SteemFest²: Bridging the Gap Between Perception and RealitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)


What we perceive is only a glimpse of reality. Our strongly-held position can change in a moment with more information and a new perspective (if we let it). Other than connecting with so many amazing friends I've made here since July of 2016, my main goal in attending SteemFest was to better understand the Steemit team, their vision, and their communication style.

I was not disappointed.

The first day of the hackathon I got a chance to sit down with @sneak to better understand what was going on with the site issues I blogged about here and here. Many of the team were sitting there as well and at one point, @justinw turned to me and said, "Do you like how the site's been working the last couple of days?" I replied with, "Yeah, it's been much better!" Justin continued passionately with, "That was 180 hours of my last two weeks!" Later I'd learn he was once called back early from a vacation. The team had been working hard on performance improvements for months and were almost ready to deploy them right as the DDoS attack hit. The continued growth in signups and usage was also stressing the system and what started as a few front-end servers was up over a 100 to handle the load.

It was the perfect storm, and we all got caught in it. On top of that, during the panel discussion with the Steemit development team, we learned about 3 different bugs which could have caused the STEEM blockchain itself to freeze. Things like this we never heard about were prioritized and fixed while other less important issues, like site notifications, were left for a later date. The more I spent time with the development team, the more I started to realize there was a large gap in perception between what we as users of steemit.com think they are doing and what they are actually doing.


(Photo credit: @andrarchy)

I hung out with my friend @andrarchy for hours on that first day talking about all kinds of things from company culture, to vision, to prioritization. I got a better understanding of how the team thinks about communication and how important it is for them to get things right. I now better appreciate the position @andrarchy is in. As one of Steemit's first non-developer hires, he feels the burden and need to communicate more about what's going on, but can't publish technical information before clearing it past the team who has been working endlessly on mission-critical code changes and often doesn't have the time to break away to explain the details.

When a social media site has site notifications that sometimes work and sometimes don't, and there's no public word from the team about the issue or what's being done to fix it, it's easy to think the team just doesn't understand what's important to us. When posting or voting fails and requires multiple tries, it's easy to think they just aren't doing much.

That's simply not reality. They've been very busy as you can see from their github repo for condenser, steem, and the many other projects they created such as jussi, hivemind, yo, and overseer not to mention the framework for Smart Media Tokens. They've been working to build the most active blockchain on the planet. That's the reality.

This team is doing phenomenal work, even if we can't see that in a way we can all understand.

The more I hung out with them, connected with them individually, and heard their in-the-trenches stories that only other SaaS veterans can appreciate, the more impressed I was with not only what they are doing but the quality of these individuals as well. I happened to sit down for dinner with @roadscape one night at a table which then filled up with much of the team. I had a fantastic time learning more about what they've been up to. During an evening event, @justinw apologized for being so passionate the previous day about the work he had been putting in to get the site functioning again. I was thankful to tell him, "No! Don't apologize at all. That was exactly what I came to see!" I'm so encouraged to know the Steemit developers are not only as passionate about the site and blockchain as we all are, but far more so, and they are proving that with the work they are putting in every day.

As the gap between my perception and reality closed, I even began to think developer burnout could be a future issue, with how hard everyone has been working.

Meeting @Ned

I eventually got a chance to interact with Ned, which was interesting. I was hoping to get to know him a little better, but I think he was thinking of me more as a journalist who should just ask questions. @andrarchy at one point described me as a journalist which surprised me, but I think it's accurate. I want to understand and reveal the truth, as best I can. I'm working to improve how I interact with people to ask better questions instead of just talking in the hope they will jump in and contribute something valuable. So I asked Ned about the company's vision which he quickly replied was to "tokenize the web," something he also mentioned during the fireside chat event. I also asked about developer burnout, to which he ensured me the health of the team is of the utmost importance. He then said something I've been considering which has to do with the best way to communicate with Steemit. I had incorrectly assumed the blockchain was the best way as we're all here and everyone is interested in the conversation.

I've come to realize Steemit prefers more direct, private conversations either via email or slack. During @sneak's talk, he put up his personal email address which is connected through iMessage to his phone. On some level, this bothers me. I prefer open, public dialogue. The more I thought about it, the more I realized my preference may not make the most sense for a company whose words can directly impact the price of the STEEM token, significantly changing the perceived wealth of thousands of people immediately. If someone holds a lot of STEEM, the price going up or down just one penny is a really big deal.

Ned also mentioned the importance of witnesses. We need more solid C coders and blockchain developers in the top 20. If Steemit was to go away tomorrow, we need enough people being paid by the blockchain who can quickly pick up where they left off and continue moving forward. This got me really encouraged to dig into the github more and better understand the codebase and the changes that are coming.

So though I may not prefer the way @ned or @sneak communicate, I can appreciate what they've accomplished. Steemit.com is the only social platform on the internet which runs on the blockchain and pays users with actual cryptocurrency. It is on the path to disrupt so much more than just social media.

The Big Takeaway

For me, the biggest takeaway was realizing steemit.com is more like an example of what Smart Media Tokens can do. We might even consider it a reference implementation and the first example of tokening the web. SMTs are the future of the STEEM blockchain, and I think we'd all have a better understanding of where things are going to realize that and reset our expectations about steemit.com as we do.

Yes, I love this site, and I want to see it topple Facebook, Reddit, Medium, and Twitter. I also have to step back and realize Steemit is playing a long-term game here which is much bigger than just social media. From now on, if I get frustrated with the way something is working or how I perceive something should be communicated or prioritized, I'm going to try to look at the big picture. I'm going to ask Steemit direct questions via their preferred communication channels. I'm going to do my best to evaluate the situation based on what's actually being done and less on perceptions of what's being done.

I don't know what the future price of STEEM will be, what economic challenges vote-buying or spammy, noise-creating self-voting will bring. I do know what has already been accomplished is amazing, and I'm excited about the future.

I still don't feel I know @ned or @sneak very well, but I hope that will change over time. I do think I've got a better understanding of their development team, and that's what I'm most impressed with. These guys are passionate about this blockchain they've built and the site which we all enjoy every day. One of my goals as a witness is to continue to bridge the gap between what we perceive and what is reality when it comes to the hard, dedicated work of the Steemit development team. I'll work to support them by highlighting and explaining their contributions which benefit us all as best I can.

This platform really is changing the lives of people around the world.

That's what really matters.

That's why I'm so excited to be here.


Big thanks to @andrarchy for reviewing a draft of this post. He asked me to make it clear he's available to you directly if you have questions or concerns about Steemit. You can reach him via email at [email protected] or as @andrarchy on steemit.chat. You can also connect with me directly as your witness, and I'll be happy to discuss your concerns with the Steemit team as well.

If you think it's important to have an active top 20 witness working to explain technical things in simple terms, please consider giving me your vote. I'm currently in position 22 as @lukestokes.mhth and would love to be in the top 20 again soon.

If you aren't already, follow @steemitblog and @steemitdev for the latest news and development updates from the Steemit team.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Thanks for your interesting report!

If someone holds a lot of STEEM, the price going up or down just one penny is a really big deal.

I know what you mean, but on the other side everybody who invests, be it into shares or crypto currencies, simply has to accept that there always will be fluctuations in both directions. The Steem price is changing every day for more than a penny. Either you are ready to accept that (especially if you consider Steem as a long term investment) or you better put your money elsewhere.

Being a little bit careful with spreading information is of course OK, but I see no reason to be overcautious.

As you know my excitement for Steemit has diminished. If it was not for @JustinW taking 10 minutes out of his day to explain what is happening I would probably have continued powering down to zero. Thank you Justin for the hard work you are putting in to make sure the site is up and running. It was great spending so much time with you @LukeStokes. ReSteemed

It was more than great, Randy! Hanging with you and @anahilarski was definitely among the highlights of my time at Steemfest. I really enjoyed getting to know you both better and having fun together as Crypto Traders. :)

I think Steemit is a very early stage, speculative play. They are trying to do some really, really big things. It might be one of those "check back in a year or so" situations to really know what the potential is here. Either way, it's one of the most practical examples of blockchain technology actually improving the everyday lives of people around the world with peaceful, voluntary solutions, so I'm all about that from an ideological perspective. People that have very few opportunities to make money can now blog and build their own wallet value. That's exciting.

I'm willing to hold my Steem Power in hopes of being part of that new future helping others, even if I could make better returns on other more volatile, speculative coins.

Great meeting you Luke.

I agree with you assessment of the few days and I agree entirely with your sentiment and the impression you got from the developers.

it's one of the most practical examples of blockchain technology actually improving the everyday lives of people around the world with peaceful, voluntary solutions, so I'm all about that from an ideological perspective.

This statement sums up why I am so enthusiastic about this technology but as you rightly point out, as an investment, its a speculative play but at the same time, in crypto what isnt? I am also willing to hold my Steem Power in the hope of being part of a brighter future. You got another witness vote :)

Thank you for your support. :)

Yes, I cancelled my Powerdown this morning. I am crossing my fingers that this platform rises to be recognized across the web.

That would be quite amazing, especially for you and I as early adopters and promoters. Here's hoping. :)

If you ever get down again, get a hold of me. This one has too big a purpose. Thank you for all you have done and continue to do.

There is a huge wave coming in. Get ready.

Thanks for your kind words @lukestokes, It was great meeting you. See you next year ;)

Maybe I'll convince @corinnestokes we need to go visit you all in Panama some day. :)

That would be nice @lukestokes ;)

i'm curious if you think their vision is too grandiose. Is the Steem dev team and Ned getting "shiny object" syndrome? I'm still powered up >26k SP, but platforms like Clout.io sure are getting my attention. It's fair to say that the Steem natives are getting restless.

That's a good question. Some think SMTs and tokenizing the web is a run before walking approach. Maybe it is. Or maybe they are smart enough to change the world in significant ways and this is just the beginning. I'm not familiar with Clout.io, but I do like that Steem is doing stuff, not just talking about the future.

What I really want is to see Ned give presentations like Brendan Blumer from Block.one. Build fundamentally and incrementally. I was skeptical when Dan left, but I get it now.

I think the excitement could easily come back in if a few things happened. If I was the CEO, I would (or hire someone to) do the following:

  1. Take the UI/UX of the website seriously. Make it look special. Make it look friendly, easy to use and understand. Make it look at least Web 2.0. Make it exciting and sexy. Yeah, blockchain is under-the-hood, but ppl don't see and experience that. There are very few ppl that actually care about the immutable aspect of social media. Who's your target audience...bloggers or tech nerds?

  2. DO SOME MARKETING! I dont know how many times I need to say it. Every metric is starting to plateau and bots are taking over. Get ppl excited to make their first $5 on here.

  3. Create a Steemit store inside the platform. Let ppl buy stuff with thier steem. It's too confusing to cash out for most noobs. Oh yeah, and change the logo back. Nobody is gonna buy a shirt with a tadpole wearing a Roman helmet.

  4. Make the signup process MUCH easier and quicker. I know this is scheduled for Fork 20, but who knows at this point. Heck, the whitepaper is still missing on the website.

  5. Make it easy to see when i've been upvoted (blogs and comments) like how Facebook does it. Why do I have to use SteemNow?

  6. Referral system. The Steemit community is already amazing. Straight up. Why don't we have a referral system that the inflation pays out for? Sure, it could be gamed and the team would need to think through that, but why not incentivize growing the community base? Or will the bots take over?

Whitepaper URL: https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ashe-oro/missing-steem-2017-roadmap

-Ashe

DO SOME MARKETING! I

We're not ready for marketing yet. There is plenty of other work, building, and strengthening we have to do first. Bringing more people here would be worse for the system until we're ready.

I think the request for marketing, is to help grow the STEEM price so we can get paid better. But we shouldn't put the cart before the horse on this issue.

Marketing should wait. STEEM price can remain cheap. Let's finish building, and THEN market, and then the STEEM price can grow huge at that time.

Well said. It took me a while to realize the value in having patience here. We have an amazing thing already, and it's tempting to want to see it marketed around the world right away.

Great comment, Ash. I can't speak for Steemit, but I'll give my answers based on the information and perspective I currently have.

  1. If steemit.com is just a reference example for SMTs, is that the best use of their efforts? If their visions is 1,000's of sites using the STEEM blockchain and this is just one example to show what's possible, does it make sense to really polish it? From a certain perspective, having it just a bit off almost begs the "I could build a better site that that..." comment which might be what they are going for. They want people to build their own. They want a lot of people to build their own. In some ways, I think the future of the STEEM blockchain is each of us running our own personal client which connects to the blockchain directly via many full API nodes. Less centralization. More decentralization. That's an exciting future, but it's foreign to almost everyone. They are trailblazing here and not everyone is going to be comfortable with it. Some will be like those who asked Henry Ford for a faster horse.

  2. I hear this one loud and clear, but think of it this way: If they did have a massive marketing push over the last 6 or so months and had a million accounts instead of 400k, would the performance issues we all experienced (and they had been working on for months), have harmed or helped the brand? If 2x or 3x the number of people were upset by the site not working well, could that have sunk them completely? This is something I'm trying to put into perspective. Marketing makes sense once the product is ready to be marketed. They are being patient, and they have the contact info of everyone who signed up. I heard @sneak say this multiple times, they will be using that contact information in the future. Marketing will happen. That's something I was doubtful about in the past, but I have more confidence in now that I know what they are doing with the notification system they are working on.

  3. @ned addressed this in his fireside chat. From his perspective, it's much easier to build a commerce platform with a bootstrapped currency once the market cap of the currency grows large enough to bring stability as a useful store of value and medium of exchange. This answer bums me out a bit because I want alternative market solutions right now, but it may be completely correct. Also, the beauty of the platform is that anyone can build their own marketplace right now and/or wait a bit and fund it with an ICO of an SMT. I've tried to get thousands FoxyCart merchants to use bitcoin since 2013 and the reality is they won't until their customers demand it. Customers won't demand it until the market cap grows and it becomes part of people's daily lives. As for the logo, art is subjective. Love it or hate it, it's way better than having STEEM and steemit.com with the same logo, IMO.

  4. A different solution as proposed by HF20 is key to enabling the growth we all want. Why do you say the white paper is missing? It's right in the menu:

  5. That's part of the new notification system they are building out. Again, as an investor and user, would you rather they focus on notifications or keeping the blockchain from freezing up? Having talked directly with many of the developers about what they've been working on, I have a better perspective on how they prioritize, and I agree with it. It's easy to point figures from the outside, but in many ways we're doing so from a position of ignorance. From what little I heard about the notification system they are developing, it will be superior to what Facebook offers. We'll see (and yes, they could help with informing us more, but again, they have limited human resources at this point though they are growing the team).

  6. I think this was mentioned also as something that's coming in the future. To me, this relates to number 2. If they grow too quickly and swamp themselves and the blockchain then does this whole party end? I'm okay with slow, steady, measured growth.

The roadmap concern is a good one, but I'd much prefer a team that is flexible with changing realities than rigidly sticking to a plan that no longer meets the long-term goal of "tokenize the web." Maybe we'll hear more about that vision in the future and those who feel it's too large of a vision and just want a blockchain social media site can look elsewhere and turn to competitors.

Great reply, Luke. The whitepaper link is broken...both that i've found (listed below) are broken and it's not on Steem.io.

And these are broken:

https://steem.io/SteemWhitePaper.pdf

---and---

https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf (from their previous post earlier this year using the @steemitblog as the official announcement) - https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/steemit-2017-roadmap

Both yield the same result.

Now, I agree with you that it create the "I can build something better" mentality. I guess i'm impatient and with a medium size budget ~$50k, a really slick website could be built. Something to impress people. Sure, if Steemit.com receive 3x the users as it did this year (which was still very impressive) it would have caused more network issues, I get that. For now, I'll be patient, but i sure hope to see an killer update form them early Q1 2018; competition is coming.

UPDATE: I see The Steem Shop is included in the sidebar. Good addition.

Ah, thanks for clarifying! I see there's an issue for that created here: https://github.com/steemit/steem.io/issues/15 I bought it to their attention as well. Hopefully it's a quick fix.

i'd also add the link: https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf

It is referenced in Google as well as on the official @steemitblog article (as well as a few others). Both links should be fixed.

Yeah, my hunch is it's a related issue and when one is fixed, they both will be. I'll keep an eye on it.

You have hit the nail on the head. Steemit.com is one example of a STEEM website. Instead of investing in steemit.com; they want to make STEEM better so there can be 1000's of websites built using STEEM.

Chances of success on that path are very very low. At least 95% probability this strategic vision and goal will never be realized.

They are more than "swinging for the fences". They are trying to hit two out of the park home runs in a single at bat.

If they happen to make it, the sky is the limit for price of STEEM.

They are going down HUGE risk and HUGE reward path. Usually doesn't work out. Very infrequently it does.

I agree with you and yet... they currently have the one of the fastest, most used blockchains ever. They also have the only functioning social media website paying people for comments, posts, and upvotes via cryptocurrency. On top of that, new apps like DTube, DLive, DSound, ChainBB, Busy, Utopia.io, and more are being being built and maintained right now. The momentum and progress is quite impressive when we step back and look at it all.

I'm willing to hang on for the ride. Worst case scenario, they make a huge dent in the space and other competitors pick up where they left off. Either way, I think we'll all benefit by more decentralized tools improving the world.

I'll potentially be back after I watch STEEM price bottom in 6 months below $0.50, and see how the SMT vision is progressing.

There will be lots of time and opportunity to re-invest in STEEM in 2018, if any part or all of the SMT vision turns out to be real.

hahaha, a tadpole wearing a helmet, sooo funny. The idea of having a store is awesome but someone needs to build it. I'm on a site called Fine American Art, it also has a social community. The cool part of this site, one can buy cheap prints of photographs of my paintings with frames. Add their art to clothing, mugs, accessories, etc...I would like to see this happen with our art community using SMT .....I'm not rich or a tech to build a Print To Order platform on the blockchain. But I would support anyone who could do this!

I want a wordpress like blog...where I can sell my print to order art with Red Dust Art tokens...

but why? what's the point of Red Dust Art tokens? Why would anyone want or use them? Why not use actual money like Bitcoin Cash or Dash? (can't use BTC b/c of the tx fees).

Gotta have a rly good use-case to create your own token. Otherwise it's gonna be a lot of work and you have a worthless token to manage.

Ash, have you seen this talk? It may change your perspective on why someone may use a random, niche token.

Bitcoin: Money as language & the multi-currency future

watching it now. I realize that tokens are expression and language. I get the incentive structure of having your own coin (especially if you have a following). I get that you can create money and attempt to bring value to it. I completely support all of that, but I also realize that money is the most desired commodity and over time, there's little purpose to have millions of tokens. That's not taking away the idea of "airline miles" or the reasons to purpose "Ashecoin" if i've built my own economy and wanted to reward holders.

ok, the example of paying a token to Folding@Home makes a ton of sense. Maybe it's not worth much, but at least it's something that can create a community. Thx for the share :)

It's one of my favorite talks of his. I watch it every once in a while to get a feel for what's possible and what a future version of humanity might look like.

Thanks @lukstokes, I really appreciate your work here. I love collecting data, seeing the patterns and trying to figure out how I can put this to work!

It seems SMT is not for us common folk.

I feel the same and since I heard so much about it at the fest, I really would love to find out more, especially how we can make this work for us so called “common” folks.

That's how I feel but isn't that what SMT is for? Create your own token for products. If I were to build a Red Dust Art Gallery and have a stable of artist under me than my tokens may have more value....I still don't understand how the smart media token system works.

Nobody is gonna buy a shirt with a tadpole wearing a Roman helmet.

Oh my gosh, now I can never unsee this!

You should continue power down on the basis of facts at hand. It sounds like we are 12 months away from any significant turn around or changes. You can always buy back in then. Stay in and powered up if you want - but it will mostly be on the basis of hope and promises. Those don't always pan out.

But whatever they are doing, even if its good for the community, still we could not hide the fact that the platform is all about the whales and their friends of friends. To become friend of the whales or somehow become favorite is now the goal of everybody, if not all. But unfortunately, whales are not here for that anymore, they are here for the monetary benefits that they can inherit from the platform. Its all about growing and increasing their stakes, making them more rich. If a year ago, somebody could earn good rewards for free, now if you're not a friend or favorite of whales, you can't expect a good rewards anymore not unless if you're going to buy upvotes.

You mention at lot of valid concerns here, but I also think you're mentioning an aspect of reality that human beings haven't developed a workaround for yet. It's kind of like saying predators still hunt prey. It's part of nature that those who have want more. We just happened to notice a big difference between those who have $10 and gain $0.10 and those who have $1,000,000 and gain $10,000. The math may be the same, but it feels different. Also, whoever has money can more easily make more money. Again, no way around this unless we enforce systems which will ultimately cause investors to leave and destroy the value in the platform. Generosity can't be demanded. It has to be learned and appreciated through life experience. There are more options than buying up votes, but building relationships with influential people and providing value can't be avoided.

If you have suggestions on how things could be improved, I'm listening. A lot of study of game theory went into this platform and continues to drive its economics. If we ignore that and suggest changes without understanding, we can actually threaten what we have here.

As always sir @lukestokes, you always have a good point. If all these whales have the same heart as yours, lots of people will adore steemit. Anyway, you asked for suggestions. Could it be possible to change the system by giving equal value for all the members irregardless of its stake? I think not because the platform might lose its value because the rich will go away. The HF19 which gives minnows more power was a good idea, but unfortunately, the same thing happens to all the whales, their value had increase tremendously. In effect, it was the same, nothing changes but the fact that SP drains fast.

A year ago, there was this experimentation headed by few huge whales in the platform. An experiment that no whales will be allowed to vote giving minnows it's value. Was that successful? Everyday there is 50,000 rewards that will be distributed. Is it true that if it happens that only 1 person made a vote on that day, that 50k will be value of his vote? If that's the case, what do you think about the idea of giving a day intended only for minnows to vote (no other people can vote but minnows)? There are seven days in a week, if 2 days will be given to all the minnows for us to vote and be voted by the same minnows and share the 50,000 rewards among those who voted, what do you think will happen. For 5 days whales will monopolized the rewards and 2 days will be for the active minnows.

The minnows would most likely self-vote, right? As those minnows become whales, would they act any differently than current whales? By that, I mean it may not be the size of someone's wallet that matters but who they are as a person. We'd probably see the same level of greed and generosity in both minnows and whales. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised to see more generosity in whales because they mostly understand how benefitting others increases your own wealth. Whales, to me, aren't immediately bad by default. If their votes and actions are overly selfish, I can see that's not helpful. But, could it just be a matter of perspective? If I get one person to give me $1 for an exchange of value is that fundamentally different than getting a million people to do it?

A day without whales sounds quite interesting, but I'm not sure it would effectively solve the concerns you have.

This is the best SteemFest post I've read so far, and I'm not just saying that because I'm a solid Stokian. As someone who didn't get the chance to attend the event, I'm looking to get a better understanding of what transpired instead of just seeing posts that highlighted the things I missed.

I'm glad you finally got the chance to clear the air about the miscommunication of the past weeks. I had been hoping to read your side regarding this for quite some time now. It's a shame that you didn't get the chance to talk with Ned in more depth, but it's understandable that he was quite busy. It's great that Sneak and the others got the chance to air their side. I just wish it was conveyed better to everyone, instead of needing to be done face-to-face and on SteemFest where the majority of users didn't get a chance to attend.

I do agree that everyone needs to have more compassion for each other. Everyone is going through something, and better understanding is necessary so that we can all avoid miscommunication. That's the thing I like most about the blockchain--the transparency. It's a shame that it has yet to be fully realized though. I do get that they all have a lot on their plate, but just letting people know that they're not being forgotten would really go a long way.

Thanks for this exposition, Luke. I appreciate you clarifying some of Steemit Inc's sentiment. This is what I think witnesses should be doing, among others. It's a shame you got bumped down to 22 :( Did others just get more support or did people withdraw support? Based on what you wrote, I'm planning to reevaluate my witness choices in the coming days. Very interesting scenario you posed about it.

Thanks as always for your support, Jed.

I too would love to see everything transparently on the blockchain, but I'm also working to respect the preferences of others and understand their preferred communication styles and mediums. They often have reasons I'm unaware of. I feel I now have a better understanding and communication can continue in a direct way now that I'm familiar with their preferred mechanisms. It won't have to happen face to face in the future.

As for my witness position, I amazingly got a vote from Berniesanders (amazing given his history of flagging me and cussing at me in chat), but it was short lived. I think it was more about supporting some people to move others down. The bottom five or so slots seem to change quite often as people update their votes or large voting accounts Power down or delegate power. I expect it to be in constant flux. Hopefully I'll get back in there if I can provide enough value to stake holders.

With this newly fortified communication chain with Steemit Inc, I'm sure you will. I do hope people get to read this write-up and reassess how they vote on their witnesses as you outlined. It's a real eye opener, and I hope that people just don't vote non-technical people just because of their popularity.

There is not a doubt in my mind that you'll be firmly planted among the top 20 in the near future. I'm willing it to the universe!

I'm currently in 16th place which is fantastic! Thanks so much for all your support as always, Jed. :)

Yeah, the "vote the popular witness" probably is a problem. It's fundamentally a technical position involving not only managing servers but also evaluating code and economic changes.

BOOM!!!! NICE! I just knew you were going to bounce back! Stronger than ever, too! I hope it holds, then I could finally change my signature solicit to vouch for your inclusion in the Top 10 :D

Very nice experience, and I am very happy you shared this much detail about it. Not all of us could be there and have this experience, so writing it out this way helped a lot. A GREAT deal... thank you.

I'm happily re-steeming this post to my followers too.

I started to realize there was a large gap in perception between what we as users of steemit.com think they are doing and what they are actually doing.

This is true. You've already taken the first step in narrowing that gap a little.

Put it this way... knowing what you know now. When things get tough, I'll flip over and read your blog to see "how, or if" you are complaining about it... and if you have a much smoother, softer approach to issues in the future, I'll probably be "well, @lukestokes isn't worried, neither am I"

...but we'll have to see.

Thanks again for sharing everything. Not just the good stuff, but your walking away concerns too. You are a good journalist when you include everything the way you did.

...and since you are a witness, if people haven't voted for you, this post is a prime example of why they should. You get involved very much, and have your full attention on what's happening around here.

:)

Thank you! My goal is to help the Steemit team communicate better by being another decentralized voice for them. That doesn't mean I won't air out the dirty laundry if that's what is needed, but it does mean I'm going to work to better understand things before jumping to conclusions. As a witness, I want to represent this community well.

What an incredible event Steemfest 2 was Luke!
So great meeting you and hanging out!
Speaking with Justin on the roof of the HF Music the first night, he shared with me the difficulties of pioneering ahead with a platform of this size while maintaining the integrity of the blockchain ledger; Steemit is quite literally doing something never attempted before...

I'm not speaking from a position of any technological expertise, so if that above statement is incorrect, the fault lies with me, attempting to reinterpret a conversation held over a week ago with somebody who is really smart in a field I'm not. Apologies if I didn't carry forth the correct way to communicate your hard work Justin!

My dear Steemians, the PASSION on that panel was incredible.

Exciting, motivating, and so inspiring!

Ladies and gentleman of Steemit:
We have a bright future indeed!

@scan0017 😘

Well said! The passion of this team came through loud and clear and they deserve our sincere thanks. This is some really, really difficult stuff.

So grateful to @lukestokes for this candid share!! Thank you so much to all of you for going to Steemfest, and especially to the Developers for all your amazing work!!!
#ABetterWorld #ChangeTheWorld #ParadiseOnEarth #Tokens #Crypto #Blockchain #NewInternet

Excellent post Luke. It was great meeting you at steemfest and being part of some of the discussions you had with @andrarchy and others. I'm looking very much forward to being part of this discussion which I know we've not finished at steemfest but rather just begun.

The simple truth to me is that the steemit team are absolutely right in what they think and what they do internally, but that's precicely why we're right in thinking that some very simple communication is so important. When you're right and doing it well, let people know, or they will assume the worst (Especially in a game where FUD exist to the degree that it does and where so many other Blockchain projects are far behind on actual developments).

Grateful for the work that you do, at least I found a new witness to vote for at steemfest.

See you next year.

Thanks so much, @fredrikaa! I really enjoyed hanging out with you as well and the excellent questions you ask. It was an added bonus to catch you in the airport and enjoy a meal together. :)

Yes, it is a bit frustrating to see such a gap between what they are doing and what is perceived, especially when it seems the gap could be easily closed with some focused attention on communication. Now that the perfect storm has passed and @andrarchy is settling into his role, maybe we'll see a lot more communication. I keep reminding myself, they are playing a long game and many of us are here interested in the value Steemit.com brings us on a daily basis. Keeping those expectations aligned is no easy task.

That's a great recap, Luke!

They've been working to build the most active blockchain on the planet. That's the reality.

Yes they do. I think the developers panel made pretty clear that a lot of us had to adjust their view on a couple of things. Also it was a great chance to exchange different points of view and I'm quite sure that while we learned that they're the busiest people on Earth, they understood our need for more communication. The fact that Ned published another blog post right after Steemfest (two days ago), is a good sign in that context :-)

PS: It was a huge pleasure surfing with you and I definitely hope that Steemfest3 will take place close to a surf spot :-) See you around!!

I had a blast getting in the water! Certainly one of my top highlights for the whole event. That big smile is still right there with me. :)

Yeah, more communication is a wonderful thing.

You've got my vote @lukestokes. So awesome to meet you at SteemFest, really looking forward to hanging out again soon. And thanks for this great analysis!

Thanks for your support! It was so great to meet people in real life "meat space." :)

No matter how hard they were working to fix the issues, to not communicate anything was a terrible decision.

People who are invested shouldn't have to go to Spain to find out SteemIt, Inc cares. That will be a bottle neck in investment.

Have doubts about the site, oh don't worry, the next steemfest is only a year away. lol. Just plain silly.

I understand that perspective, and I think it's completely valid. I think, from their perspective, it was more important to get the site functioning (while working crazy long hours to do so) than to spend developer time explaining the details of what they were doing. This post, I think, does a pretty good job of explaining what they did to fix things in real terms. Also, an argument can be made that there's an opportunity here for people to continually comb through github repo and monitor activity and communicate it to the network and be rewarded for doing so. If things can be done in a decentralized way, then that's preferred. In many ways, I think we have an expectation about Steemit.com (because we enjoy it so much!) that may not fit with reality. It may just be a reference implementation for the STEEM blockchain. If that's reality, do our expectations fit it? How much effort should they put into this reference if their focus is the blockchain and SMTs?

Also, I've learned if we have doubts about the site we're free to contact them directly. They prefer email, etc. Direct communication, not public posts which can impact investors in who knows how many different ways (and bring up more questions which would require more time away from making the site work). The witnesses, I think, should take a more active role in that communication and that's what I'm trying to do as well.

If the witnesses consider how they can help SteemIt, Inc. with communication that will be a win.
I try to give them credit when it is deserved, I think it is wrong to excuse them when the behavior is ridiculous. I realize it is my opinion.

None the less, I appreciate that you came back with a solution based answer. :)

Thanks for that. I can appreciate that the SMTs are the future for the blockchain. I can understand some (not all) of the use cases I've seen. But I'm still having a hard time understanding what that means for me, just an individual posting here on Steemit. I hope you can explain SMTs in your clear, direct way!

With this new major takeaway I have from SteemFest, I plan to spend a lot more time understanding and focusing on SMTs. I will certainly do my best to explain it in simple terms as it develops over time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10