Why I -probably- won't be going to SteemFest 3 in Poland this year

in #steemfest6 years ago

So the time has arrived !!!

It took more than usual (for understandable reasons) but it's here! SteemFest 3 is happening !!!!

Me, all happy, from last year in Lisbon

Unfortunately though, even though many friends, especially @redrica, @teodora and @sjennon (and probably also @things) were expecting me to go, I'm afraid I won't be going - and here are some valid reasons:

It was announced kinda late.

I understand very well that @roelandp was doing is best to find the best, also researching in the US etc etc but still it is kind of late for me to schedule something like this at moment. If only I knew say...a month or two earlier than that... :(

The air tickets are expensive.

The country (and specifically this city) might be cheap but I already checked for air tickets and they are already very expensive considering it's 4 months in advance and for what they are (1,5 hours from Copenhagen, direct flight with Norwegian Air -which is supposed to be the 'low cost' of Scandinavia...). Since it took me too much effort and money to get to Lisbon (I ended up paying 600 euros only for air tickets), this time I'm not keen into trying to go via all possible stops (because there is a flight from neighboring Malmo for example, in Sweden, but it takes waaaaay more time and money).

Most of my US Steem Friends won't be there.

Even though I understand that it was hard to book it for the US, and I wouldn't make it there either, most probably, maybe I would take the extra step for my American friends that is unlikely to meet somewhere else at this point. I'm glad for us Europeans that it is held in Europe, and easier for the most part for all of us I guess, but yeah... such a shame for the States, once more :(

I have a very demanding full time job now

Fortunately for me in life but unfortunately for me as MeanMommy, I got a full time job now who takes up all of my time. And the problem is that according to the contract I have I can't take days off -I mean, I can, but I won't be paid for them, so I'm not sure I want to do that, especially now that I'm new - for SteemFest. I guess I would only do it for something super serious - good or bad.

So...on top of that, I wouldn't pay the whole SF ticket just for the closing dinner on Sunday.

Since the situation at my job is the way it is, I was thinking I would possibly be able to come only for the weekend - Friday evening to Sunday evening. But in this case I would miss most of it, but I would probably pay the ticket to go to the closing dinner - which sounds a lot just for that... Then again, we still don't know how much it'll be exactly.

@creutzy is not going again - and he has quite a few reasons about it:

Writing his thesis at the moment plus working in the weekends doesn't leave him a lot of time ...but the most important reason, which is also a reason for me personally is....

...we are not fans of Poland.

3 years ago we had the worst trip of our lives with @creutzy.

Yes, you guessed right - it was in Poland. To be fair, it was in Warsaw, and Krakow they say it's very beautiful, but you know, when you get an idea in your head it is difficult to get it out.

Besides the fact that we were almost robbed by a gang, in the city center, with the police a few steps away [thank God @creutzy convinced them we are poor so they left us alone...but they were 5 of them - I got REALLY scared...], we got ROBBED in an ambulance - YES you read right:

While in Poland, we got robbed in an ambulance. How you say? Well here's how:

@creutzy had a really bad reaction to a super-strong espresso and we had to go to the hospital. Besides the fact that NO ONE spoke ANY English - at the pharmacy, the ambulance or the hospital, which made things REALLY difficult for us (including initially not letting me go with him!), after we left and went to a restaurant to forget the whole thing we realized that all @creutzy's money were missing from his wallet

-including an old rare Romanian bill which actually had no value to this day. Yes, the ambulance guy took them so we went to the police....

GUESS WHAT : NO ENGLISH THERE EITHER...... so they booked an appointment with an interpreter for the next day, to which we never went in the end because we thought that at that point it made no sense anymore...

@creutzy wearing the T-shirt I brought him from Lisbon, with the new Steemit logo

And lastly, the reason we all mention: Crypto is (super) down

...which means, less interest, less participants, less money. Of course I am sure it is going to be a blast like always, but not sure I want to be a part of it this year - considering this though the least important reason. It is all the rest that count more, this is just the cherry on top. I feel very away from Steemit these last couple of months so I am not sure how I would fit within the SteemFest environment this year to be honest.

Plus one silly reason: I know some people in Krakow I have no interest in seeing

Two very annoying female figures of my life are currently located in Krakow, and they are - honestly - the last people I wanna see. As @sjennon very correctly mentioned, I can avoid them, but this means I need to limit my facebook post or adjust my privacy settings which sounds too much work just to avoid two people...Too much effort for nothing really.....

So here we are - those are all my reasons against going, nevertheless I have reasons to go as well, such as

  • Exploring a new -supposedly- beautiful city!

  • Seeing all my real life friends by now including @redrica, @teodora, @sjennon, @things, meeting new web-friends like @soyrosa who we met through @steemsugars and probably many more, plus seeing again people I met at the last SF (too many to mention now at this point!)!!!!

  • Having a blast - well, that's a given now isn't it...??? :D

I will sure miss THIS....!

We'll see how it goes. I might be a bit negative now but it's mostly because I'm very busy and tired at work and I'm not thrilled with the Polish idea. BUT I might manage to get out of work and decide to ignore past bad experiences in that country and actually decide to go - who knows! I will certainly keep you posted but probably will be decided after the SF ticket prices will be out :)

I'm wishing you all an amazing weekend as I know you're all already super excited about this !!!!!!

Talk again soon I hope...and until then...Don't forget to smile!

Yours

MeanMommy

P.S. Please don't get me wrong: I don't want to sound ungrateful in any way. I appreciate more than anyone @roelandp's efforst, because I tried myself with @creutzy to organize @copensteem (the first Steemit meetup in Scandinavia, in Copenhagen) and we failed terribly because we didn't get participants and it was really hard trying to - it is still on hold but I do know how hard that can be. It's just that I don't get the ''feeling'' this year and I really hope, at least some of you, can understand (and respect) that :(

Sort:  

hey hey. sorry but understandable to hear it! it still 4 months out tho, but i must admit sf2 had been announced way earlier. too early tbh. but this is a bit late yes :)

im sorry to hear about ur bad experience for you and @creutzy in a previous trip. sounds quite nasty.

im a hobby travel booker too next to organising events so...

ive looked into some alternatives and wow indeed flights from CPH are quite expensive (310 eurs i found on skyscanner)

alternative:
fly to Katowice: 140 eur get a car and drive 1.5 hrs to KRK - costs additional 60 eur. saves 100 eur.

or.... if possible... Fly from malmo syrup MMX to krk direct with wizzair for 67 EUR!

that is i think the most cheap i can find. indont know how eady it is to get to MMx (about 2 hrs by public transport - 45 mins by car)

46803B4E-4FA5-4A5C-9651-0E7062B5D3AA.jpeg

Heyyyy :D @roelandp !!!! <3 <3 <3
It's never too early for plans like this I think - the main problem for me is the job actually... :( (even though it might not seem so from this post) I'll see if I can get out of it.

Malmo is quite close (and yes, the flights are muuuuch cheaper - but the company sooooo crappy....) but the schedule is not convenient considering that I'm working (With Norwegian from CPH I can fly in the evening at least :((( But it wasn't 310 EUR !!!! It was around 160 at the moment I think !!! )
The Katowice solution mmmmeeeh ..... because drive how? And... in Poland - no :(((

THANK YOU for the effort !!!! I find this CUTE, SWEET, AMAZINGLY KIND and SO YOU :D So...... ok, I'm starting to change my mind already haha .... You're the BEST !!!!

But seriously, my work situation is bad - I can't take days off because this is how the particular UN contract I have is, even if I work overtime to do so... So it'll be hard to get out :(((

Look how much he wants you there @meanmommy33!!! So sweet of him to do all these checks. And you know I will be checking for your flights regularly too ;) a perfectly priced one just might pop up!

That's what I thought exacly as well, riiiight????
He is the sweetest - and I'll be doing it too then... ;) <3

Okay, first of all, it's so good to see you blogging again, @meanmommy33! And I hear you on your reasons SF isn't (probably) in the cards this year. I'm also 100% impressed that @roelandp cares enough to try to help you with travel plans. ;-)

I'm sure this year's SF will be fantastic. Wish I could go. I also would love to see a Steem Fest on this side of the world at some point...

I understand that travelling to North America can be harder for many, especially the US in the current political situation. That said, it would be pretty awesome to have something that brings some of our European and international friends this way. Canada is pretty friendly (I live here, so I'm biased, of course). Even Nicaragua or Ecuador or Costa Rica... somewhere in North or South or Central America would be cool for next year's SteemFest... if at all possible. And, yes, more notice would also be helpful, as I'd just booked my ticket to a smaller Steem meetup, but we can all only ever do the best we can. No choice is going to make everyone happy. Keep doin' your thing, @roelandp.

For me, I'm opting for a low-key gathering next month in the Smoky Mountains with some good Steem-friends. We've booked a house for the weekend, and I know it's going to be so much fun!

Hope to meet you someday in person, my friend. 💖

found the best option just now:

CPH - KRK (norwegian direct) via google flights. 107 EUR

B1C6CD4C-71C8-4E61-AFA5-DB94B26FEEE0.png

Yep this is what I meant ! But it was more expensive when I looked it up whaaaat ?!?!?! :D
Oh... I think it was because I looked Friday to Sunday ('cause this is what I can manage probably :/ ) - and also I see here return on Monday :(((

Although I would have LOVED to meet you on SteemFest, I understand all your reasons, and am not afraid at all we will never meet - take care of YOU and make the best decision for YOU. I know you would come if you could :-)

...and if I manage to, I certainly will but..... a lot of obstacles for the moment :/
But us 2 we will meet at some point, for sure, SF or not SF ;)))

You know how much I'd love to experience Steemfest with you!!! Who knows right? Still possible you could make it <3

Maaaybe....
And yes it's a given that it would be AWESOME to experience it with you !!!!!! <3

Hello again @meanmommy33!!! How's your new job with the UN? I hope you will be able to take time off to do what you want. I just know that on my first year of my job, I had to work so much, and couldn't take the time off... even if they'd allow me.

Heyyyy !!!!
Not really balancing yet but I'm trying... I can't take time off, that's the thing - certain rules apply to certain UN contracts unfortunately :(
I don't have enough time yet to do all the things I want when I'm not working (including Steemit) but I'm slowly getting there !!!!! :D
Thanks for checking in girl - and sorry for not being consistent with my curation these last few weeks :/

Valid enough reasons Loop..but i still wish that you can go!

I'm starting to wish that too again.........
I started steeming again a bit and realized how much I missed it!
By doing this -mostly- negative post, I actually remembered what is like...
So maybe I'll do a completely opposite soon :D

Go for it! These things happen once in a while, it's normal. No pressure Loop.

@meanmommy33 You have received a 100% upvote from @liquidsteem because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

I have one word for you: Boo :(

Hi @meanmommy33, I am sorry to hear you might not make it this year. I really want to go, but recent events have set me back a little. But then again, it's still a few months and anything can happen in that time. Good to hear that you have a job you like (or so it seems), but maybe it's still possible to go. You see how much effort @roelandp is making for you to find the perfect flights...That must mean something. Either way, I hope to see you there! And if not: there's always next year :)

....and back on Steemit and responding haha !!!
Nah, unfortunately I can't make it in the end - my contract doesn't permit paid leave and I would have to ask for an unpaid favor to go - a luxury at this point... Plus many trips lately to afford this one too anyway :///
But I'll closely watch !!! And may our paths meet again in the future !!!

AHHH, so nice to hear from you lovely lady! Well, I understand. It's tough times for a lot of us. But yeah, I'm sure we'll meet again at some stage! I hope you're having a great time at your job and whatever adventures you get yourself into. :) Much love from Ireland <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55