Insight Into My Today's Steemfest Presentation And Meeting The First Steemit Celebrities 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest7 years ago
A moment's insight is sometimes worth a life's experience. - Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr

Oh I couldn't agree more, Oliver.

Presenting at Steemfest today was definitely worth a world.

As the people who surrounded me today´s morning may confirm, I was pretty nervous before going on stage - just not to say that I was almost going crazy- haha! 

Finally that one moment had come and it felt better than I could have ever imagined!

@surfermarly during her presentation - the picture was taken by the great @firepower. What you need to know is that in real life he's not only as kind as on steemit, he's a really wonderful person.

Steemfest - What a blast!

Since I arrived at the get together yesterday's evening, I'm completely amazed.

This event is far beyond what I expected. It's incredibly fulfilling to finally meet all these people I've been contact with for month and also come to know new steemians I still didn't run into on the platform.

I'm not lying if I tell you that I almost didn't sleep last night due to the outstanding impressions I had from the first encounters at the welcome party.

Today's morning the conference room no. 1 was almost exploding. There was not only one free chair in this room. As @roelandp informed in his opening speech, there are currently around 300 steemians at the Centro Cultural de Belém in Lisbon. Wow!

So while it was heavily raining outside, it got pretty cozy inside :-)

Thanks to my excitement I completely forgot to record my own presentation. Actually I was aiming to film it with my GoPro and do my own vlog later. But anyways, I can share a little detail with you nobody else is able to provide:

Here is the video I presented today at @steemfest at that was somehow the core of my speech:

Now I really wanna thank everybody who watched the livestream! Thanks for hanging in there, even when we were facing some technical issues :-)

I hope you enjoyed what you saw.

Also people asked me after the presentation how they may contribute to my charity project. An kind of support towards the account @dreamsoftheocean is really appreciated here. So by upvoting the blog posts published in that blog or even sending a little donation to its wallet, you will already make a difference. Thank you, steemians!

After the presentation I was full of adrenaline and endorphins. All the pressure was gone, and I was just happy. The feedback I have received so far was incredibly positive, and I'm really grateful.

Then I was finally relaxed enough to start taking some pictures with steemit celebrities and like that involve you into this great 'internet friends party'.

Meeting Ned Scott @ned, Co-Founder and CEO Steemit Inc.

Meeting Brian Rhodes @brian-rhodes, Actor and Producer. I just love spending time with you, Brian! You're incredibly inspiring and I very much enjoy talking to you!

Keeping my promise of being a steemy groupie - haha! Meeting the famous @steembirds: @jaybird (here: also photographer) and @dan-atstarlite. You guys ROCK!

The best thing about the current situation is that this Steemfest ride has just began. If I could I would just stop time!

Again, thanks for being there! We will all keep you posted on our steemy, creamy & delicious doings here :-)

Big hugs, Marly -

Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content.

Sort:  

Omg, such an inspirational talk, @surfermarly! I'm so happy to finally have a chance to meet you at Steemfest!

Thank you so much for your kind words, @gringalicious! Hearing that from you means a lot. I love what you're doing on steemit, and meeting you in person doubled my positive experience :-)
Have a safe trip home!

Watched the presentation on livestream - you crushed it! Amazing video, too :)

Thank you so much, Wade!!! It means a lot hearing that from you :-)

So proud of you my sweet friend! What a great way to use Steem! That is such a beautiful surf spot too!!

Thank YOU for your amazing contribution :-)
Did you see the livestream?

I am so thrilled for you my dear sweet friend, and make no mistake, you are a steemit celebrity! I love you and your beautiful spirit, one that is so ALIVE, that is what I think of when I read your words and listen to you, that is what I felt when I had the great honor of meeting you. Beautifully alive my Marly!!

Aaaaaw no I'm not a celeb, haha! I'm just a girl that loves what she does :-)
Thanks for your lovely words, my friend!
Did you have the chance to see my speech though?

Oh yes! I meant to say that you did amazing but got distracted just telling you you're amazing haha! Actually you said something my husband always says in a different way- "Money follows passion" Howie has always believed that "If you do what you love, the money will come."
Also I didn't quite catch whose comment it was that you read? I will definitely check her out! xo

Howie has always believed that "If you do what you love, the money will come."

Absolutely.
I read the comment from @connecteconomy :-) You'll love her blog, I'm pretty sure!!!

The next time Steemfest should take place in the US, then we'll have a chance to meet again :-*

Great job presenting your Steemit journey and new focus project, @dreamsoftheocean!

So much to take in at the event today, same again tomorrow I expect!

First we have some food and snooker to relax 😁

Great job!

Thank you so much, Asher!
It's been so great to meet you here. I'm really happy that we finally met in person.
Snooker to relax? Haha
We had a poker session last night (to relax also), I need some sleeeeeeeeeep! :-D

See you on steemit!!!

Yes you too!

I had my beer drinking game face on for pool and was suffering a lot the next day!

It was very cool to hang out with people from all over, each sharing a common interest 😁

See you on the Blockchain!

Oh I suffered a lot, too, after that snooker evening!! Haha
Lots of beers were served there...:-P

great presentation Marly ... I was superproud to see my logo come by (mostly because of what it signifies, giving youngsters a chance at something they deserve). Thanks for acknowledging us LiveStream watchers too btw :)

Great project

Thank you!
It was an honor to present your logo though. Everybody who's seen it, told me that they liked it a lot, and I always mentioned that it was designed by you :-)

Thanks for acknowledging us LiveStream watchers too btw :)

My pleasure :-)

This is best picture of steemfast2
I love this picture..

Haha, I'm happy that you liked it :-)
These guys rock!

I was watching the livestream yesterday and to be honest the nervousness was not really that visible and it totally dropped away once you got started.
I also wrote a little post about the charity and how people can sponsor the steemit way, hope you dont mind...

https://steemit.com/dreamsoftheocean/@felander/support-a-steemit-charity-dreams-of-the-ocean-the-steem-way

I was watching the livestream yesterday and to be honest the nervousness was not really that visible and it totally dropped away once you got started.

Yeah, I saw the video of the presentation afterwards and also noticed that. Good to know that that my personal experience was different from the ones the audience had :-)

I will bookmark this and read it after steemfest (when I'm more relaxed).
Thanks for your wonderful support and have a great day!

Hey @surfermarly, a bunch of us were watching the live YouTube feed last night here in Australia. You didn't appear nervous at all. Enjoyed your contribution. Thank you!

Nice that you saw it all together :-) I'm happy that my personal feelings were not transmitted at all!
Thanks for stopping by!!

I am happy your presentation went well. It looks like you’re all having crazy fun then. I’m sure @ned was stoked to meet a celebrity Steemian like @surfermarly

Haha, I'm not sure if he was stoked :-)
Thanks for your support!! Yes, we're having a blast. All the rumors about this amazing event are true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61