3 features that make steemit extraordinary

in #steemit6 years ago

3 features that make steemit extraordinary.jpg

I just double checked on steemd, it is now 42 days that I joined steemit and honestly this was one of my better decisions.

My existing crypto faucet business

I've been into crypto currencies for more than 3 years . I am running several crypto currency faucets where I give away coins for free. It is a small business that I run in my spare time. For this business I have been using crypto actively as a tool to move value around. There are however some problems that are linked to it:

It is very dry and anonymous

I have no contact with my customers. The people who claim from my faucets are hidden behind a wallet address. So there is no interaction and I have to constantly make sure that bots do not plunder my faucets. Then I have to rely on annoying things like banners and pop-ups to finance my faucets. There is not much value I bring to the world with this business. I can give coins to some people who need it but there is no way for me to know if I reach the people I want.

Dependent on a microwallet service and adnetworks

If I had to pay transaction fees for the few coins that I give away, my business would simply not work. So I'm relying on a microwallet service that manages the payouts for me. It is a good service but there is hardly any alternative out there. So I'm 100% dependent on it.
The adnetworks I'm using to finance the business can be quite capricious. They might stop paying, stop existing or change their url, forcing me to put new adcodes everywhere. Or maybe they change their terms and simply kick you out because your alexa ranking doesn't correspond to the new terms. This happened to me just last week.

So what does that have to do with steemit?

Well with steemit I can reach the same goals than with my faucet business but in a much more satisfying way. Steemit has, among many others, 3 features that make it extraordinary to me.

Integrated peer-to-peer payment with the possibility to add memos

People on steemit might not realize it, but the transfer function is a marvel. I can send coins to people within seconds and for free! In addition to that I can add a memo with any kind of information. Try to do this with bitcoins.
Imagine how easy it would be to use steemit as a payment plugin. Just ask somebody to send x Steem to @youraddress and write in the memo the e-mail where the product should be sent to. Ok, you might say that everybody can see the transaction and the information in the memo. Then just put a # in front of the memo to encrypt it.

Interact with the blockchain itself

Thanks to the steem api it is possible to directly interact with the steem blockchain. So everybody can create apps and software on top of it. It is not really imaginable how many possibilities this allows. Try to find another currency with such a big ecosystem and I believe that it will just continue to grow.

A honest way to invest

Recently Warren Buffet gave an interview to CNBC considering Bitcoin as rat poison square two. He said that bonds or shares create value through interests or dividends. Whereas Bitcoin is just a tool for speculators. So in his eyes people should not invest in Bitcoin because it is not a productive asset.

I've been searching very long to try to get interests or dividends from bitcoins. I've managed to find a couple of solutions but considering the number of scams that I ran into, there are very few honest ways to let bitcoins become a productive asset.

When I look at steem, there is a real way to create value. You can invest into steem power and this gives you leverage in the community. You can sell your votes, delegate your steem power and be paid for it.
Some might say that this only works because there is new steem created all the time. Well its not different from the USD or the EURO...

Steemit gives me the tools to reach my goals

With steemit I reach what I do with my faucet business in a much nicer way. I can give coins to people through my upvotes but I do not have to refinance myself with ads. I just have to invest in Steem Power and then it doesn't cost me anything to help deserving people. If I want to support some ideas, I simply transfer my coins without costs.
I don't depend on a website. I only depend on the steem blockchain. If steemit is down, I go to busy.org or I simply create an app myself that can interact with the blockchain. These are the reasons why I believe in steem and why I want to help develop this community.

****

Thank you very much for reading my post. Feel free to upvote, comment, resteem or follow (@achim03).

For several years I have been running websites called faucets where I give away cryptos for free to people willing to take them.

I love to share my knowledge and to help people. I dream of a world based on love, tolerance and equality, where we build our future together, helping each other.

My cryptocurrency faucets. Get free coins every hour:

Dash Faucet.jpgPowerdoge.jpgLemondoge Faucet.jpgPowerlitecoin.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

  1. Run a task on Kryptonia.
    *For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here: Kryptonia Account
  2. Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for 100% vote.
  3. Steemit reputation score above 25.

I want a Steemit faucet too!

Hi @detlef-s,
Thanks for your comment. I think it wouldn't work to run a traditional faucet with steem. Simply because the minimum payout of steemit is 0.001 $ which is worth around 0.003 USD. Normal faucets can pay around 0.001 $. So it wouldn't be possible to run a faucet with steem that is refinanced with ads.

But if you want a place where you get free steem. Then I suggest you try out the faucet of @sydesjokes where you can get a daily payout in sbd.

Hi, today i found you XD

I only depend on the steem blockchain. If steemit is down, I go to busy.org or I simply create an app myself that can interact with the blockchain. These are the reasons why I believe in steem and why I want to help develop this community.

am newbie in this crypto´s world. It sound very interesting for me.. busy.org, i go to check about it, thanks.

when you say down, do you want mean low the price?

Hi @victorsilab,
It happens sometimes that the steemit website is down (very seldom). Then you can still access the blockchain over other applications.

I am not into crypto currencies at all so it is hard for me to see all the benefits of Steemit. Untill the moment I do understand more I probably will not do anything more as reading and writing. I do believe Steemit is way more about crypto currencies as it is about writing good content. It is nice to know you have benefits of it.

Hi @wakeupkitty,
Thanks a lot for your comment. I think you are quite right. Steemit is more than just a social media platform. This is great in a way but is also a kind of problem because people who join it might have some difficulties to grasp the whole concept.

I always wondered why I SEE gobbldygook in some memos. It is because the sender put a # in front of his message. Good learning point there.

Hi @swissclive, I'm happy you could get something useful out of it ;-)

I have come to know about crypto from another blogging site which earns me btc. It's great that you have steemit and using it to your advantage. Keep steeming and hopefully you will sing the same song as you go on and explore more what you can do here in this platform.

Hi @leeart,
Thanks a lot for your comment. Can you tell me what blogging service to you use?

I was using bitlanders before. I don't know if you have heard of it. However, it's been a while since I have been there. Some members here in steemit are also there.

I've an account on bitlanders but I haven't been on it for a year at least. I prefer the concept of steemit because the income doesn't come from a central place or adverts. It's created through the blockchain and I like to play around with the many possibilities that this offers ;-)

You are right. There are much opportunities with blockchain.

Gracias por el post @xintoe

Thanks for the wonderful post. @jamescrusader kryptonia id

Thanks a lot for taking the task!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by achim03 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22