You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SBDs Are Not A Part Of The Pay Out Equation

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm not 100% sure, but it seems to me I used to get more SBD than steem, Then they added in SP to the mix, and I still got more SBD than steem/SP it seemed. I could be wrong. But now, yes less SBP, the SBD price is getting closet to a 1 to 1 ratio with Steem, so maybe the balance thing they were trying for SBD/Steem is taking effect. A few minutes ago SBD price was $1.050094 and steem was $1.050000 a Spread of 0.009% . I have no clue if that is the reason for less SBD and more Steem or not, but for me more Steem is nicer.

Sort:  

The way buggedout has explained it, the SBD not being a part of payout is based on a 5% debt ratio that SBD has been approaching. When it hits it, the printing of SBD stops, which also includes pay outs. So, if that's true, we could be bouncing up and back from that 5%, since I've actually received SBD in some payouts since I posted.

I personally have no clue, and will take the word of anyone who seems to know what they're talking about. I like the transparency we have with these payouts, but I don't like the math. Plus, when they start throwing in three forms of payout or changing from one to other, I can't keep up with ratios or calculations. If I'm not the only one, then they might as well just hide it, because it still makes me wonder what they're doing.

It's quite possible in your tenure here you've seen all kinds of different combinations. I can't remember when the options for payouts came in, but I don't think it started from the beginning, but were added as the situation to support it arose.

I was getting tired last night, and did not see his replies until after I commented, (I usually read comment first not always), Like you I don't keep track or understand all the inner workings of steem money wise. So I tend to listen to those that do seem to know a little.

In the year I have been here, I have seen a few different payout style's. Some just SBD and Steem. Some more SBD than Steem and some the other way. I think this is the third time I have seen SP in the mix, but never to the extent it has been this go around. Like STINC is sort of pushing the SP option out more so it takes people at least seven days to access it, instead of being able to transfer it right away. But it works for me, as I am trying to build SP, for those that use steem as a supplemental income thing, maybe not to good of an option. 7 days to earn it, 7 days to withdraw it.

I guess I haven't been thinking of SP in terms of needing to liquefy it. And with the SBD or STEEM options, you have a mixture of both to work with. I would need to be making serious STEEM before I could think about taking any out though. Those who are trying to (or succeeding in) living off of their earnings here either have some pretty cheap living conditions, or are making pretty high amounts of STEEM. I'm not in either category right now.

I try to understand. The moment I think I do, there's something else, some other angle to consider. I just don't think the mainstream is going to be thrilled with all the extracurricular hoop jumping and number crunching.

If we ever get to the mainstream, that is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92