You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemFest²: Bridging the Gap Between Perception and Reality

in #steemfest6 years ago

This is the best SteemFest post I've read so far, and I'm not just saying that because I'm a solid Stokian. As someone who didn't get the chance to attend the event, I'm looking to get a better understanding of what transpired instead of just seeing posts that highlighted the things I missed.

I'm glad you finally got the chance to clear the air about the miscommunication of the past weeks. I had been hoping to read your side regarding this for quite some time now. It's a shame that you didn't get the chance to talk with Ned in more depth, but it's understandable that he was quite busy. It's great that Sneak and the others got the chance to air their side. I just wish it was conveyed better to everyone, instead of needing to be done face-to-face and on SteemFest where the majority of users didn't get a chance to attend.

I do agree that everyone needs to have more compassion for each other. Everyone is going through something, and better understanding is necessary so that we can all avoid miscommunication. That's the thing I like most about the blockchain--the transparency. It's a shame that it has yet to be fully realized though. I do get that they all have a lot on their plate, but just letting people know that they're not being forgotten would really go a long way.

Thanks for this exposition, Luke. I appreciate you clarifying some of Steemit Inc's sentiment. This is what I think witnesses should be doing, among others. It's a shame you got bumped down to 22 :( Did others just get more support or did people withdraw support? Based on what you wrote, I'm planning to reevaluate my witness choices in the coming days. Very interesting scenario you posed about it.

Sort:  

Thanks as always for your support, Jed.

I too would love to see everything transparently on the blockchain, but I'm also working to respect the preferences of others and understand their preferred communication styles and mediums. They often have reasons I'm unaware of. I feel I now have a better understanding and communication can continue in a direct way now that I'm familiar with their preferred mechanisms. It won't have to happen face to face in the future.

As for my witness position, I amazingly got a vote from Berniesanders (amazing given his history of flagging me and cussing at me in chat), but it was short lived. I think it was more about supporting some people to move others down. The bottom five or so slots seem to change quite often as people update their votes or large voting accounts Power down or delegate power. I expect it to be in constant flux. Hopefully I'll get back in there if I can provide enough value to stake holders.

With this newly fortified communication chain with Steemit Inc, I'm sure you will. I do hope people get to read this write-up and reassess how they vote on their witnesses as you outlined. It's a real eye opener, and I hope that people just don't vote non-technical people just because of their popularity.

There is not a doubt in my mind that you'll be firmly planted among the top 20 in the near future. I'm willing it to the universe!

I'm currently in 16th place which is fantastic! Thanks so much for all your support as always, Jed. :)

Yeah, the "vote the popular witness" probably is a problem. It's fundamentally a technical position involving not only managing servers but also evaluating code and economic changes.

BOOM!!!! NICE! I just knew you were going to bounce back! Stronger than ever, too! I hope it holds, then I could finally change my signature solicit to vouch for your inclusion in the Top 10 :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82