Introducing: The STEEM "Shilling" Contest - 150 STEEM in prizes!!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I am running a contest to incentive us all to go out "shill" STEEM. The "formal" definition of shill can be found here (wikipedia), but for the purposes of this contest - it is basically anyone who does promoting to get out the "good word" on STEEM.

Purpose:

  • The purpose of this contest is to try and get all of us to promote STEEM.
  • We want to tell people why STEEM (the currency) and Steem (the blockchain) are awesome.
  • The target audience is the cryptocurrency world/community and potential investors.
  • The contest preference is to promote shilling of the blockchain and currency over the blogging platform (although promoting the blogging platform is still allowed).

Contest Rules:

  • You must be level 40 reputation or above to participate.
  • In the comments below, make your "proposal" for how you plan to shill STEEM.
  • After you have completed your shilling task, report back with some sort of proof/results.
  • I will review all of the results and pick the "winners".
  • The winners will be selected based on my subjective feedback of what I think is "best", although I will take upvotes and comments from other community members into consideration.
  • Proposals can be made up until the time of the post closing.
  • Proof/results can be submitted for an additional 24 hours after the post closing.
  • The winners will be declared and paid within 48 hours of this post closing.
  • Whatever shilling you do must be honest/truthful.

Prizes:

  • First place will get 75 STEEM.
  • Second place will get 40 STEEM.
  • Third place will get 20 STEEM.
  • 15 honorable mentions will get 1 STEEM (each).

Here are some resources to use for your shilling:

  • Steem Bluepaper: https://steem.io/steem-bluepaper.pdf.
  • Steem has paid out over $20,000,000 in rewards to users since June 2016.
  • Daily transactions and blockchain utilization statistics: https://www.blocktivity.info/
  • Steem has zero transaction fees.
  • Steem transactions confirm in three seconds.
  • Steem is an open source blockchain protocol that any developer can leverage to build social applications that reward users in cryptocurrency.
  • Steem content is stored in the immutable ledger of the blockchain.
  • Be creative, these are just suggestions.

Happy Shilling Everyone!!

Sort:  

Ok, this is my shilling proposal 😉. I plan on joining several cryptocurrency/bitcoin groups on Facebook, to be able to connect with several thousands of people who are already investing in cryptocurrencies. People who are aware of the cryptocurrency world, but might not be aware of steemit. I plan on putting my graphic design skills to good use, to either make a catchy photo ad or GIF, share it throughout those groups, along with some basic info about steemit, hopefully intriguing them into taking a look at it for themselves!

I plan on doing it in a way that's informative and engaging, rather than in a way that is trolling. They won't even know they are being shilled!

My FB name is different from my name on here for privacy reasons (because we all know how secure Facebook is).. but my profile pic is the same. You will be able to tell it's me through my screenshots because of the time/date.

This is exciting!

Alrighty-- here is my RESULTS post! I plan on updating it again before the contest deadline with further results, but this is the post it is all in!

Ok my post is updated now, my shilling for this contest is complete :)

giphy (2).gif

This is the GIF I made. Will report back with results :)

And this one... yep, I'm going to have fun with this :D
giphy (1).gif

Awesome! Thanks!!

I'll jump in with what I'm up to, but I don't want a prize, am not really even actually making a valid entry, and I'm in no position to jump on your bandwagon and get in your spotlight, which would only be mostly for my own benefit anyway, with more prizes as some others have done...

But I am going on a world circumnavigation and flying out this Saturday, to five European, Middle Eastern and Asian countries as well as a couple of stops back here in the states, and I'll be constantly in my new steem t-shirts I made and will be wearing, with logo, the url of steemit.com and my screenname on the front and back (chest small, back large) as I travel through a dozen airports and cross around the entire planet in a full circle easternly circumnavigation for 17 days.

I have previously posted and reiterate here, if ANY of you sees me wearing this shirt and greets me, mentioning your @ username to me will win you 5 SBD on the spot - or soon after, depending on cell/wi-fi to get on and make the transfer wherever we meet.

During that time I will be doing @YouAreHOPE Foundation mission work on the streets of Amsterdamn, Abu Dabhi, Kolkata, Hong Kong and Macau as opportunities arise, and I've cashed out a modest amount of donations from YouAreHOPE Foundation funds (about $80 USD) to provide food, or proper climate attire, such as shoes or a jacket, or so on, to various people I encounter who seem to be in dire need. Think homeless and a meal for them and so forth, seeking out places that serve the disadvantaged along the way like orphanages or charitable efforts in the various cities I visit and offering a small donation or purchasing some small items they may need like say, toothbrushes.

I'll be meeting with existing steemitizens during this trip in several of the countries and will ask them for local opportunities to do some good as well.

So my best hope for an investor shill is sitting next to a Richard Branson or an Elon Musk on one of my flights... but I'll be talking to those folks too, if they care to engage on the t-shirt or whatever post I'm composing on my laptop on the plane between locations.

Yeah, I don't know if there will be investor shill opps, but I expect to spend a lot of time talking to strangers and my t-shirts and my passion will pretty much lead to talking about steem with them all anyway.

It always does.

I really enjoy your mission. I haven't accumulated enough momentum quite yet, but I could see myself marketing in the way you are, but most importantly giving back. I have dreamed about giving power to the people of this world, educating accurate information, feeding children, fixing homes, and you're out there doing it man! I'm proud of you.

Keep Steeming you Hooligan, and don't lose that heart of yours.

Thanks!

Come visit us in the @YouAreHOPE Foundation discord - YAH is the worlds first Steem exclusive, Block chain transparent, community love and generosity fueled worldwide humanitarian aid foundation. We have done work in more than half a dozen countries already since I founded it in October 2017 here, touching hundreds and hundreds of lives in dozens of ways, in impoverished or destitute situations in economically distressed or natural/weather created emergency situations.

https://discord.gg/zkTeKeS

YOU can make a difference! It would shock you what we have accomplished with the power of the beautiful hearts here among us!

You Are HOPE!

Excited for the invite bud! Can't wait to interact with you.

Welcome to the family :)

I like with purpose from your Foundation. Be success

Great stuff, we will be at different airports at different time but I like your style. I will also be repping steem gear. Looking forward to promoting the awesomeness of Steem

May the four winds blow you safely home again my friend.

You too buddy

Hi @sircork i like your style! following you around the World 😊

Thanks, i hope to be able to post daily about the madcap adventures of Cork on the road!

I hope so too 😊 bon voyage

Hey Tim

My proposal is simple and I have already put my plan into action. I will just make sure to bump the steem ANN thread over bitcointalk daily with positive steemit news or answering FUD. Plenty of crypto-investors and people interested in cryptos there!

I explain everything in my latest post at https://steemit.com/steem/@trumpman/the-steemit-ann-is-too-neglected-i-gave-it-some-love-let-s-all-do-the-same

Here are my two first messages on the ann if you don't want to check my thread, I think they are right on the spot :D

Hopefully more will follow my example and the ann will become lively again :D

Loading...

Hey @timcliff, how are you?
This is kind of a late entry, but it's a shilling of Steemit nonetheless! ;)
I noticed that you mentioned giving investors more priority was the main motive behind this contest, so that's exactly what I did!

In one of my blogs on another website, where my previous post gained 2900 (and counting) views and 8+ comments, I created a post that explained how people could earn easily from home with Steemit and also how Steem was an excellent crypto-currency for investors to invest in.
The post talked about:

  • Decentralization
  • Bitcoin
  • Fake news surrounding crypto-currency
  • Steem, Steem Power and Steem Dollars
  • Various media that Steem blockchain accepts
  • Advice to not plagiarize, instead to post quality, original content

...and a lot more!
I hope you'll like my post and efforts. :)
Thank you!

Link to the "shilling" - http://tz.ucweb.com/2_4SLz0

Hello @timcliff,
Firstly, I would love to say very big thank you to you for this great opportunity you've given us to utilize well. Am an African, for many years now that I have grown up to know life, life has never been good enough in Africa, there are many yet to be considered but, what we have all day here is "corruption". Many Africans out there are really suffering, due to this my boss here on steemit @destinysaid, who is also an African and knows what problem we are facing. In other to make Africa a better place and to promote steemit, We created the community @Africaunchained! and with the support of @donkeypong and some great Africans, the community has been doing great and we still hope to get some great support from other whales like you @timcliff. The aim of the @africaunchained community is to make "STEEMIT" the office of many African. You can imagine a Phd holder still roaming about on the street seeking for jobs and yet our government is never doing something great about it. I personally, have been working on steemit for the past 6 months now and I have been able to finance myself into the university, getting into the university in my country, is like winning a world cup but nevertheless, I would try my possible best to make the best out of it by working towards the best grad. Not with that alone. I have also introduced some new friends from the university to steemit to make sure at the end of the day, Steem skyrocket and they also get to be financially buoyant. Below are few of the great steps taken by myself and my community @africaunchained.

20180216_134823_HDR.jpg

These are the first five people I got introduced to steemit last week during our matriculation ceremony.

IMG-20180217-WA0064 (1).jpg

This is my boss @destinysaid giving a speech about steemit somewhere in Abuja in Nigeria, Africa.

IMG-20171114-WA0008.jpg

Above is the painting I made, dedicating it to my community @aficaunchained.

IMG-20180215-WA0002.jpg

Above is the graphics badge made by my boss @destinysaid, which he dedicated to the @africaunchained community.

IMG-20180220-WA0002.jpg

Above is a friend of mine @kerry234, we are both working on promoting steemit and we developed the idea of making a shirt for steemit and our community @africaunchained.

After a month in the unversity, I had decided to create a group among my new friends in school and create the awareness and make them know what steemit is capable of, and what cryptocurrency as a whole is capable of. To make all this work fine and perfect, I had schedule some time after school lectures to teach and promote steemit on campus.

IMG-20180216-WA0055.jpg

Above is the graphics badge I made for my steemit promotion on campus.

As you can see on the badge, I wrote steemit in unilag, I did that because the name of my school is "University of Lagos" and many people know it and call it "unilag" as the short form. Once again, I would love to say thank you to @timcliff for giving me this great opportunity here today and am also using this opportunity to let you know that we really need someone like you in @afriaunchined community to make live easy for Africans on steemit. Please reply this comment and make us know if we can have you as a pillar to rest on in our community. Thanks and have a nice day.

Please reply this comment and make us know if we can have you as a pillar to rest on in our community

I’m not sure what you are asking for. What role would I be playing? What would it entail?

I requested on behalf of my community @africaunchained to have you as a pillar in our community, am simply talking about having you as a godfather in our community and a whale who knows best than we do, you can always help us with anything you think you can and I promise you that we will forever be grateful. Thank you.

@timcliff, @tezzmax has said it all on behalf of us @africaunchained community and our leader @destinysaid.

If you don't mind sir, here is our discord channel https://discord.gg/37fBb8, newly created and we would love to have you there with us sir. Thank you very much for your time and your act of selflessness.

@tezzmax has said it all, please the @africaunchained commuunity would be complete if we can get a very good backing up from you sir @timcliff

Yes sir @timcliff . Our community @africaunchained is not just a community but a family who need much support and any would be highly appreciated.

I'm not a whale, and I haven't yet been on steemit for that long, but I do think it's awesome you are using steemit to improve your community. I think that is a fantastic way to use the platform, which has lots of potential. :)

First off I want to thank you @timcliff for this incentive. I'm in full support of promoting steemit and I currently carried out a promotion myself on the Utopian. io platform.
I carried out my promotion on Facebook where I created named Utopian-io promotion page. I intended to kill two birds with one stone (promote both platforms) because any user who intends to join Utopian must also be a registered member of the steemit community. I created a paid ad in which I promoted the platform and directed the users to the link.
DQmSb9BGWPfsp6gekGaUvRC4W7UmEGswFhJygquoAxpk7RW.jpeg

So I got to reach 5242 people with my budget and the post engagement was pretty good.
So I can say I successfully Shilled steem.☺
Here's the link https://web.facebook.com/Utopianio-Africa-Promotion-Page-579411845737694/

I have shilled your post with a resteem.

For the top three winners of this post I'll hit them with resteems from @aggroed, @lovejuice, and @minnowsupport if they direct message me a post about what they did to win delivered through PALnet Discord. Between those 3 accounts there's 30k followers so your shilling will earn some great visibility.

What a great idea! And yes, it is important to put some extra attention on STEEM, not just Steemit. We need to see STEEM appreciate for the platform to increasingly be attractive to new people. And popularity of the platform also grows demand for the coin. One grows the other.

And that's the main idea behind my shilling of STEEM. I have a couple of FB groups and a monthly mastermind community and have plans to promote Steemit to one of the groups and STEEM to the other group and mastermind next week, but ultimately I'm always promoting both.

To one group next Tues. night I'm doing a FB Live on Steemit blogging, and as part of that I'll explain how buying some STEEM will help them get faster traction on the platform by allowing them to power up. (I can share a clip from that.) On Monday I have a mastermind gathering where I'll be talking about STEEM coin (not recorded though, as part of my agreement with that group). Next week I'll also be sharing about STEEM with my small crypto group as a coin with a good values-based investing profile (it does good for the world as well as being profitable for investors). I can share a screenshot of that post.

Will getting these "proof of shilling" items by next Wed. 2/28 be soon enough for the contest entry?

Here is entry one, a video that I think will really start helping people see not only the value of STEEM but also the value of Steemit, and something of the upside potential of both, but in a way that isn't "on the nose" since the video is about a broader topic. I introduce the Coinbase/GDAX framework for choosing coins for the exchange, and compare STEEM to XRP as examples as I go.

Next week I have a training on Steemit I'm doing and likely also a post for a different community of mine. I should post it here like this, or someplace else?

You nailed it! Great job :) I would love to see more videos like this.

Okay, here is my final component of my entry. I did online presentations on STEEM or Steemit over the last couple days, with the final one last night. As mentioned previously, my agreement with the conscious crypto mastermind folks is that those aren't recorded, so can't share a clip from it. But I did excerpt about 3 mins. from last night's Steemit intro in which I discuss the importance of investing STEEM in the platform or even buying it as simply a solid coin investment. You can see it here:

vimeo.com/257830953

I also plan at some point to do a review video on my YT channel on STEEM, but for a while I'm going to take a break from the subject and get back to blogging about spirit in nature and stories related to those topics.

Thanks for the inspiration.

Here's my latest entry in this series, an article for newbies (which I originally wrote as a guide for my folks in my training tonight) that includes the importance of investing in STEEM to increase success here on.

I'll have the final entry for you tomorrow after I have a chance to edit down the 1 hour training I'm doing tonight. (I presume you'd rather just get a clip of the portion where I go over STEEM, not the entire training!)

Thanks for doing this. You've really stimulated my creative juices. Fun.

Awesome. I'll come back to share those then. Thanks again for doing this.

Yes Tim! This is awesome. I have been thinking about how to bring more publicity to steem and doing more to get new users. I am actually in the middle of my shill currently.

What I have decided to do is get 1000 business cards and 1000 steemit stickers made. I have started handing out the business cards and putting up stickers randomly in public places. But wait there’s more.

The main purpose for the timing is I am currently in South Korea at the Winter Olympics and I have been handing out these cards and stickers to people I have met from all over the world. Since there are many many nations currently at the olympics, there is no better time than now to promote the platform. To add a little spice to it I have created a big cardboard banner for steem that I bring with me to sporting events, I cheer at the top of my lungs for my native country of Canada, trying to get on national tv, all while holding up my steem sign. There are so many different countries at the olympics and so many possible viewers on tv, so the timing is perfect. 4216B3A3-8454-4AFB-AD1A-10B0412B0D77.jpeg
The first photo is of the stickers that I have been putting everywhere and the second picture is of the business cards. I added a little Korean flair on the backside of the card. 가즈아 means let’s go, the popular phrase in the Korean crypto community.
239B4C2A-02D7-4873-9FC7-2E48671C318C.jpeg

Did you know reddit only ever paid $500 for marketing? It was spent on Stickers

This is more powerful than we realize

Also check my contributions out :D

I post these images on my Instagram to show people Steem is REAL, to entice them with Cash since there are SO many other Instagram users that use CASH on camera to get people to signup for bullshit, well I'm using that strategy to get people t signup for something REAL

And my instagram is at http://instagram.com/ackza770 you can check for yourself, I ONLY use it to promote Steem and EOS now!

For it is only wit evidence of cold hard cash that most people will ever truly believe we are making real money :D

Im loving that black sportscar in the colage @aczka!

Thats awesome. I was thinking the same. These stickers, even if they dont have an immediate effect, they will grab the attention of people passing by. Just like mcdonalds, and starbucks, those logos are known by billions, we have to start somewhere. will check you out on instagram

I don't know if the word "shill" is derogatory, but I have usually heard it used that way.
Have to say @ackza already won this a long time ago ;-)
The ultimate Steemit shill... I'm not worthy, and I only have half the ideas he has.

What an amazing and positive way to tell the World about steemit @jasonshick
Wishing you infinite abundant blessings on your quest 😊

Thank you. If we all do our part to promote the coin and the blockchain we will all succeed.

as of now, im new to this platform and my knowledge is still limited about the community what im doing is to choose from my friends randomly to join in steemit,, the reason why is that i choose the closer one, (in terms of place) so that i can explain to them at the same time let them see how it works so that they could fully understand what im talking,,, but your idea is fabulous i know it will spread out easily and rapidly through out your place,,

Welcome aboard, the more the merrier. If you are new and still looking to find some awesome people to connect with and learn more about the platform, click the 3 bars at the top right of the page and then use those three links; Welcome, FAQ, Explore. Too many people rush in writing as many posts as they can in hopes of making money quickly, but that rarely works. Instead, learn more about the platform, read some other peoples content, comment, upvote it and get more familiar with everything. In the long run, you will be much better off.

thank you @jaysonshick,,, those people you mention taking shortcuts, im one of them, for i wasnt informed wel,, but since you taught me im bless and will do the things you've said,,,, thanks a lot

Yes your right, once enough people realise the power of steem through promotion eventualy conciousness will raise to a level that the hundred monkey effect will kick in. Steem on upwards into infinity.

Nice idea,.... but..... but.....
You must be a very brave man! (congratz with that), to do such thing in Korea (no matter it's South or North), last time American guy took down the propaganda advert from the hotel wall, he went to prison for many many years. Because he violated the local laws. And then in UK (where I live) quite few TV channels announced to holidaymakers: "before you go to visit any country in the world, make sure you check traditions / ethics / some laws", because they might be different than the home country's are.
Just wanted to give you a little hint dude.

(google: Otto Warmbier, for the full story about this student)

Thank you for the heads up, I appreciate your concern... BUT North Korea and South Korea are not the same place and laws are vastly different. South Korea (where the Olympics are) is a democratic country and is currently hosting over 100 nations as athletes from around the world are competing in different sporting events.

If I were to get arrested for promoting steem, perhaps with all the publicity that the platform and the coin receive, people will through together a fundraiser to help bail me out of prison. Jokes asides, I will try to abide by local laws

I mean if you did get arrested, then South Korea really doesn’t like Steem 😂.

South Korea shows on Google Trends as one of the most popular for steem! :D

Link: https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?q=steemit

The market in South Korea is huge. With promoting at the Olympics, I can get the Korean market and the global market. 2 birds, 1 stone

Remember, government and it's citizens don't always agree. I think South Korean people love steem and the potential of the blockchain

I meant that as a joke 😐.

You should get some stickers that say "존버를 반드시 승리합니다."

you are more than welcome to help the cause through donations and/or participation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11