SteemPlus Minnow Upvote Proposal : Upvoting high quality minnow posts based on Utopian model

in #steemdev6 years ago

Introduction


One of the biggest problem on the blockchain is discovering the new talents. This certainly doesn't happen on the Trending Page except for a few unicorns. Because of this visibility problem, during the first months on Steem, even high quality posts will seldom reach a dollar.
What I propose here is a way for those minnows to get higher rewards (up to 10$ with my minimum target), and more important more visibility through a specific tab that would rank them.

How does it work?


The purpose is to use what I would call the Utopian economics, through the SteemPlus extension. By this, I imply the following process:

  • Minnows with high quality - low reward contributions can post on Steemit or Busy through the SteemPlus extension. They would just need to check a checkbox to be in the program, and post directly from their favorite platform.
  • 25% of the payout will go to beneficiaries, so of course this is useful for those who usually get less payout than the value of the bot upvote.
  • These 25% percents are broken down as follow: 20% for sponsors, 5% for moderators.
  • Sponsors receive their rewards proportionally to the amount they have delegated.
  • Moderators receive their rewards proportionally to the number of posts moderated.
  • Posts are either accepted or rejected by moderators depending on their quality.
  • On post accepted, moderators have to answer a quick questionnaire that will influence the size of the vote.
  • The bot will wake up once a day to upvote the accepted contributions based on some metrics that take into consideration the said questionnaire, number of upvotes, etc.
  • More contributions accepted means less rewards, but if too many people stop using it, it will start giving higher rewards so the system always end up regulating itself.

Via SteemPlus extension, I will also add a Tab on Steemit/Busy to display the posts that have been through this moderation system, it will give them more exposure.

What is SteemPlus?



SteemPlus is a lightweight extension that brings already tons of features to your Steemit experience. Few of those features also work on Busy and Utopian. Find the list of the many features in the last major update.

Quick overview of features
Available on Steemit and Busy
  • Voting slider for minnows (you do not need to vote at 100% anymore!)
  • True value of your account on your wallet (calculated with current SBD and STEEM market prices)
  • Delegation button in your wallet (with list of delegatees and undelegate button)
  • One click switch between Steemit , Busy, Utopian and Steemd
Available on Steemit (and mspsteem)
  • Feed+ : Filter your feed by tags, resteems (hide, show, blacklist, whitelist), reputation and sort it by upvotes/date/payout
  • STEEM/USD and SBD/USD values in the user dropdown
  • Option to add beneficiaries to your post (you can say that 10% of your post payout will go to one of your friends for example)
  • Cool badges on user profiles show their rank: Plankton, Minnow, Dolphin, Orca and Whales
  • Direct transfer to users

It also took and fixed all the features from Steemit More Info, that was a great extension but is nowadays broken in many ways.

Why is it an ideal platform for this project?


SteemPlus has now 1500 daily active users and this number is currently growing by 50 to 100 users a day. Using @penguinpablo last Steem Report, the number of active daily users on the Steem blockchain as of March 19th was 60,033.
It means that around 2.5% of active users are currently using the extension and that if we keep the growth steady, we can expect twice that within a month.

Moreover, posting through SteemPlus means that users will be able to post directly from Steemit or Busy and will only have to check a checkbox to decide to use the service. No need to prepare a whole new front-end: a lot of development time saved and a better user experience.

What do we need?



To build this platform will need some time and effort but I have contributed a lot to the development of the Utopian bot, so I am quite confident on the possibility to have a prototype quite fast (probably in one week or two).

The fact this project relies on the Utopian economics means that 25% of the posts rewards are taken away. Because of this, the upvotes need to be high enough or using the system wouldn't be worth it, even for minnows.

I will develop this platform if I can raise a bare minimum of 500K Steem Power. It would allow already 10*63=630$ of votes to be shared everyday between the minnows that deserve it the most. It would allow 63 users to get a 10$ upvote (I remember how I struggled reaching even 1$ on my first months).

I hope as the system will show that it's working, we will start getting more and more delegations and hence, bigger upvotes to give to the minnows.

In order to make it easier to reward benefactors, the minimum delegation will be set to 10k SP. Delegation below these level will be greatly appreciated though but treated as a gift (Only a few beneficiaries can be designated at a time).

@misterdelegation , @blocktrades, @freedom, @ned, @jamesc , sorry for mentioning you, but you're the biggest delegators on the platform, and I really hope you can help! I hope lots of others can help too but I'm not a big of fan of mention spamming.

Roadmap


  • Milestone 1 : Reaching 500SP of delegation on @steem-plus account

  • Milestone 2 : First version within a week allow minnows to post using this system and create the back-end to vote it. I ll build a moderator team at this moment.

  • Milestone 3 : Prepare a front-end to make moderation easier (one to two more weeks).

  • Milestone 4 : Add a new Tab on Steemit/Busy (via SteemPlus extension) to display high quality posts accepted by the moderation team. It will give more visibility to the minnows that will get upvoted, and give a chance to curators to upvote them before the bot. At term if our vote is big enough, a curation trail could also be imagined on the same principle as utopian-1up (developed by your humble servant ;) )

  • Milestone 5 : Observe, Learn, Improve, Repeat.

Contact



I am creating a new Discord channel available here. We had one in our early debuts but the community was too small to really care for a server at the moment.
You can use it if you wish to make a delegation to SteemPlus or ask questions about the system. I am also available on steem.chat at @stoodkev.

I truely hope that together, we can make this a reality.

Big shoutout to @jerrybanfield and his budgets project that allow us the speed up the development of SteemPlus!

@stoodkev for @steem-plus

Powered by @adsactly

Powered by @utopian-io

Like what I do? Vote @stoodkev for witness!

Sort:  

So, buy your vote, but pay for it on the backend? It's still vote buying in my view. You're supposed to vote. It's part of the platform. Why do you need to get paid to do it? Why not just do it?

Sure, on an ideal world, we would all spend a few hours a day to dig new talents, but is it what happen in reality? When is the last time you did that? SteemPlus can display users recent votes, so I can say for sure that you didn't, and to be honest, neither did I? Why? Because it's too difficult to find the good content in the middle of the spam.

And where did I say I need to get paid to run that? If you read the article, the beneficiaries go to sponsors and moderators.

here as a lot of scam texts...and a lot of useful texts which have no audience...

All follow my, I will reciprocate. 100%

Sounds really good, I found that as a minnow, my posts don't really get much attention even though I put lots of effort into them.


The reason I came here though was to complain about a bug on chrome using a 2K monitor (not sure if it makes a difference).

But the preview window when using steem-plus is of a different size to how the post will actually look which messes up formatting quite a lot. Wondering if this is a known bug and if there's a fix in the works for it?

that is good news for us minnows .. I spend the hour working on my quality publication and the maximum that I generate are 0.2 cent per publication .. I am glad to see this publication since it will be very helpful. and be seen by other users ..

Some proper grammar and capitalization could go a long way.

You're right, friend .. the road is long and hard ..

I got a chuckle out of this! @lexiconical

GOTTTTEEEEEEM

It’s actually not that bad, the grammar. And while I didn’t check his account activity or comments for quality, it doesn’t seem like he’s spamming here. Just saying.

Let me make sure I understand this correctly:

Let's say I post with SP and check the box to have my post reviewed by moderators. I then have only $5 in rewards on it at the time one of your moderators reviews it. (Moderator chosen at random or according to the tags, according to their interest?) The moderator likes the post, so submits it for upvote by the bot. Then whenever the bot upvotes that day, I get the upvote value from the bot of about $10, but lose 75% of my post's overall rewards. So if later my post value gets to $18 ($8 it might have reached normally eventually plus $10 from your bot) I lose $4.50 to the bot as beneficiary, plus my normal curation rewards. Of that $4.50, 80% goes to those who delegated SP to the bot to reward them for their delegation and the rest goes to the moderators to reward them for taking the time to review submitted posts.

Is this correct? Or please correct where wrong.

Btw, I really like SP and don't know anything about Utopian.

Yes it s the way it woks (you lose 25% not 75%).
In your case, if you usually make 5$ and the bot gives you 10$ , even after beneficiaries it is still worth it.
However, if you make for example 20$, it wouldn t be worth it for you.

The bot upvotes will be based on both quality and number of posts approved, so it each user will have to determine if the reward/fee ratio is positive. This is the way Utopian works, and I m guessing over a million in reward has been already distributed in there.

Yes, I meant to say lose 25%. How does the bot assess quality? Is that from what the moderator assesses and fills out on the questionnaire? Also, number of posts approved is done by the bot and you give more upvote % as the number of approved posts by that person increases? So not all upvotes from the bot are worth $10?

no, 10$ was an example, the upvotes will be dynamic based on quality assessed by moderators and other metrics, and will also be influenced by the number of contributions accepted.

Got it. My only remaining question is on the allocation of submitted posts to moderators. Is it random or by category? I write a lot of spiritual/psychological posts, for example, and someone who doesn't believe in those ideas might not consider something on the topic to be of high quality ever while someone who is interested in those topics might find some posts more meaningful than others. If I was moderator, I doubt I would ever find posts about memes of high quality, since I find them superfluous in general.

Good point but I guess it is like movie reviews. A good reviewer does not need to like sci-fi movies to be able to review one properly. Maybe moderators also need to be supervised/moderated/assessed

"Who is watching the watchers?"

Good idea is quite very nice

How will you decide on the moderation team, are you taking applications?

I'm happy to volunteer to help with any "beta" testing until you launch and decide on the team.

My question that seem not to be answered is this. What if my post is rejected. Will the 25% still be taken away?

All follow my, I will reciprocate. 100%

I definitely be interesting in this if there was a way to identify by keywords so I could help out with just the music related posts.


Add dsound & Musicoin tracks and get more plays!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

I am a new user in steem, you and your friends are a steam promoter. I feel bad when new users like me are introduced to the platform, I give up because they are not recognized and no detail explained. Your team and you do a good job with recognize the user completely and I will be happy to be part of your team.
Thanks for this @steem-plus
Im vote @Stoodkev for witnes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73