You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dolphin 541,753—Monthly Report: January

in #steemit5 years ago

One of my favourite posts of the month - I do wish more would produce the same, but perhaps I may not be so interested in the update provided.

7 Posts is rather slim still i think and it could be here that a focus needs to be. It really does count for visibility and I think something every other day could be a goal. No pressure though :)

Around 5 SP from the contests/bounties, that's not so bad I guess. Hopefully at least the same again this month. Cheers!

Sort:  

I think you and I must be among the few that actually like reading reports (let alone making them) and I wholeheartedly agree—more people should do them. However, I know from past comments that most people are here to have fun, and if it feels like work, they want know part of it. I'm wired a little bit differently, I guess. I like to measure progress (preferably good, but I'll take the bad, too).

Yeah, I need to get back in the groove post-wise. I think, in addition to the things I identified in the post, I get hit with the, "what's the point" bug way too often now. It's been something I've battled throughout, but after I saw what I could do on musing, realizing that I never really got a full month put together (November was the closest), it just felt good. Now, it feels almost like back to the drawing board, though I do have quite a bit more now to work with upvote-wise than I ever did to start.

So, yes, I just need to get on myself to not only come up with content, but then follow through with it.

I like reports! I am really here for your fff post and I will comment there in a minute or ten. I got distracted by this title and came to look, so I am not lying! I am really @fitinfun and this is my new food blog so I am smarter than I look. Ahem!

My suggestion for posting daily is freewrite by @mariannewest. You use her prompt and write for 5 minutes and your post is done. It gets the creative juices flowing for me. I only write non-fiction but it still works to get a post out.

My goal is 2-3 posts a day on 2 blogs, so I have no time to waste :)

You have amazing stats. I take money out to live on; so I can never hope to do what you are doing, but my sp has been growing lately, so I cannot complain.

You're right, @fitinfunfood / @fitinfun, you don't have time to waste. :)

I kept that kind of a pace for a while, but just couldn't keep up. I've done the freewrites, too, and probably should get back into them, but anyway, the idea is to get motivated again and this time stay motivated.

At some point, the idea is to live off what's here, and sooner than later. The more immediate thing would be to at least power down enough to get the investment back, then go from there. STEEM values are around a $1 off from that happening, so in the meantime, I need to make a better attempt at things.

I'm glad someone likes reports. I'll keep that in mind. Good luck with your new food blog. :)

The new freewrite prompt just came out. 11 pm for me. so this is how I usually end my steemit day. Come to the third world like me. You could live off it now :)

Thank for the good wishes. The second blog is taking a lot out of me, but I'm glad I tried it. I did not have enough room on fitinfun and I should really talk about food. That is what people want to know since I successfully lost weight and it is the last thing I like to talk about so this forces me.

Yes, please keep reporting!

I like reading them more than producing them, but you know, the STEEM is there for the former and not the latter so much :)

The focus for me, and yes it's easier to say when the posts are supported, is that I work with the idea that STEEM will be worth much more in the future.

As it stand you'll take 2/3 STEEM for this post, 13 months ago, this was $12/18 worth. This subdues the 'whats the point' for me, a long term game with some slicing opportunities along the way.

I see you've posted again since this one - :D

That long term idea is about what keeps me in it as far as upvotes go. It doesn't help with a lack of engagement, though, nor with the sense that I'm not really accomplishing anything. I feel like I've been around long enough now that maybe I can express my opinions about things more, and maybe have it count for something, even if the whole world disagrees. So, the upvote element is definitely an issue (but as you say, STEEM goes up, problem in fiat solved), but there's the idea that folks are actually reading and taking in what I've written that's still hanging out there.

So, anyway. Nothing knew here. Just me having the same doubts/feelings/ whatever that gets so many of us here. I've been trying to fight through it, and for the most part, I'm succeeding. I plan to continue to fight through it, because I'm not really thrilled with the prospects of other alternative methods of generating earnings/income at this point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74