Introducing the first ever public steem testnet!

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemians! Today very I'm excited to announce STX, an alternative Steem blockchain with a modest pre-mine of 1,000,000,000 STEEM.

Features:

  • 1,000,000,000 STEEM pre-mined and controlled by yours truly.
  • Anyone can create a new account funded with 100 STEEM via a simple POST request. No verification required!
  • Ephemeral blockchain! No more high memory requirements to run a full node, all data is wiped every month (or so).
  • Never misses a block! With only one witness it has blazingly fast transaction times.

Join the revolution today! – testnet.steem.vc

testnet.png


Edit: Just to clarify, this is a tongue-in-cheek introduction of a developer tool, It's not a real steem blockchain! Its intended to be used for automated testing of apps and libraries.

Sort:  

The dev community needs this so much, excellent job.

I'd love to see this taken to the next step as well - let's get a couple people running testnet servers and APIs, set them up as witnesses, and actually use it for development on projects. It would take a bit more coordination, maybe a reset every X months instead of 1, but not too much of a hassle.

I would hook up a copy of steemdb as an explorer and plug my development version of chainBB into it. Would prevent me from having to spam the steem blockchain wth test data!

Thanks! That sounds great, let's do it! :)

Do you happen to have your modified testnet source up on github anywhere?

No, I can put it up tonight. But the patch is here in the comments if you scroll down a bit.

yeah, I've been also looking for a steem testnet as well. can't believe no one's put one up yet after all this time - I sort of just figured I wasn't looking in the right place! lol

kudos to you for taking the initiative on it!

ps. also really like your giant door-knocker! lol

Hehe thanks! Sorry I wasn't there to open, you should check back another time ;)

Very nice indeed! I assumed there already was a testnet, but i guess not haha. Maybe this will motivate me more to actually start developing something. Always have lots of ideas floating around in my head.

It's been a week, is it ready yet? :D

Have been considering some Steem app development and was totally thinking what a shame it would be to put test data in the live blockchain

I guess you need to configure everything in a slightly different way than mainnet. Could you share the sources of whole configuration?


Upvoted and Resteemed.

Loading...

I really like what you doing

Thanks! More coming :)

This test environment will be really useful for me for the next app that I prepare. It will remain open?

Yes, feel free to use it!

Awesome, looking forward to try this out 😆

This is awesome. I have just started developing an idea for steem and didnt like that I might have to test with dummy data while developing. Thanks a lot from devs current and future!

Thanks! I'm happy that you find it useful!

I really like what you're doing. Keep it up!

Thanks man!

Scam alert. Sounds fishy, nothing is free.

calm down.. this is testnet. You can also get free Bitcoins or ETH in their testnet. Looks legit.

I'll send you 1,000,000 testnet coins if you want, no strings attached!

what can he do with those testcoins? it's only for test. * tongue in cheek*

Don't listen to him, thanks to those testcoins, my computer became a sentient being. The robot revolution has started.
We need

Sarah Connor

Looks promising! Thanks for sharing

Any idea if this can be used in conjunction with something else...like a game? SO like, the STEEM is used within a game interface...not an app per say but a web based game environment??

Yes, it could be modified for that, as long as the game is slow and fits within the confines of the blockchain.

Interesting. Where would you recommend I would look on this "world wide web" for more information on that?

There's not gonna be a good source for everything you'd need to know in one place. What do you want to know about it? How you'd go about making a game that hooks into Steem? How Steem works? Why there would be limitations?

Well I know what platform to use for the web based game... but my thing is I don't think I fully understand how to incorporate the two together. meaning the crypto currency and the game for example.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73