You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Next book to movie question, last week's winners, and more SBI shares!

[Sorry in advance for the long post 😅]
As someone who's seen and read ALL four books and five movies of Twilight, I honestly can't think of any worse movie or book.
And why I read/saw all of them? The only answer I have is my stubbornness to try and finish the series. I think my dumb inner 11-year-old self (who initially thought Twilight was excitingly dramatic and romantic) was hoping to find validation that at some point there would be something redeemable in them, once I realized that the writing was never good to begin with.

Since you and others (rightfully) chose Twilight, too, I'll just share a few thoughts:
-Stephanie Meyer's inability to write (seemingly anything) well. When I went back years later to try and reread Twilight (book 1, as I wanted to know why preteen me liked it so much), I thought 'how bad could it really be?' But it's BAD. I think I read the word 'velvety' maybe five times on one page when describing Edward's voice. Add to the lack of a vocabulary the completely one-note characters, the books just don't seem to go anywhere. I mean things happen, sure, but it's always bland characters saving an even blander 'protagonist'. Speaking of...

-Bella is just a reader/viewer vehicle. The character herself could have a lot of personality and trauma to go on: her parents' divorce, the threat of vampires, having to move across the country to her estranged father so her mom could go touring with her step-dad breath and more. But no, instead she has no original thoughts, is immediately welcomed and adored by all the kids at her new school, and then ditches them to be indecisive about two guys. And when those guys tried to leave? She does everything she can (including trying to kill herself) to get them back.
The movies could have taken the basic idea and made an epic heroine, but instead they just put her on screen as yet another terrible 'role model'. 😩

-Lastly, (and here's what genuinely made me mad while watching), the ONE TIME the movies made a change from the books it was glorious, but then they didn't commit. The last book revolved around the preparation for an epic battle. We're talking all the vampire and werewolf clans of the world coming together to defeat the evil vampire leaders. And it never happens. They all face off on a field, and right when something is set to actually happen, a psychic runs out and says there's no real reason to fight, and the evil guys go home. End of story.

In the movie, I'm expecting the same thing to happen. But all of a sudden one of the good guys gets ripped apart. The only epic scene in the series ensues, where you genuinely don't know what will happen. It was actually pretty cool and for the first time I was excited while watching. But then an awkward cut happens that reveals, 'Nope, this was all the psychic's vision of what a fight would look like.' It ends just as anticlimactically as the book, and I somehow hate it more for showing that they COULD have done something cool, but no, that would mean actually doing something interesting. 😤

...Anyways, apparently I have a lot of pent-up emotions about this series. Point is it's all bad. Sometimes hilariously bad, but still bad. I heard that Stephanie Meyer spent 10 years trying to find a publisher for Twilight. While I admire her perseverance, I wish she had used that time to do some rewrites and make it better. The screenwriters could have reinvented it into a cool series, but instead stuck like glue to something only a naive 11-year-old could love.

Sort:  

I think you're right on every point! And proves 11 year olds should never be allowed to vote - or date. 😜

I especially agree she should have done some re-writes during those 10 years. Someone said books aren't written they're re-written. What that King or Bradbury? someone incredibly successful I think.

Thanks for taking the time to make such a detailed entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85