Coding Diary Entry #3 - Jumping into the Command Line, Node.js, NPM and Express...I Feel Like a Kid Again!

in #steemdev6 years ago

simon-abrams-286276.jpg
Photo by Simon Abrams on Unsplash

I was one of the lucky kids who were able to use a computer even before the advent of the user interface like windows 93. The very first word I typed in my life was "ENTER" by copying what I was seeing on the keyboard into the command line.

That, my friend, even though I'm 31 years young, make me feel old. 😉

Yesterday, I Got Into The BackEnd of Web Development

So, I'm now through 60% of the class and I'm (re)learning the command line and learning what Node.JS, npm and express are. I'm very happy that I get to use one single language across the board.

From there, I only have to learn about MongoDB and API to start the "BIG" project of that class: YELPCAMP.

YELPCAMP is a full-stack development project where I will have to create a website that is like a YELP for campgrounds... it has comments, ratings, authentification, etc.

So that's very exciting and I can see that what I'm learning there will in some way apply to what I want to do with steem.

STEEM NPM - Can I use it with Cloud9 IDE?

$ npm install steem --save

I checked with the steemdev if npm was a good way to start playing with Steem-JS (the javascript library for the steem blockchain) and I was told that it's the way most dev go about doing it.

Through the course, I was able to have an invite to a free version of Cloud9 IDE. Basically this allow me to do everything without having to install node.js / bash and all the other stuff onto my computer and simply plug and play online without bugs.

It is actually quite neat...but I don't know if I can interact with the steem blockchain from there. I'll keep you updated on that :-)

Conclusion

Let me know about what you think of that coding diary. If it gets boring to you, I might just do that every other day. Otherwise, I'll keep recording my progress here as day after day, I'm learning something new.

Sort:  

Uhh ...you are going very fast man ...2 -3 days before you are at javascript...and now you are at backend...cool man ....Its good to learn node js express and npm ...both the Express and npm tools focus on things like code reusability and development cost....so they provide a well-designed foundation for your application code....keep learning and keep sharing your coding experiences daily.

True that 😅

@cryptoctopus,
This is absolutely brilliant. I am learning through your articles. Can I give you a small suggestion?
Can you please share us links to videos, materials (I mean what we want to download) and what are the computer requirements likewise details from day one onward at the bottom of the article?
It's very useful thing, because I want to follow all steps, specially STEEM JS, NODEJS and etc. Hope you might consider about my request!

Cheers~

@cryptoctopus,
You are welcome!

Cheers~

You are so lucky that in you childhood days you have your own computer, I first used computer in eighth standard. Happy to see you improving day by day. Keep on practicing and keep going. Good luck.

@cryptoctopus - Sir I'm not a coder & my knowledge of coding is really lack... But your articles gives me an idea of them... I'm not going to say I'll be coder or a developer... My husband do, but I hate to that life style... But with your articles I'm learning how hard they are... I started respecting my husbands job too Sir... :) Keep this good work up... You are learning well Sir...

+W+

So nice to see the dedication you have.. how many hours you make a day? For sure I am going to follow the yelp project. keep us updated and I would love to give you some feedback once you have some test up and running!!

Almost 4 hours a day of coding and learning at this point. :-)

but a great investment in time.. but things you like then time doesn't matter ;-)

Well done you progress..I thought this would be a good place to start to build full CRUD apps so you can write a variety of sites for your portfolio. you will pretty familiar with them and you are looking to REALLY understand them... You can look to learn something like REACT later. you understand the patterns as libraries and frameworks evolve.

what are CRUD apps?

CRUD stands Create, Read, Update and Delete. An example of this is a Basic ToDo List Application. on iOS Notes & Reminders applications are examples of a CRUD Application.

Yeah! another diary🕺🕺



So, I'm now through 60% of the class and I'm (re)learning the command line and learning what Node.JS, npm and express are. I'm very happy that I get to use one single language across the board.

Wow!! It's so good to hear this. It simply means you're learning and improving very fast.

This means you'll start coding and deploying useful steemit tools soon - I can't just wait for it.



I was one of the lucky kids who were able to use a computer even before the advent of the user interface like windows 93. The very first word I typed in my life was "ENTER" by copying what I was seeing on the keyboard into the command line.

This is the first time and hearing this from you and I'm wowed! You're a old timer to computer system then. No wonder you have the inquisitive mind about it and also the passion for coding.

We'll, I can't say I had the same opportunity you had. The first computer I ever used and operated was a Compaq desktop computer running Windows XP.
I remember opening exe files with notepad and then seeing unreadable and sometimes readable text all over. That's way my passion for coding came from. Tho I didn't start coding then, but it was quite fascinating seeing those unreadable texts and hex codes all over and then I decided to know why it was like that.

Today, I'm coding and I'm still learning

this is my 1st time reading the pages of a coding diary :) well done

You earned an follow :), this is up my street I'm new to steemit & the steem blockchain and which I am a programmer. Since Ive done my research on steem & steemit I am interested in making a steemit app using my knowledge in web development don't know what it will be but this post got me interest even more in this platform :) thanks you and cant wait to read more posts from you.

there is a steemdev discord chat and slack. That's the place to be. :-) Glad I got someone motivated!

Thanks I will take a look at the discord :)

I was one of the lucky kids who were able to use a computer even before the advent of the user interface like windows 93. The very first word I typed in my life was "ENTER" by copying what I was seeing on the keyboard into the command line.

hehehe the only thing i was able to type back then was my name and that was all. i am not a programmer, just got to learn the basics of java programming in collage but i must commend the speed at which you learn. Seeing you make use of all these terms gives me the chills and makes me feel youv been into programming for quite a long time...should i call you a genius???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10