Learning Javascript - My Journey to Learn How to Create Websites on Top of the Steem Blockchain

in #steemdev6 years ago (edited)

luca-bravo-217276.jpg

Learning Javascript - My Journey Begins Here

All journey starts as the fool's journey.
Unknown

6 years ago I was in a park, learning how to juggle. Anyone who ever tried learning how to juggle knows how much of a fool you look like when you start juggling. I couldn't keep the balls in the air and I bent over for hours picking up the balls that fell.

But after a few hours, I was able to notice that I was getting a little better than when I started.

3 years and 30hours/week of practice later, I was doing street performances, spitting fire, juggling and entertaining crowds in my home province.

I later moved on to other things but I'm incredibly grateful of what the discipline of juggling taught me:


"I can learn anything, no matter how difficult or complex, if I apply the correct attitude and learning strategies"


Right now, I suck at coding. I really do. But so was every great devs at one point when they started coding. It's just part of the price to pay to get a new skill. In one of my previous blogpost, I saw people in the comments saying: "I wish but I don't think I could". I'm sorry to break it to you but that's just a lame excuse. You either don't want it enough (which is fine) or give yourself an excuse because of your lack of confidence in your ability to learn something new.

I imagine thousands of people capable of learning how to code but too afraid to step out of their comfort zone out of fear to look like a fool. That is a terrible lost to the world. If you are one of those people, get your head out of your a** and get started...the world needs more coders.

Everything Complicated Is Made of Simple Building Blocks

That's one thing that I've learned from juggling. Whenever I was faced a new pattern of juggling with 3,4 or 5 balls, the first thing I did was to decompose it into it's most simple elements.

I practiced the simple elements or patterns one by one until I got them figured out enough to combine them together.

I don't see how code is different from this. (correct if I'm wrong devs!)

If you can learn simple things very well and slowly learn how to combine them in new ways through practice, you can learn to do pretty much anything.

Structured Learning

I see a lot of people having poor learning strategies...and then get discouraged when they don't remember certain concepts they've learned the week before.

It's easy to go through a course at record speed and then be left out not remembering half of what you've learned. But remembering and integrating everything you've learned requires that you have a strategy to integrate your learning.

Here is an example of what I do in term of "structured learning":

In previous modules I learned about HTML and Bootstrap/CSS and yesterday I learned about while and for loops, functions, return, console.log, etc

I created a project called "Portfolio", where I'm attempting to build a personal portfolio website with everything I learned so far. While I am learning about Javascript, I still have to practice my HTML/CSS so that I don't lose it in the process of learning something new.

This morning, I'm going to go over my notes and type out some exercices to remember what I've just learned yesterday in javascript. Unfortunately, I am not far enough into javascript to integrate it into my portfolio website but as soon as I can I will!

If anything, by doing this, I'm teaching to integrate my learning into something practical while not forgeting the first thing that I've learned.

Conclusion

Are you interested in me sharing what I'm learning in the process of becoming able to create websites on top of the steem blockchain? Let me know in the comment below.

Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Sort:  

There’s this saying , the more we learn , we realize we do not really know anything . This is why I like learning new things and creating new hobbies to keep myself busy . Myself, I’d like to learn coding as a woman , I want to change things on this platform and hope to be another woman witness who is capable of a lot.

I bought books and I’m learning everyday online and I may take some classes to better myself because I can’t know everything on my own

Wish you all the best with learnind Java!!

Do you mind sharing what resources you will be using and maybe post regular updates on how the learning is going!! Who knows, if it seems doable, I might just start trying all over again!!

P.S. : My first attempt was an absolute failure xD

I imagine thousands of people capable of learning how to code but too afraid to step out of their comfort zone out of fear to look like a fool. That is a terrible lost to the world. If you are one of those people, get your head out of your a** and get started...the world needs more coders.

Ok. I really believe this advise is meant for me.

I learnt coding alone by reading and watching some YouTube videos, but then I gave up because at some point a lot of things became so confusing. I wanted to enroll in a programming course but the tuition was too expensive.

But right now, I think I'll start coding again. I'll prolly sign up on udemy and put my mind towards it.

The world is advancing and tech is becoming bigger and better and the world needs programmers to provide services and solve daily problems.

Thanks for sharing.

Happy Steeming

Yeah coding is bit difficult specially to me as I am from electronic department, when we are in first year we have few subject from computer department, I had to work hard to understand those subject, but I think you know about coding and can do wonders to support this platform through coding. Remember one thing successful people don't do different things but they do the things in different way. I can imagine very well from your words in this post that you are working hard for it, keep going. Good luck. Have a great day.

Also, its never late to learn a New skill. Its on my project to also start learning How to code. Even If i dont become a professional developer, this is one skill that nowdays is good to know at least the Basic stuff.

you are not only learning, you are practicing what you learned. when you learn something new, you re-run the process to genius in what you learned before. it's a valuable thing & a genius idea to in the process of learning. sharing what you learned & what you studies & what you experimented, you are inspiring us to do the same. brilliant idea & impressive thought. wish you all the best @cryptoctopus

@resteemia
resteemed & upvoted & commented & followed

I do not want to discourage you, but learning a coding language is not the hard part of what you want to achieve.

For me, the most difficult thing is to analyze any given problem and come with creative and elegant ways to solve them. Once you've done that, translating into code is just work.

I don’t know what your age is but I started learning code at 30, a few weeks ago infact. I also first learned HTML and CSS, did some Bootstrap and jquery thing and now working on PHP. And I watched this video one year ago, took me 8 months to decide whether I should change my career from accounting to coding and finally did it. I am also planning to learn JS and work on frameworks like node.js.
A whole new world is waiting for us.

I hadn't thought of this.

Programming comes easily to me. I learned by reading the manual that came with the TI-99/4A. But, I am methodical and do not forget what I learn.

I would guess, that if you tried to learn programming like most people learn in classes... well, then you would fail. Because getting a C, getting 70% of the code right doesn't work at all. Its 100% or nothing.

The other problem with learning programming is that most kids are never taught logic. And, you really need to understand logic before you can understand computer logic. It really is all 0s and 1s. There is no room for "sorta"

Thanks for reminding us we all have to start somewhere, but the importance part is getting started. I’m sure I will look back at my first streams and stuff with an extreme amount of cringing.

I like the learning strategies you shared, and when I get back into teaching myself, I will have to follow your studious example.

Thanks for the update into your progress!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82