You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Annoying quotes or cliches)

in #steembasicincome6 years ago

This one's easy. "Everything will be alright"--when thrown out as a general reassurance, with no supporting information. There are situations when the speaker actually does know everything will be fine (a surgeon after an operation? an accountant studying your balance sheet?), but as a general statement, it's idiotic. Well, you can see this one really does annoy me.
Provocative contest, for me, anyway :)

Sort:  

You mean we hope the surgeon and accountant say it with knowledge!

Yes, it is a bit of a meaningless reassurance. I don't say it myself, but I can see that people grab it when at a loss for words. Me, I tend to say nothing when lost for words...

On the other hand, some people prefer to hear this, others prefer to hear about possibilities of good and bad. I'm starting to get the picture that various quotes or clichés have an original good purpose, but when said in an empty way or just to fill space they take a meaningless character.

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82