Procrastination Simulator

in #steemgg6 years ago (edited)

TitleProcSimCoverAnnouncement.png


My first game on the Steem blockchain.


You're aspiring game developer with no games on his name yet. That will change today... Or is it? This Interactive Fiction was inspired by an article on dealing with procrastination.

Procrastination is when you find that you're doing everything but your work and making excuses not to do it. many indie-devs (me included) find ourselves starting projects and never finishing them.


Posted on steemgg - The World's 1st Blockchain HTML5 Game Platform

Sort:  

Good, first interactive text based game here! Approved!

Thank you so much and the other SteemGG admins for helping with the upload process!! Hope to put more games on this platform!

Have you played this, any opinion or feedback?

I had fun playing the simulator, with all the feels here :D Now I'm wondering if I can get to publish a game in steemgg too. I won't spoil, please play the game-- its a game that devs can totally relate to.

I won't spoil, please play the game-- its a game that devs can totally relate to.

Yeah, there are more procrastinator game devs than I first thought... Thanks for playing, any sort of feedback?

I liked the flow of branching text choices and the outcomes that resulted from, it reminded me of the choose-your-adventure storybooks I liked reading as a child. As a procrastinator myself, I was also reminded of the little things I do until they pile up and me ending up cramming and me accomplishing little to nothing of the main tasks/s that I set out to do in the first place lol :D

I liked the way your game enumerated procrastination items in a fun and familiar way so procrastinators like me could eliminate them one by one if possible!

The branching text decisions look and sound good but were wondering if its possible to add some background art, maybe some simple drawings or icons? This could make the text more visually relatable.

While the engine I used Twine/Twinery 2 doesn't allow images & backgrounds itself, the files it publishes are pure HTML/CSS so if you know some tricks with these languages you can add them. It also supposed to support Javascript meaning you can do anything with it though I haven't tried Javascript myself yet.

The title image is one I added using < img > tag. the image don't appear through "debug" view in the engine, due to the way I added it. This didn't bother me, but if the game you're making depends greatly on images, I think you better off with another engine. Like Ren'py. Not that it's not possible with Twine, just not without coding.

The game-story itself looks solid already and I had fun ending up in different scenarios. The background images would be a nice extra add-on but their abscence does not diminish the game's fun part and enjoyability in any way.

Thanks for the heads-up on Twine, I will definitely take a look on it (that is, if I don't procrastinate haha :D ) glad to know of another opensource engine to explore. Good to know it uses javascript/html-- they could be embedded easily on web pages. I've also heard of Ren'Py before but didn't had the time to explore more.

Great job overall on the procrastinator simulator game! Looking forward for more of your games.

Thanks for your suggestions, I wrote the important ones in my updates post. Ren'py is actually easier to make normal visual novels with, but if you want interactive chooe-your-adventure book twine is the best.

Also if you heard about the game Zork, there's engine that makes just that: Inform.

Hi! Welcome, and thank you for the mention. Am glad to have offered some ideas. I've rumaged around Zork just now, it seems like another interesting story-branching based game. Thanks for mentioning it as well as Inform, I'll definitely take a look on it too.

(@-raiserxn here btw, I lost my steemit master password so I'll be using this accnt from now on. )

More power to your ProSim, looking forward for future updates!

Hey @raiserxn/@mechanicore glad that you're here again!! I made a contest that ends on 8th and I would like to repost your suggestion there with this new account.


lost my steemit master password so I'll be using this accnt from now on.

That's sad. Hope this account becomes better than the last!

Ah, you finally release it. I've been curious about your game when I saw them in your old post, can't remember which one but you showed a screenshot of your creations. This seems interesting, I'll definitely try it out... tomorrow.

Yeah, I think it was this post. Editing the main game of the post "CLOUDY" needs huge amount of time so I don't know if I'm going to put it on steemgg. But well...

This seems interesting, I'll definitely try it out... tomorrow.

Thanks for playing, any sort of feedback... by tomorrow?

I've got the good ending thrice, with different routes. Though the third weren't much different than the second.

Minor spoilers ahead.

As an expert procrastinator, from those several different routes, I can relate to most of them. And it seems like they're from personal experience too? XD

I played this sort of text-based game like this that revolve around daily personal problem before, but it didn't feel as relatable as your game. As a player, I'm seeing a number of rooms for improvements. However, as you said in your other reply, it may not possible due to the engine limitation.

The improvement I'm thinking about is adding different SFX that suit the story, such as when you eat at the cafe there's background noise of people chatting and eating whatsoever. And when you're working on your game maybe the sound of keyboard tappings. These SFX can be found online and free to use. I'm sure you can make such a thing. But, as I said, the problem is the engine limitation, not the programmer (you). This is the addition that is not likely be possible. Now let's get to the more likely possible one...

I don't mean to be a grammar nazi here, but there are a couple of typos, which I'm sure you can fix easily, yes? After you have an online meeting while eating some Pizzas, of course XD.
And one more improvement I can think of, that maaaaybe easier than the last one (on the previous paragraph) is to add a theme/signature, like perhaps distinctive font style to make your game to be more unique. Something like what I do with my post, all art deco and shit, to make it unique (although probably not lol), but with your own style.

Overall, this was a fun 5 minutes experience. And, you make the different routes to be interesting enough to make me want to play it 3 times and find out all the stories!
Applause frantically

Yeah the engine is limited, I don't know if it's possible to add SFX or Background music, it should be possible with JavaScript but I haven't tried using it before so I don't know.

I added some of your suggestion to my updates post. Adding fonts might be a bit hard because since its an HTML game, the font must be available in the computer that rums it, I think the current font is (the best) one that comes with most PCs so I'll prbably stick with that. But if possible I'd like to have more images.

About the typos, some of them I missed but I think others I think that's how they arre written so I can't find them myself, I'll probably do something about it... tomorrow, or after that.

Thanks for the reply.

Hi sorry for not saying this sooner, but I made a contest that ends on this 28th I want you to put your suggestions (just copy/past them) there. You might win something!

@gaming-stuff @rainite

Woooowo o: imma try this out

Thanks for playing, any sort of feedback?

Okay now I finally got to play it and get all the routes.

The only bad thing I can honestly say about the game is that there are some typos here and there in the writing and the script of the game but those are few and that's honestly it.

Now in terms of the good side and what I liked about it is how relatable it is because I truly think we've all procrastinated at least a 100 times in our lifespan. I also liked the different routes you can take and how distinctly you can believe you're advancing on your project to only find yourself hours later, doing something totally unrelated to what you were thinking of doing when you opened your browser.

This is a nice short relatable story you can easily get into. It does what it's supposed to do and does it nicely.

If Steemgg can support projects like these or heck, even more complex ones, it truly has a very promising future.

Keep up the good work, my dude!

Even non-procrastinators have made many of those side-tracks that's why I think I wrote the most relatable thing ever! (feels pride.)

Currently I put the difference between this version & the old 215 ver. along with player suggestion if you want to check that.

and how distinctly you can believe you're advancing on your project to only find yourself hours later, doing something totally unrelated to what you were thinking of doing when you opened your browser.

That's my life ^

If you have any suggestion for this game, even far fetched ones, I made a contest four/five days ago for that. Please take part: https://steemit.com/steemgg/@ahmadmanga/3qagrt-contest-bounty-procrastination-simulator-typo-hunt-and-suggestion-challenge

Sorry I haven't said that before.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75