Introducing Steem Menu: a Browser Extension tool for SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  
  • Good article with code samples and explanation of coding choices. Do submit articles within 2 weeks of merging the code.
  • I would suggest you include images of the front end results in your posts, like this one for example on the store:
  • Please include PR links or the commit list for review.
  • Also include the github link to the repo: https://github.com/torreyblog/steem-start-menu
  • There are no comments in the code.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @helo! Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @niallon11.

Congratulations @torrey.blog! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @torrey.blog!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @torrey.blog!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

That's so awesome! I'm going to try it! Thanks so much.

Thanks for the feedback. It is really just a start. I did this with the intention of learning something new. If it’s useful, I think it can become even more useful.

Really awesome! I'll have to give it a try! Would be better than my random folder in my bookmarks bar for Steem dApps! xD

Hey, on a different note, is SteemRSS still supported? It still seems to work, but I haven't seen any activity from the other developers in months or longer. I love the idea and I was considering using it as an EXTREMELY easy way to show Steem content on other sites, potentially as a way of implementing a manual version of SteemPress on non-Wordpress sites. What help me back what that I wanted to make sure the service wasn't going to go away due to lack of development activity. Hence why I'm asking you! :)
Do you know if the code has been released anywhere for forking and future development?

SteemRSS is alive and kickin. It handles thousands of requests per day! I am checking on it once in a while. The code was forked to https://github.com/steemrss/steemRSS

Let me know if you have any problems!

STEEM Menu is a Proof if concept, really. I think it has room to grow.

Fantastic! :D

Now that I know it's not been forgotten, I definitely feel comfortable about making a Steem plugin for websites using it! Initially, it would only be one sided since it would just be a one-way feed. Though, in theory, commenting and voting could be added via something like Steemkeys. Anyways, that's a ways down the road, first I gotta make the plugin first! :)

For SteemMenu, I think it's a fantastic idea! To have easy access to a listing of Steem dApps without having to go to a third-party site, where either the layout is poor or it includes a lot of non-Steem dApps, is a very convenient feature. I might suggest that, if you don't already have it, you allow people to manually add their own Steem dApps to the plugin locally. That way, you don't have to worry about being flooded with PR's for adding new dApps!

That’s a great suggestion! Please create an issue on GitHub for it, in case I forget.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Certainly! I will do that! :)

Also, I am almost done with the base part of the "SteemFeed" plugin! It will utilize the SteemRSS feed to generate a feed for a user's Steem posts. And best of all, I have reduced it to a single tag to use it! :)

<script src="SteemFeed.js" data-steem-author="southernwolf" id="SteemFeedLoader"></script>

That's all that is required to import a user's Steem posts into a normal website! It creates the HTML needed to pull the user's post and the data tag allows for easy author choosing!

One issue I have sorta run across is that, when pulling a feed based on a user's blogs, it pulls both their own posts and what they resteemed. This is an issue cause the 10 post limit of the RSS tool means that, in my case, I only have 2 actual posts to show. Would there be anyway to have the RSS feed just pull the 10 last posts created by a user, excluding resteems? Or is that kinda out of the scope for the current version of SteemRSS?

Awesome that was fast!!

I’ll look into filtering resteems this weekend.

Where does the 10 post limit come from? Is that a limitation of SteemRSS or something else?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed! The JS code is < 50 lines in length. When I get the kinks worked out, I'll upload the first initial version to Github! :)

For me, when I pulled my blogs, it would only pull 10. This would be ok, and normally quite manageable. However, with it including resteems, it means it pulls a very limited number of posts I made myself, currently 2. If there was a way to increase this limit, then that would be extra great, though I don't wanna put too much of a strain on your servers. I think filtering resteems would be a much better option for solving this issue. Or hey... why not both! :D

Why not both! Looked into this briefly, I can add a flag to override the default number of items.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @torrey.blog! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78