You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does anyone use the Steem blockchain?

in #steem5 years ago

Well it doesn't matter if its 12k, 24k or 48k individual accounts on Steemit, it wouldn't maje a different if it were 120k daily individuals.... It's just not enough users. For steem to be anywhere as effective as it should there, there needs to be 1 million daily individual users. If Facebook can do billions, then steemit should be able to do millions with the rite marketing campaign, but all I see is the flagship account (@ned) powering down and jumping ship like the rest of tge rats. I honestly, really hope things swing 180° in 2019,its tge only way to save steemit and steem.

Sort:  

I hear you and agree: We need a million active users, daily.

A lot of the "old money" on Steem is definitely taking profits, but I sympathize, afterall they probably had been accumulating Steem aroun 0.10 USD, and now they starting to doubt, wondering whether their profits are going to disappear completely.

Not to say Im happy about their selling. Just that I understand the desire to retain profits where possible.

For me though, Im in this until 1 of 2 things occur:

  1. Steem moons, at which point I would take some profits,
  2. Steem dies, literally completely stops working, and I can no longer post.

Facebook's centrality makes it a hard comparison, too few people understand private keys, and blockchain still for Steem, or EOS, or even BTC to be widely accepted. While that is true, we have to measure steem's success in more modest terms.

What would success on Steem mean in 2019?

  • 2 million accounts? Is that too big? I dont know.
  • 2 million weekly transactions?
  • SMTs actually come full force into the space.
  • An exchange for SMTs to Steem is created.
  • SBD returns to roughly $1.00
  • Steem price returns to approximately $2.00

I would consider that a HUGELY successful year. Here's to hoping.

Thanks for the post @Welshstacker!

A success for steem in 2019 would be simply to survive!!

SBD is now a totally pointless coin (in my opinion). The last "hair cut" meant it was no longer a stable coin and no longer fit for purpose. Why people are still HODLing it is beyond me.

If steem makes $1 and holds firm for 4 months I'll call that a success.

Just like you, only 2 things will happen for me to powerdown /leave. Either it's goes triple digits and I'll start taking some $ off the table or it dies, shuts down, goes offline, no longer exists and I'll have no choice but to walk away.

Love your committment, and I understand your frustrations.

At least we can look around us and see a lot of other dumper fires, and take satisfaction in that...

  • Facebook has been receiving, and their stock is plummeting.
  • Patreon, Gab, and Youtube are all restricting free speech, and cutting certain people's income because "they" don't like what the user has said.

Censorship and government interference might end up being the trigger for the next crypto bull run.

"Permissionless" and "immutable" might end up being the most pivotal function of blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87