You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hanasu - Listen, talk,and become fluent

in #steemhunt5 years ago

I'm currently trying to learn French right now and it's not an easy thing to do. Learning a new language at 33 has been incredibly challenging. I'm going to check this out. It may be a good supplement to my duolingo app. Nice one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

French is a beautiful language. Age causing difficulties for language learning is a myth in my opinion. :) It is brain saying “boring”. Brain is creative like that coming up with excuses.

While apps like duolingo are awesome, nothing beats old fashion pen and paper. I would suggest googling 1000 most used words, printing out and committing to memory. One technique I find useful is writing down 10 words a day, learning what they mean and looking at them 4 times at different times of the day. Lastly reviewing after a week. Those words tend to stay in memory.

Languages are difficult to learn because they require mastering multiple skills like reading, writing, listening, speaking, and thinking in that language. But it is a fun process, and result is a great accomplishment.

Bonne chance!

You're not wrong about the brain being creative at coming up with excuses lol. The masculine/feminine aspect of the language is a challenge for me and the fact that direct translations often do not work because the order of the words changes. I'm slowly getting some of that but its challenging for me. The 1000 words - 10 per day challenge sounds like a good idea. I can look up videos on how to pronounce quite a few words as well to say them while I'm writing them down. Thanks for the advice!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08