What's the best way to create a Poll on the STEEM Network...?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, everyone!

Introduction: What do I need a Poll for...?


2 Days ago I've started an initiative to support undervalued artistic works on this platform. The post is here: Art Curation Initiative #1 - Help Me Select 3 Artists to Reward With SBI Shares

My initial idea was to feature a few artists and use the earnings of the post to buy SBI shares for them. I had to be realistic and assume I'd get enough for 3 shares... but there were more than 10 works I pre-selected to include in my post. Then I've narrowed it down to 8 choices.

Obviously I couldn't guarantee that all 8 would earn a SBI share, so I've decided to create a Poll to reward 3 of them, based on the choices of the community.


The Problem


This is where I stumbled. How could I create a Poll in the STEEM Network, without using an external website?

ConfusedGirl.gif
Image Source

For the kind of Poll I wish to create, I only see two options and here are my thoughts about them:

1) Make several comments on my post with the names of the artists and ask people to upvote those comments;

  • Pros
    -- Easier to validate the results;
    -- The comment section will not turn into a mess of comments;
    -- Artists won't be bothered with a notification every time someone votes for them;

  • Cons
    -- Users need to waste a bit of their Voting Power to cast their votes;
    -- Most users with low SP don't know how to cast a vote using only 1% of their Voting Power;
    -- Users with very little Resource Credits aren't able to vote 4 times in a row;

2) Ask people to post a comment with the names of their favourite artists;

  • Pros
    -- Users can cast votes without losing any of their Voting Power;
    -- More users with low SP and low RC will be able to participate;

  • Cons
    -- Validating the results will take more time and effort;
    -- The comment section will become a terrible spaghetti accident;
    -- Artists will be bothered with a notification every time someone votes for them;


Waiting for a Solution


I know about DPoll but it doesn't allow for multiple choices.

I'd really like to have a simple way of creating a Poll directly in the STEEM Network.

This could be easily achieved. Instead of merely having the options of Voting or Flagging, posts could be created with more Upvoting Options and users would simply upvote the posts using the right option (or multiple options.)

Of course this could create the possibility of not so honest people upvoting their own posts multiple times, thus leeching the Reward Pool even more... so that's easier said than done.

Waiting.gif
Image Source

Well, I'll leave that for the STEEM Developers to figure out. Meanwhile...

For my first post, I went with the first option:
image.png

I'm conflicted. I really like this option... but I hate to see that newbies are wasting full votes to make their choices:

image.png


Let Me Hear Your Opinions


  • Which option should I use for this initiative, which I intend to run weekly...? And why?

@trincowski signing out.

Sort:  

Hmm interestnig, I kinda thought there's already some UI/platform for this which is somehow connected to Steem. Well as you're saying, voting for comments option has the big con of "wasting" voting power and minnows can't set vote to partial in native Steemit UI.

Soo IMO you should deffo go with the second option. You could set the rules strict that only comments in specific format are going to be accepted. And write some tiny script which will do the calculations for you. You're dev urself soo it shouldnt be a problem. Just a script which checks your posts with specific name (u say u want to do it weekly so I guess name would follow some pattern) and parses comments and counts the votes. Should be pretty straightforward task with steem-python. And yeah, people will get notifications, but they're the "positive" notifs soo I guess they'll get over it :D

Just my opinion tho :)

Yes, there's https://dpoll.xyz but it only allows for a single choice. That's a problem.

Thanks for your comment, I'm starting to feel the same. Asking for upvotes, even at 1%, is not good for the newbies.

I am a developer, yes, but I never tried python... and unfortunately, the PC I have at home is not practical for programming. I'm using it as a Multimedia Station for my TV.

Hmmm so you have to stay couple of hours after work and do it in the office :D it's interesting how older devs (I mean...35+ or so) don't find python interesting. My uncle is a C++ guy and he totally dismisses python haaha :D I guess u r also 35+ or? My whole thesis is in Python :)

I don't know if it's interesting or not. I never tried it. You got it right, I am older than that.

Probably a long way around the problem, but maybe ask some of the tech types? Seems like the platform is loaded with people who have the skills. They probably just have not thought of it yet or maybe it already exist?
I would say if you plan on a long term project ask around some more.
I guess that is not much help lol.
I do love your dedication to the artist community. Hope you find just the right thing.
Edit to add
I bet @danielsaori could point you in the right direction. He is always cooking up useful things. I am sure he is well informed on what is available. He can probably advise on the feasibility of getting someone to make something that will work if nothing exist already.

Thanks for your reply. The closest thing I see is https://dpoll.xyz. Now, if it only allowed for multiple choices...

@trincowski - Maybe some free poll creator... with html code.🤔

A free Poll Code from pollcode.com

That's a very interesting suggestion. I had never heard of that site... but how to integrate it with a Steem post? It doesn't seem to be possible. Thanks for your reply, nevertheless.

@trincowski Thank you for sharig this valuable information. sharing your thoughts and commenting can help. :)
@sbanerjee0017 (Shyamal Banerjee[Age:62] Kolkata,INDIA)✍

Thanks a lot for your visit, @sbanerjee0017! :-)

@trincowski has set 1.250 SBD bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 132 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Logical thought @trincowski...
It will be so effective to create a poll on steemit

Hi @trincowski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.243 which ranks you at #8298 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 66 places in the last three days (old rank 8364).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #96.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94