Being Productive in a time of Chaos

in #steemexclusive4 years ago (edited)

There really isn't much to say about this time period that is easy. It's like a nightmare that had to perhaps happen in order to get to the other side. A lot of people have been frozen in a way but I have been busting my ass making a homestead in just a couple months. I stayed up many a night till I saw the dawn in order to learn all the hacks and tricks to get the most harvest the quickest and how to learn to grow a ton of things I have never grown before. Growing up and now into my adulthood I farmed or had mega-gardens as much as possible so am used to having to pull off Tomato grubs and get dirty. While some wait in lines to get potatoes, I spend 4 dollars for a few Organic ones, made rows of a mixed soil and planted a ton of Yukons. It's feeling very nice to unplug and be growing about 20 different foods.

axefarm12.jpg
Photo property of Battleaxe, BEETS GALORE!

It's being productive in a time of chaos and it makes me feel good. Watching most media in any format seems to be consuming too much energy and leaving one depleted so after witnessing so much hate it is good to grow things from a seed into a seedling then into fuel.

axefarm2.jpg
photo property of battleaxe/ thirsty bug

This year has been one of division and radical change and there is no going back to the world we had before so we may as well try to make the best of what we have and what we can do.

battleaxe1.gif

Sort:  

I spent very little time online this past weekend during all the commotion in town. I pretty much did what you were doing but on a smaller scale as I am not planting twenty different things. The my son and them wanted to start canning so he started to dig up the side yard...which I wasn't thrilled about as I had just dug it up a couple years ago and leveled it below the walkway for better water run away from the house...but he was insistent they wanted to grow a garden to can the stuff they buy the most. Well he dug it up all right and that's about the extent of it. The grand kids had planted seeds in starter pots so I was obligated to finish it. It did though give me a respite away from all the depressing stuff going on.

gardening /farming is about the healthiest thing one can do since even going to a grocery store has turned dystopian . Thanks for the thoughtful comment btw

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. #communitycuration06
RESPECT
#SteemOn

soloyolobolo.jpg

THANK YOU SO MUCH

I totally agree ... this is an important moment in our lives where the being that really only prevails and we must also take advantage of all this time to learn things that we want to learn, in my case I have been learning to play "Four". He tells me a lot that you are sowing plants (giving life) to later harvest and feed on them, it is too magical to consume foods that have been produced with the support of our own hands, that has no comparison with anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61