how it subtly promoted STEEM in a way that created material cryptocurrency investors would be interested in viewing. After drawing them in with interesting subject matter, the video educated them on why Steem is a great project.


Third Place (20 STEEM)

@doomsdaychassis had a "Powered by Steem" design put on a race car!

The reason I chose this one was because I found it extremely cool! It is awesome to be able to say Steem is on a race car :)


Honorable mentions

I decided to award 1 STEEM to everyone that I felt contributed in a meaningful way. You can see all of the contributions in the comments section of this post.

@trumpman @howtostartablog @yesaye @tezzmax @jasonshick @ackza @setapart @danieldoughty @cryptolite @firepower @bitcoinflood @outerground @hayatullahpasee @olusegun3386 @sanjeevm @katteasis @eddy2cul @connecteconomy @edwardian @ddangerwu @leoumesh @jie28 @mountainjewel @djoi @mobbs @dunsky @admiralsp @uniqueknowledge @cortexx @normalbro @neihy05 @bait002 @datascience @oscarcc89 @laxmikadariya @jazzresin @creativesoul @brianturner @moneyinfant @wdoutjah @itsandylandman @conradsuperb @herzaseptian @insideoutlet @teamnepal @melvadg @norkamoran @abieikram @harddeynike @varunpaherwar @allseeingewe @vintageverve @varignon @mfxae86 @apolymask @thenomadictales @dilimunanzar @ecoinstant @munadikiehl @taministy @gallantmayor @richgang @tedtv @jackdogho @georgie84 @thecrytotrader @foovler @fitinfun @isteemithard @anarcho-andrei

Thank you everyone for your participation!

I want to thank everyone that participated. There were a lot of great submissions, and I think everyone did a great job promoting Steem in their own way.


Closing thoughts

I learned some things as far as what worked and what didn't. My main intention was to promote Steem to potential investors. I don't think I really hit the mark for that. There were a lot of great "shills", but the majority of the entries seemed geared towards recruiting more content producers. Not that this is bad - but it wasn't really the intent of my contest. I also think a lot of people submitted entries for things they had done in the past, even though the intent of the contest was to encourage people to do new things.

Planning "Round 2"

Based on my "lessons learned" I plan to host round 2 of the contest next week with some revised rules. Stay tuned :)

Sort:  

I love what you're doing Tim. Promoting steem is something we don't just do and then put it back on the shelf.

It has to be an ongoing thing... repetition wins the race to success.

Glad you're setting a great example. :)

I wish every whale will be like him

Well said, I agree! As a newer user I'm learning more each day and want to be able to promote Steemit more as I grow my account. Progress feels slow sometimes, yet slow and steady can be a winning pace :) My first goal is to reach 100 SP so my vote will be able to contribute more. I have my post rewards set to "power up 100%" rather than the "50/50" payout to hopefully meet that goal faster.

WOW! I love ur idea

Oh dude this is so awesome!!! Thank you!! I had fun shilling for STEEM :D I will definitely use the 75 STEEM to build up my account!

Congrats , that is an awesome project. Put us on the map!!!

Thanks!! Btw- being honest, I'm surprised your racecar didn't win. It is super awesome- you definitely went above and beyond with that one! Following you :)

i am also following you. I am just advertising , you and indegoocean might get steem on coinbase. That is HUGE.

Congrats! Thanks for contributing quality work and reinvesting in the platform! Full steem ahead!

Congratulation job well done.

WOW!!! Congrats to @zoeyartanddesign!!! That's awesome! You and the others have done a lot of great work to promote Steemit through this contest! Congrats to @indigoocean and @doomsdaychassis as well!!!

This should be an interesting study for others looking to promote to potential investors! It should also give people looking to invite other content creators some ideas as to what works and what doesn't.

Thank you so much @timcliff . While I always want the win
I can say I have no shame coming in 3rd because those 2 entries ahead of me are fantastic projects that are going to help put steem on the map. I am honored that you chose us and i will represent steem and steemit with every ounce of my being. I made a seperate post trying to express my gratitude.
https://steemit.com/steem/@doomsdaychassis/steem-sponsored-our-racecar

OMG! Wow! Thanks so much! I'm absolutely thrilled to be one of the top 3.

It was a really fun challenge and I'm so glad you did it.

Yoooo @indigocean congratulations on your win, you're doing great.

Thank you 😁

Congratulations . Coinbase is going to be amazing!!!

Congratulation @indogoocean for making it at top 3 . Happy for you. Hehe you sound surprise. You deserved it. Cheers

Thanks so much. Definitely thrilled. I've never won a Steemit contest before!

I was looking at my account and wondering where the extra steem i had in my balance came from, after scratching my head for a bit and doing a bit of digging around I found it had come from this steem shilling contest, lol. Much love plus a double arigato for the honorable mention @timcliff and many kudos to all the participants in the contest, good work guys. As i said though guys keep the shilling going and promote the Steem platform whenever and however possible, we have power as a community so lets grow that community :)

If you're after shilling for Steem, you're going to need to target content creators that aren't solely about the money. The more posts they have about cryptocurrency, the harder it will be to get them to promote Steem. You have to remember a lot of people think cryptocurrencies are ponzi schemes and it takes special wording of a network marketer to attract an investor.

You have to explicitly and implicitly inform prospects of the potential of being able to rake in more dough through the growth of the currency and how it increases in value. Basically telling them how much it is now VS how much it was last month, several months ago and how much it was worth a year ago, chart it out and show the trend, then inform them it's bound to continue in an upward trend.

It's not rocket surgery, it's just network marketing.

Keep those ideas in mind. I will be running another contest next week :)

For sake of example, I did just make a post that would show you how to do a proper investor call. It's located HERE for you to take a peak at. Take notice that I go into talking about a particular frontend, what it's based on (steemit), mention other services that use it, compare it to the social media giants, point out the social media giants are actually failing and why it's happening, then tell them out SBD a year ago vs SBD price now as well as getting them to think about it's prospect of the future if they're to invest early rather than waiting until it's already spiked high.

The article is targeted to not only attract new users (content creators) from the various social media platforms, but also targeting potential investors at the same time.

Hope this helps when trying to explain in your upcoming contest. (And no I'm not trying to do a pre-emptive entry, best example is by actual example rather than explanation).

Well done thank you so much for your kindness @timcliff. we will waiting for another amazing contest that you created. it was wonderful so many people inspired to your contest.

Oh, sorry, I don't participate in contests. I'm just here to do my own thing. You're welcome to utilize that information later or put it in your contest post about what works better though, free reign, screw it. I'm a writer and I don't even enter writing contests xD

Thanks Tim! Im still shilling/trolling btc investors in twitter, it's an ongoing process. Need John Macaffee in here or at least get his attention.

Adding Steem to Coinbase will be dope :)

Nice post;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76