Hey Steemit Family!! What was YOUR 1st blog post you authored on here, and WHY? | E.24 | Post it!! | Community Engagement Series.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

My 1st ever blog post & the FUN / Liberty based backstory is here for you below.

It was on Bushcraft / Self Reliance & Off Grid life and interests for me. It was posted on Sept. 23, 2016, about 6 weeks after I signed up LOL.

I did not feel comfortable here, everything was so new, I did not know how to format ANYTHING, and I was feeling my way out around this new place, so yes, I relate to new people -- and remember that DAILY in my posts, series I run, and replies.

That's the TLDR version, if you want the longer story, keep reading or just skip to the comments and let us know here your first blog and why you posted it!


And I want to see your first one that you authored on here, and WHY you chose that topic!


Some of my Backstory for you:

--

As I just mentioned above in brief, I was not comfortable MAKING a blog post with everyone on here knowing blogging, formatting, making their posts look pretty, I basically joined Steemit the first week of August 2016 -- August is my birthday month so I will always remember that. I believe it might have been August 7th, as some others have now posted their milestones and official "Steemit joining anniversary" dates and I was named in some of them - showing August 7th.

I spent the first weeks here reading and commenting on posts.

A LOT.



I have always said I am not a blogger.... I am just a guy that blogs.

-- And there is a big difference.

I kind of fell into this due to my pursuit of Liberty.

Crypto/Bitcoin/CryptoCurrency/Blockchain is all a part of that journey.

I've always been an activist type person and like helping people, and informing them of things going on in the world that affects them.

I guess all my public activism for years as such, the run for City Council to actually challenge the corrupt establishment and help people.... led me to the research, speeches in public forums, publishing of videos over the years on these things, along with running my Real Estate business, and constantly posting on Social Media like Fascistbook etc - to try and make a difference for humanity.

It eventually over the years led me into the Off Grid / Bushcraft / Outdoors community as I had always had an interest in it, am a bit of a hippy by most standards with my daily beliefs and practices in life for the world around me, the environment, and using sustainable / best practices in my life and belief systems.


My first post ever @Steemit post - the main picture/graphic - and link to it in late Sept. / 2017:

--

https://steemit.com/offgrid/@barrydutton/what-s-bushcraft-anyways-those-outdoorsy-self-reliant-off-grid-people

--

Why did I pick this topic?

--

Because I want to live a more self reliant lifestyle. I do not believe everyone should be forced to remain connected to the Matrix and the Grid by the government by force, manufactured and uninformed consent, and coercion if they don't want to be.

I desire to lead a simpler life than we are conditioned daily by media and the agencies to think we need.

Being able to live simply yet well, is something attainable

Primitive skills of self reliance are completely being lost for homesteading / off grid life if you wish to live that way and be connected to the simple, more primitive life and forced to remain connected... to The Grid.



How did my idea for this new series come about?

--

I was talking a lot one day around March of 2016 with the wordsmith @dwinblood who is a very sharp and engaged guy about some of this.

As usual, when I am online or offline, my mind continues to work on ideas to build community, try different things, and I came up with this idea later to do this

"get to know your neighbour" series...

LOL.

It also serves as a regular reminder / library for people to use to find their FIRST POST which is always special. Some of the series I do, like the STEEMIT NEEDS series - also serves this purpose.

An archive you can always come back to, or someone else can, to find something in particular.


E.2 of this series was posted a long time ago!!! March of 2017 - nearly 5 mths ago, I have quite a few things I work on and they get buried at times, oopsy. (:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/hey-steemit-what-was-your-1st-blog-post-you-authored-on-here-and-why-post-it-community-engagement-series-e-2

I think it is unique and functional! That's why I have come up with a few different series' that I run weekly!!!

I am excited actually to do it so I can engage more with you, as a community and resident on Steemit -- and learn more about you!


The first post you gingerly step out and do on here, as a Minnow, likely says something important about you and I want to listen to you, and learn WHY you chose that topic!

I had an hour's worth of comments typed back and forth with @dwinblood over the March 5th and 6th 2017 period.

One comment that led me to start thinking about doing this series can actually be found right here on our friend @thecryptofiend's post about a topic I focus on regularly and had talked with him on this the night before he made this post:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/would-greater-comment-voting-help-the-community#@barrydutton/re-dwinblood-re-barrydutton-re-dwinblood-re-barrydutton-re-dwinblood-re-thecryptofiend-would-greater-comment-voting-help-the-community-20170306t161827635z


ENGAGEMENT COUNTS IN ANY COMMUNITY!

--

Pls. Resteem / Share the link on others pages where you feel you can and invite people. New people! Older Steemians! Everyone is welcome!

Try to engage and help others, we are SteemitFamily I always say!!

Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/freedom/@barrydutton/liberty-and-philosophy-post-of-the-day-or-do-not-drink-the-mainstream-media-kool-aid-statist-propaganda-they-are-in-bed-together

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/so-i-ve-asked-witnesses-dev-s-etc-who-else-is-having-problems-posting-blogs-votes-replies-here-the-last-few-days-still

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/steemit-meme-of-the-day-how-is-your-day-on-steemit-going-and-minnow-advice-again

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-market-update-moonshots-growth-continue-usd20b-7-days-or-markets-shakeout-ongoing-or-huge-market-swings-w-growing

https://steemit.com/ethereum/@barrydutton/4umgda-reminder-learn-to-code-the-blockchain-blockchain-hub-in-canada-or-thursday-october-19-2017-6-30-pm-to-8-30-pm-york-university

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-market-update-moonshots-growth-continue-usd20b-7-days-or-markets-shakeout-ongoing-or-huge-market-swings-w-growing

Most stock Images / Gif's day to day- usually via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com, Imgur.com, PixaBay unless otherwise noted, with thanks.

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.


Sort:  

I've always been an activist type person and like helping people

For shame, Barry! For shame!!! Here's a statistic that you might want to give a little consideration on changing.

I've been looking around a bit here lately on how some of the more common names on Steemit with a decent amout of SP vote. 92.3% of your voting only goes to yourself, OUCH! Kinda unhealthy for the platform, don't ya think?

Spread the love around a little, man! Not a good example to set.

Matt, you know some of what I am dealing with.

I am aware of some of this believe me, I actually charted this last month on myself to check as I saw some of the life changes I am in the middle of.

It looks worse than it is.

I am not on here as much, anymore and cannot be.

But I still try and get out my blogs and content on my end to keep up and active, as best I can.

That said, my posts are all UV by myself by default when they go up, like most peoples' are. That's been a big issue of debate on Steemit for months now.

I post more blogs than most people, creating more traffic here and have been also driving traffic for most of the last 10 mths via twitter and such, also trying to do my part that way.

I am not on here 10 hours a day anymore. I invested a LOT of myself into here the last 14 months and helped people, a lot of the time.

You stopped interacting with me, and voting for me months ago, as you know after I tried to help you with what I could and also made a lot of efforts with you and your wife to be friendly and nice and support you.

When I hear criticism from people I have made efforts with, and in some cases - significant efforts - and seeing so many people walk away or turn on good people.......it kind of rings in a hollow manner with me.

I did not buy my way into this place like some did, I gave my heart and soul and TIME helping people and trying to put out good content, build series and consistency.

Some of my thoughts. Not that my critics really give a damn about what I have done RIGHT here despite my challenges many of you know about on my end.

I do my best, with what I have left in my tank.

I still remember the first day I join Steemit, it was one of the amazing day in my life. I am so exciting but I have no idea to post any post.

So do you know what I posted? A news!

Hahahaha, it was so embarrassing! Who will read the news that I wrote on Steemit?Luckily, there is!

So since then, I join this amazing community till now!

Mine was also in the month of my birthday, July. I joined on 7/16/2016, about a week after my birthday. I had heard of the site by a coworker, @stealthtrader when I was working for Apple, Inc. Totally skeptical, but I figured what the hell, I'll take a look....then @berniesanders voted on a comment I made. Not even a post, a comment, and I earned $250. This was before we had the 0-100% voting slider, so a vote was 100% every time. lol
Then within 2 weeks of joining, me and my friends started Steemit Talk Podcast.

I missed all those days man, I joined about 5 weeks after you as you read.

I always call the 1st 3.5 mths of Steemit since launch the Gold Rush Days -- because they were.

Hi there! great post! I'm still pretty new here so it's not that hard to see my first post. It was new to me seeing as I'm not a blogger also and have no format what so ever. My first post happened to be on my birthday though so I was just looking back at my life and pretty much just reflecting. It was an easy topic since it was happening at the time. Pretty coincidental that you did yours on your birthday month also but I have to say it is very memorable. I almost felt like I was just blabbering but looking back now it's fairly short to most things I randomly talk about now. https://steemit.com/birthday/@milife/dirty-thirty First post

I relate to your words here so much, you don't even know LOL.

Maybe you do, if you read my post hahaha! Great comments!

HAHA yes I did read it! I was never really much a reading person but being here you really have to start reading and it's great because reading is good for you. Well I'm probably where you're at now from when you first posted but thank you for the response!! I've found it's hard to get engagement and always nice to hear back once in a while

Engagement has dropped over the months, when I see a really good reply, like yours that is not a bot reply, or some crappy generic reply, I get excited these days hahahaha!!!

It really did remind me of the early days here for me, just like this series does, every time I put it up.

Thanks again, best wishes on here honestly.

can I write post any language.... ?

As far as I know.

If you want more comments and votes and talking to people -- english is the most used language here and Korean may be next under the kr tag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73